We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cutthorne stay”
Review of Cutthorne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wheddon Cross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cutthorne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“cutthorne stay”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Good points - a beautifully quiet house and position. Left to yourselves. Down sides - only just warm enough. The radiators do not seem to stay on long enough and there is no other option for heating the room. Uht milk in rooms and although you can ask for milk, it comes in a very small jug! Kippers are of the boil in the bag variety for breakfast. You can have croissants, but again only if you ask. Would personally prefer a slightly warmer welcome. but it is peaceful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank none186302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    7
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Germans , Cornwall
Level Contributor
237 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

.
Situated in a stunning location central to the most scenic parts of Exmoor this is a great place to stay. Cutthorne is a beautiful traditional old fashioned, Georgian farmhouse in a peaceful rural setting about two miles from Wheddon Cross and Exford. It is surrounded by fields that you are free to walk in and there are large trout ponds for those who enjoy a spot of fishing. The garden and grounds are rich in bird life.
We had a comfortable well furnished ,large en suite room with fine views. It is possible to have an evening meal by arrangement and on Sunday we enjoyed a substantial roast chicken dinner served with fresh home grown produce in a the dining room in front of a large log fire.
There was a good choice for breakfast including a selection of home grown fruit as well as a full English breafast. We are glad we chose to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertscargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

If you're looking for peace and quiet Cutthorne is perfect. Set in the most beautiul valley with it's own lake (where you can fish if you wish) it is lovely to just sit and listen to the bird song and the sheep bleating. If you're feeling more energetic Sam their dog loves a game. There are many walks and the surrounding area is good to explore. The house is very comfortable and a warm welcome is always there when you return. The food is lovely (all home grown) and there was a good selection of wines to go with it. Pam, Anne, Phil and Patti all make you feel like part of the family. We went for a short break and came home feeling like we'd been away for ages. We will definitely return

Room Tip: The four poster room has wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stayed with my husband at Cutthorne last month. It is as other reviewers mentioned a little dated but that is absolutely part of its charm. It's simply in a breathtaking location - in a beautiful little valley with its own lake and stunning views all around. The attention to detail in the way the house is looked after is charming. We had fresh cut flowers in our room, a lovingly looked after garden to walk through and all the vegetables we ate whilst there were home grown. The owners and the brilliant Pam work tirelessly to make the place a wonderful retreat. My husband and I went frazzled and came back refreshed. There are lots of lovely walks a short car trip away and the walk round the grounds is memorable too. I simply have to think of the Cutthorne views to relax again. I saw the b & b when it was recommended in a list of Romantic wild getaways in 2008. That's definitely what it is.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2011

If you're looking for comtemporary, plasma and fast living this isn't the place for you BUT if you're looking for a little oasis in the most picturesque and transqul of settings, a warm welcome from friendly people where nothing is too much trouble, where you feel immediately at home then Cutthorne is. 'Old world charm' in abundance and good home grown and cooked fare. My husband and I recently stayed at Cutthorne for a long weekend with our little Westie (who was made to feel very welcome). The area was new to us prior to our visit but we hope to become regular visitors and return soon.

Room Tip: 4 poster is best room but maybe too dark for some
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisymay92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rushden
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We both enjoyed a relaxing week,under no pressure what so ever. We were able to come and go as we pleased, but the most interesting factor was the different menu we received each night (very important).As long as you can Pam, please keep this up.A very lovely venue in such a pretty area and thanks again for putting up with us. Cheers, Mollie and Richard Parsons

Room Tip: A view from the back of the house,was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardrushden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastbourne
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

My partner and I stumbled on this B&B by accident really and what a find. We stayed in the 'Ballroom' which was a cottage attached to the main building (the main building was full up) this suited us and we opted to do breakfast and an evening meal. The cottage was beautiful with a lovely lounge and an open fire if required. We booked fairly late in the day but Pam still managed to rustle up a lovely 4 course meal (cheese board included). There was no menu and were told in the morning what the evening meal would be - a bit scary at first because I am a real foody and love to look through a menu. However we had great home cooked food every evening. Some of it was even home grown where possible. The breakfast was great with something for everyone.
Pam made us feel extremely welcome and couldn't do enough for us. A great place to escape to especially in the Winter months when the open fire would be most welcome. The views were amazing.
The owners were away and Pam worked so hard making our stay a memorable one. Thank you Pam very very much. We enjoyed our stay so much - great food especially the jacket potatoes which I have made several times since!!!lol
And Neil loved the mustard salad leaves. Pam even dug up a plant for us to take home.
A stay we will never forget. Brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy1eastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cutthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cutthorne

Property: Cutthorne
Address: Cutthorne Cutthorne Luckwell Bridge, Wheddon Cross, Exmoor National Park TA24 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Wheddon Cross
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wheddon Cross
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Cutthorne Wheddon Cross, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing