We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay”

Combeshead Farm B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wheddon Cross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Combeshead Farm B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
“excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

A very good place in the middle of Exmoor, very central for exploring Exmoor National Park.
A car is a must however in Exmoor and to get to the farm. Parking space is available.

The place has spacious rooms, a clean and up-to-date bathroom, and a breakfast that is made to your individual taste.
TV for those who need it, is only in the shared living room.
Animals on the farm mainly include sheeps and 2 dogs.

The hosts are very kind and take lots of time to talk to you. Communication via email is very promt and friendly as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YuuraMatsuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine C, Owner at Combeshead Farm B&B, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I thought you were very brave travelling on your own. It was interesting talking to you, and hearing about things in your country. I hope we offered you a relaxing place to stay, and some good Exmoor hospitality. Good to hear you got home safely too!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. The host was very welcoming and accommodating. We came for a wedding at little quarm, it was fairly close, apparently you can walk but the weather wasn't great.
The breakfast was really good and the host made me vegetarian sausages which was thoughtful. We even requested an ad hoc lunch which was catered for.
Would highly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HtlP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine C, Owner at Combeshead Farm B&B, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was good to meet to both. It was such a shame about the weather that weekend, but I hope you enjoyed your stay here. I do try my best to accommodate most request!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were welcomed on arrival with tea and yummy home-made cake in front of a wood burner in the cosy lounge. The breakfasts were amazing: home-made and always plenty of choice. The bedrooms were immaculately clean and recently redecorated with comfortable and cosy beds. Our kids got to feed the baby lambs, help with the farm and play with Jess the sheep dog. Wheddon Cross is situated perfectly for exploring Exmoor - moorland and coast. We were surprised at how beautiful and unspoilt all the countryside and villages are. We had 4 great walks in such a varied landscape: moorland, woods, streams, waterfalls, cliff top walks, beaches pony treking, cream teas Exmoor has it all and if you stay with Catherine and Fred you will be truly spoilt.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annushka N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine C, Owner at Combeshead Farm B&B, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
It was lovely to meet you all. I am so glad the weather enabled you to make the most of your time here. Thank you for your wonderful comments, It's always a pleasure when people have enjoyed their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

My girlfriend and I had a perfect weekend at Combeshead Farm. Catherine was a friendly engaging host, and the farm has a warm and open feel to it. The breakfasts and cake Catherine made were top notch. Also, the location is perfect for walking. Some great routes can be picked up right outside the gate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine C, Owner at Combeshead Farm B&B, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
I would just like to say thank you for your kind comment. It was lovely to meet you both, and we are glad you enjoyed your weekend on Exmoor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Looe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

What a welcome, feel like we've known Catherine and "farmer Fred' for years although it was our first trip to Coombshead. Cake and breakfast amazing, rooms immaculately clean & tidy with comfy beds. We even got to cuddle day old lambs, play with Jess the dog and our 4 year old had a trip on the tractor. Wonderful walking from the farm gate & back to cosy evenings curled up on comfy sofas with the woodburner on and a supply of good books, Nothing was too much trouble, I even had a chocolate Mother's Day cake! Have already booked our next trip. Cannot recommend Coombshead highly enough for any occasion. We'll certainly be regulars.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine C, Owner at Combeshead Farm B&B, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Wow! what a comment. Sorry I haven't replied before, but have been busy with the lambing. Just two left to lamb now. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and looking forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Really lovely peaceful setting with easy access to beautiful countryside. Very warm and cosy accommodation and a very warm welcome from Catherine and family, great breakfast with home made lemon curd to die for!! Thanks. Rachel & Nick

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine C, Owner at Combeshead Farm B&B, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Sorry about the weather, hope the lemon curd made up for it !. It was great to meet you both and glad you enjoyed your visit.
We have had our first lambs today. Sleepless nights now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was my first trip to Exmoor for a while and also the first break since Christmas so was looking forward to re-visiting familiar places and also exploring some new ones.

Combeshead was a wonderful place for our weekend base. A warm welcome met us with a huge slice of delicious homemade cake and a cuppa. Our room was so comfortable with en-suite facilities and views over farmland.

If you want to explore Exmoor from a peaceful rural location, this is for you. This was a real find and I am sure one that we'll return to. A great place to unwind and also to rest after a day of walking on the moors.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cymru-hillwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine C, Owner at Combeshead Farm B&B, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Also relieved that the weather was good for you to make the most of a much needed break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheddon Cross
3.9 mi away
King's Farm
King's Farm
#2 of 2 in Withypool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
3.1 mi away
Middle Burrow Bed and Breakfast
7.5 mi away
Exmoor Forest Inn
Exmoor Forest Inn
#1 of 2 in Simonsbath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Parks Guest House
The Parks Guest House
#1 of 38 in Minehead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel, Exford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Combeshead Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combeshead Farm B&B

Property: Combeshead Farm B&B
Address: Wheddon Cross | Minehead, Wheddon Cross, Exmoor National Park TA24 7AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Wheddon Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wheddon Cross
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Combeshead Farm B&B Wheddon Cross, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing