We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Georgian House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watchet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Georgian House
Ranked #4 of 10 Watchet B&B and Inns
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Last minute B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We made a last minute decision to stay in Watchet and a helpful shop assistant suggested The Georgian House. Keith was very welcoming and although our room was small it was attractive, comfortable and clean. The house is beautiful and in a great location. Keith recommended a graet pub in a nearby village for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    6
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ightham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked a four night break in Somerset for four people and stayed at the Georgian House in Watchet, It was last minute that we found this bed & breakfast which turned out to be a good decision as the one we had booked ( Ivy House) cancelled a few weeks before on us.
Keith and Natalie made us very welcome and offered to make tea on arrival before showing us the rooms. Both the bedrooms were very tidy and clean with en-suite facilities, although had I had known I would had booked the four poster bedroom instead of the blue room.
The Georgian House is in the centre of the town with a car park behind, which made an ideal position for all the local Bars, Harbour and steam train railway station.
The cooked breakfasts in the mornings were excellent and filled us up ready for the day.
We all agreed that we would not hesitate to stay there again in the future and would like to thank Keith for his hospitality.
Bob,& Sheena Blair

Room Tip: Four poster bedroom or The yellow room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Booked at the Last Minute for A Weekend Trip to Visit Dunster by Candlelight. Just like walking into a Dream of a House all ready for Christmas. Warm and VERY Friendly with presents all wrapped under the tree. Lovely, Friendly Welcome and Nothing was too much trouble.
VERY Spacious room overlooking Swain Street and the bed was SO COMFORTABLE I could have slept ALL day. Excellent Service, Excellent Breakfast... SO MUCH choice. A Really Lovely Experience.

Room Tip: ANY room would be a TREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Have now stayed twice in The Georgian House, and on both occasions the stay was excellent. Spotlessly clean and comfortable. Second time we stayed, we had the rear four-poster room, with lots of space, and a nice view of the garden. Together with the generous breakfast and the friendly staff, recommend this if you are staying in the area. Oh, and go on the steam train if you have time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SussexWomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed here while visiting relatives, what a beautiful B&B; for anyone who appreciates antiques and artwork this is treat; Keith was a perfect host and nothing is too much trouble, very friendly; a delightful Georgian house with all the original features; breakfast was tasty and beautifully cooked, it was a wonderful experience and excellent value for money, we have lovely memories of our stay. Wish we'd made more of the beautiful garden but didn't make time.

Room Tip: we had the blue room which is smaller than the main room with a four poster; would recommend the fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peaceandjustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Stayed here in June, bought our parents down for there diamond wedding anniversary,had four poster room for them as a treat they absolutely loved every minute they were there, me and my partner had the blue room we have stayed there a couple of times before Keith the proprietor is an excellent host couldn't do enough for you nothing was too much trouble for him, and his staff. Breakfast is excellent and as much tea and coffee you want anytime of the day, couldn't recommend it enough, absolutely loved it and will be going again...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nette1958-56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

The Georgian House was introduced to us by my friend who lives in Watchet as a possible place to say over Christmas. Keith opened his house to us over the Christmas period. We (3 generations) were visiting friends and Keith offered us accommodation at the standard B&B rates and arranged for a chef to come in and cook us Christmas Lunch at a very reasonable rate. When we arrived all the fires were lit, the house glowed and the welcome was very warm and festive. Christmas morning breakfast was delicious fresh fruit, yoghurt and smoked salmon and scrambled eggs served with bucksfizz. Traditional Christmas lunch was three courses, cooked to perfection and graciously served by Keith and a delightful young waitress. Breakfast on Boxing Day morning was all the lovely fruit, yoghurt and eggs, bacon etc - absolutely delicious! The rooms are tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Bubble bath, oils and lotions are available in each bathroom guaranteeing a luxurious stay! Keith and his support team could not have done more to make us feel welcome or make our stay any more enjoyable. Keith did not relax until we all retired to bed - he went over and above the call of duty. We will beg Keith to accept our booking for next year!! Thanks you so much for making our Christmas so special - The Parsons, The Mackeys, Pearl & the girls

Room Tip: The Georgian House is a gem in Watchet. Centrally located with parking at the back - very elegant. Q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlastonburySunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watchet
4.9 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swain House
Swain House
#1 of 10 in Watchet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wood Advent Farm
Wood Advent Farm
#3 of 10 in Watchet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Court Farm Holiday Bungalows Ltd
3.1 mi away
The Langbury
The Langbury
#1 of 1 in Blue Anchor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian House

Property: The Georgian House
Address: 28 Swain Street, Watchet, Exmoor National Park TA23 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Watchet
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Watchet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Georgian House Hotel Watchet
The Georgian House Watchet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing