We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, pretty charming inn, safe for children in a rural setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ralegh's Cross Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watchet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ralegh's Cross Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Watchet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quiet, pretty charming inn, safe for children in a rural setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

We wanted an easy going, not too fussy place to stay where children could run wild outside in a safe environment, hearty food and somewhere in Somerset! The ground floor family room in an annex just 20 paces away from the reception door suited us and with our 5 yr old having a put-you-up bed (not too far to fall when he rolls out). Very firm and warm bed and no traffic noise. The outdoor fort was fab for all 3 kids who wanted to play on it rather than go off for the day. Breakfast was so good the children had 2 or 3 helpings of cereal, toast and FULL english and they did not snack during the morning! The adults evening menu was very good and tasty. Loved the trout! I was a bit disappointed with the childrens menu, usual sausages burger chips smiles peas etc though the spag bol was good, more vege/side salad please, just ask the parents, I suppose I could have asked for more greenery on the plate as well, to suit the child! The staff were very friendly and helpful and would chat away to us. We knew the area so the location was handy for us for visiting family and long lost friends as well as holidaying. Minehead approx 20mins. WSR Bishops Lydeard approx 17 mins, a stunning sunny drive over Exmoor and down into Lynmouth and Lynton about 1hr passing pretty and colourful villages, Dunster 15mins and so on. About half hour off M5 through Taunton.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzfarmkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    76
    25
    12
    13
See reviews for
63
122
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

Ralegh's Cross Inn attracts visitors back time and time again. Indeed my wife have visited 4 times over the last 3 years but compared to others who have reached double figures on their return trips, we are just beginners. What is it that keeps people returning. ? Situated on the edge of Exmoor it is a great place for folk who like the outdoor life ie walking/hiking but does cater for those who like to keep in touch with shops etc. Indeed cricket lovers stay at the Inn whilst taking in a bit of their favourite sport in Taunton the home of Somerste C.C. The staff are very welcoming and helpful and cannot do enough for you.
Wednesday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday eveing are carvery nights in the retaurant and Tuesday is steak night. Meals (both breakfast (full english) and dinners) are very good value for money but if we did have a complaint it was that "chef" had removed our favourite apple pie to be replaced by a Normandy apple tart. Sorry chef please bring back the apple pie.
Of course some folk may consider that the rooms are looking tired in their decor, especially the en suite bathrooms, that although are functional could do with sprucing up and yes the floor boards do "creak" (what do you expect from a building this old) but we and many people like us just keep returning to Ralegh's Cross Inn because the pros far outweigh the cons and we cannot all be wrong !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred_Fareham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

Rooms much improved since our last stay (new mattresses and duvets), but still dirty and unhygenic carpets in bathroom. The hotel was very understaffed during our stay,
with long waits at the bar to place our food orders. All the staff are polite and efficient.
Despite the above, this is excellent value, and cannot be beaten - the price for dinner, bed and breakfast beats most bed and breakfast places. (This included a special
offer of 4 nights for the price of 3). Dogs are welcome with no petty restrictions.


.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

Was our anniversary. Had a good time, but spoilt by the extractor, on ALL night first night of our stay, never got any sleep! Could a timer be fitted? Two chairs in the room would have been appreciated. If we return we would ask for a room at the front of the Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surrey36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

i WOULD HAVE TO SAY LOVELY PLACE AND GREAT SERVICE, except for the food, the burger was dry and had been precooked, and the salad was brown, and scampi was doughie (proably worst i have tasted).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjustns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Somerset
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

From our brief visit, I wouldn't hesistate to recommend this lovely pub/hotle/restaurant! We haven't stayed here, but happened to "stop in" whislt out on our motorbikes. The pub was closed (Sunday PM), we were part of a large group, and they opened up especially for us! They couldn't have made us any more welcome! They were fantastic! The menu's are lovely and my husband & I will be back for a proper visit. The location is beautiful, and they have some "dog friendly" rooms (not that the dogs will be on our motorbikes!! hehehe!)

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diving-Biking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

Genius above all in the integrated concept of a very popular local community pub and of very comfortable residential accommodation for national and international guests of all ages with a love of moorland and country pursuits
Genius as well in the service offered : no skimping; food as glorious in range as in quality; marvellousl staff with a shared delight, far beyond the call of mere duty, in the welfare of every guest.
And a four day dinner, bed and breakfast break costs just £123 pp !
Its's a great place on the edge of wonderful country which has led an 89 year old like me to feel he'd be well satisfied if heaven turned out to be as enjoyable as, in the past, riding
a horse over the rolling moor in early morning sunshine !

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ox1resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watchet
4.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
4.1 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
11.4 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
6.8 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wood Advent Farm
Wood Advent Farm
#3 of 9 in Watchet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ralegh's Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ralegh's Cross Inn

Property: Ralegh's Cross Inn
Address: Brendon Hill, Watchet, Exmoor National Park TA23 0LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Watchet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Watchet
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Ralegh`s Cross Hotel Exmoor
Ralegh's Cross Inn Watchet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing