We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location - countryside silence in front of a roaring log fire”
Review of Cutthorne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wheddon Cross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cutthorne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 November 2010

The log fire in The Ballroom and Ann's homely and hearty meals were great to come home to after a wet and wonderful day on Exmoor.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank publicityshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2010

We were met by Pam, the jewel in Cutthorne's crown, who showed us up to the Ballroom, our comfortable home for the next five days. We lit the log fire - we had forgotten to bring firelighters but the bellows worked a treat - and drew the curtains to block out the Exmoor drizzle. Everything we needed to prepare our evening meals was provided in the kitchen and in the mornings we enjoyed a splendid breakfast in the main house, cheered by another log fire. Home grown fruits and yogurt were a lovely start to the day, followed by a full English, toast and coffee. Once the rain abated, we could find no fault. We will be back to explore some more of Exmoor. Ursa Major and Ursa Minor.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank ursae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

4 night stay in one of the cottages. Very helpful and friendly staff/owners and clean and tidy accomodation. Set in secluded and peaceful location with large grounds and pond. If you want ot get away from the rat-race Cutthorne is highly recommended.

Breakfast excellent but did not sample dinner. Would recommend to anyone wanting a nice tranquil getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanleydiscounts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a fabulous 4 day stay at Cutthorne,and found the whole experience just delightful. We were fortunate to have the 4 poster bedroom,and each morning had a stunning view from the window,what a vista!!! Breakfast served in a wonderful dining room,and the breakfast,a very wide choice on offer,with a nice unusual selection of beautifully prepared fresh fruit,gooseberries,rhubarb,white currants all apparently from the garden,home made yogurt,cereals,juice,toast,and of course a very British cooked breafast,who can resist...? We didn"t...! The evening meal was equally superb, 3 courses, each cooked to perfection,fresh ingredients,original recipes and all served with care and attention to detail,and attenton to detail seems to be a priority here and the 2 wonderful ladies who run Cutthorne should be listed,along with the house itself as a NATIONAL TREASURE. To Anne we both say a very very huge THANK YOU for a fantastic stay with you.........and Sam!!!! Best Wishes Rob & Davina Scales Bressingham DISS Norfolk.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougalpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We spent three pleasant nights at Cutthorne taking advantage of the surrounding land to let the kids explore with the owner's dog. The location allowed us to explore Exmoor, everthing within a short drive meant that no time was wasted and we felt we were able to maximise our short stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GHBHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Not as expected from the details on the web site. An unwelcoming ambience. HAd dinner on our first night, but did not repeat the experience. Food was unimaginative and poorly cooked.and not worth £21. Wine grossly overpriced. Good preserves and stewed fruit for breakfast. Shower head was tiny and almost unfunctional. The two armchairs in the bedroom had broken springs. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

To wake up with the curtains and window wide open wih a beautiful view down the peaceful valley ...What a treat. An idyllic location. Since drinking the amazing spring water all my hair has grown back, I look ten years younger, my IQ is ten points higher and I can play the trombone. What's do you put in it?
Seriously though ...thank you for a lovely weekend break.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jupiterjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheddon Cross
1.7 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#1 of 4 in Wheddon Cross
42 reviews
3.1 mi away
Edgcott House
Edgcott House
#1 of 8 in Exford
155 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel, Exford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cutthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cutthorne

Address: Cutthorne Cutthorne Luckwell Bridge, Wheddon Cross, Exmoor National Park TA24 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Wheddon Cross
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wheddon Cross
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Cutthorne Wheddon Cross, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing