We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pub!:-D ”
Review of The Bell Inn

The Bell Inn
Ranked #7 of 22 Restaurants in Watchet
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a traditional family run pub, located approx 100yds away from the marina in Watchet. We serve a variety of local ales and cider, plus Carlsberg, Guinness and a good selection of wines. Our Guinness was quality approved by Diageo in April 2014 and we were named pub of the week in The Daily Telegraph guide to the best of British pubs" pint to pint"in October 2013, in April 2016 we were also named one of the top thirty pubs in the country by The Daily Telegraph. Food is served daily with freshly battered cod and chips a speciality, plus the new award winning selection of humble pies, and our homemade lasagnes, curries and chilli.Open all day from 12-00, food is served every lunchtime and evening, except for sunday and Tuesday evenings. We hope that everyone has an enjoyable experience whilst visiting us. We are happy to welcome dogs into the pub, they have even been known to have one of our locally produced sausages purchased for them, but would ask that they remain on a lead, under control of the owner and seated on the floor at all times, drinking water is provided for them in the courtyard garden.
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Can't wait to visit again. Delicious food. Great people that work there. Good selection of alcohol. Dog friendly.

2  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 125 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

Arrived at The Bell Inn in Watchet after a pleasant trip on the steam train and a meander through the village. We had come to stay with family and after a lovely morning we were all feeling ready for lunch. As we entered the pub at around 1.45 there were several tables taken with people eating food. We found a table, sat down and looked at the menu. Staff saw us but no welcome or greeting. They then went and hid around the back of the bar. We were still deciding on what to order and saw another table vacant in the window and thought we would sit there as it looked comfortable. Just as we were walking towards it a lady from behind the bar said she had just reserved it and we couldn't sit there, so we went back to the original table. We decided on our order and went to the bar to order some food. He said the kitchen was closed now as they had a backlog but he could go and see if they would do something for us but wasn't sure how long it would take. His whole attitude was that we had disturbed him and it seemed a real effort for him to even speak to us. We felt unwelcome and decided to leave at that point. The whole time we had been looking at the menu no one came and said that they were shortly stopping service. The thing that didn't make any sense was that they still had a table which was reserved for someone?!! There was no apology. This wouldn't be so bad except that this was actually the second time this has happened to us at The Bell Inn. We have got the hint and will definitely NOT be going back. For someone who works in the hospitality trade I really think you should consider a new career path.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
2  Thank stephanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed in Watchet, Somerset, for a 4 day break. We visited the Bell Inn, as it is dog friendly. We ate there every day as we received a warm welcome and found the staff very friendly and helpful. Every day there is delicious home cooked food available and the Sunday roasts are excellent. There is a good choice of desserts and I can recommend the apple pie. This is the only pub I have ever visited which takes the trouble to warm the glass before serving the excellent red wine. I enjoyed the 70’s-80’s music playing in the background and will definitely be visiting again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Had a couple of meals here recently with visiting colleagues. Fantastic steaks cooked to perfection. Great service from friendly staff. Im told the beer is first class. But as I drink cider I can only comment on the Rattler. Which had the desired effects.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GW130857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

A pub with a great atmosphere with very helpful and friendly staff. The fish and chips is the best and largest i have ever had. Have also taken dog to the Bell on several occasions and been most welcome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing