We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, nothing less”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Williton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect, nothing less”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked Arden Cottage, not really knowing what to expect- to stay at whilst at a friends wedding. The house itself oozes character and charm whilst being warm, relaxing and quiet, set in beautifully maintained gardens. The hosts Jane & Paul were so flexible for us, waiting up until 11pm as we were stuck in traffic- but we were still greeted with a fresh cup of tea, a nice chat and the promise of a proper home (aga) cooked brekkie in the morning- which did not disappoint!!

This is a special brekkie- home-made smoothies, cereal and one the of the best english breakfasts I've ever had!! The whole weekend was like staying with friends, from chats around the breakfast table to feeling like the place was our own. We can't recommend Jane & Paul's Arden Cottage highly enough- it's special to find that people still make this customer service and effort seem so effortless these days!! Don't overlook this place, hope you enjoy it too!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxannie, Owner at Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Well thank you very much for your very kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the breakfast exceeded your expectations.

We do our best to use good local produce and to read that you appreciated everything we did is wonderful. We love our home and we love it when other people recognise it as well. It is a house full of character, charm and a warm feeling.

It was a fun weekend and we would be happy to take care of you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
65
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Highbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Can't recommend this lovely B & B highly enough. Jane and Paul were so welcoming, the house was beautiful, the beds were so comfy, the breakfast was delicious (Jane should start selling bags of her delicious homemade granola), there were some lovely touches such as the wide range of toiletries left in the bathroom and a full range of teas including fruit teas along with the coffee in the bedroom. The breakfast smoothies are particularly recommended. Buster was made to feel totally at home, as were we. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxannie, Owner at Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us when you came down to attend a wedding recently.

We enjoyed meeting you and your family, including Buster your Welsh Border Collie who settled in nicely.

We pride ourselves on our breakfasts so are happy to read that you enjoyed them as well, especially the Granola.

Maybe we'll see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Having just returned home from our 4 night break we feel the need to share our experience of this great B&B.Having not stayed in a B&B for many years (due to negative experiences ) We were quite apprehensive but there was no need to worry .
Paul & Jane were very welcoming on our arrival ,tea and cake after our long journey and our dog Taz (bearded collie ) settled quickly as Paul and Jane are truly "dog friendly "and not just dog tolerant If you are looking for accomodation with your dog ,Arden Cottage Williton is the place to stay , a fully enclosed garden for your dog to explore and Jane and Paul soon put you at ease about letting the dog wander freely indoors and out .
For the adults a large comfy bed ,the personal touches in the rooms , tranquil setting and free to come and go as you please
The breakfasts were fantastic with a wide choice and nothing was too much trouble, Jane and Paul's local knowledge of places to visit and willingness to loan to us maps and walking guides and booking a meal for our first night was an added bonus
We have returned home refreshed and happy and staying at Arden Cottage B&B has restored our faith to stay in a B&B again in the future
We would definitely stay again and will recommend to our friends and family
Steve & Sharon Bull & Taz

Room Tip: Rooms can be combined to suit families and circumstances
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stepen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxannie, Owner at Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review about your stay at Arden Cottage.

We are glad we have restored your faith in 'dog friendly' B&B's. We do our best to try and make your experience a relaxing and enjoyable one and reading reviews like yours means we are getting right.

We aim to replicate what you would find at home with regards to toiletries and added extras in the room and are happy when we hear they are appreciated.

We enjoyed meeting you both and Taz was an easy dog to have around.

We look forward to meeting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

If you have a dog this is an excellent place to stay, there is a fully enclosed garden and Paul and Jane are happy to let your dog wonder free around the b&b. the choice of breakfast is fantastic, the bedrooms are very comfortable. this is a great place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxannie, Owner at Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hello guys. Thank you so much for giving us such a lovely review.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the room. Being able to make your husbands Birthday weekend a little bit special was also good. Toby (your dog) certainly seemed to appreciate the freedom he had in the garden and was a very chilled out dog.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous cottage, 15th century, wisteria-fronted, lovely rooms and beautifully renovated. The house and rooms were lovely and warm, the water pressure in the shower and sinks is incredibly powerful. Comfy beds, lots of pillows, storage space in rooms.

Breakfast was delicious with a wide choice of options - cooked breakfast, porridge, cereals, fruit salad, smoothies.

The owners told us they had slept in every room to ensure each room has everything it needed. The bathrooms had everything we could think of - cotton buds, makeup remover, shower caps, etc.

Great place - really special to stay in such an old building which is so comfortable and welcoming. And the owners are lovely - very friendly and sociable. They even let me do their jigsaw puzzle! Will definitely come back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxannie, Owner at Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review about your recent stay at Arden Cottage.

We do our best to put our Guests at ease and to offer them everything they may need in the rooms to ensure they have a comfortable stay and it's always good to know that what we do is appreciated.

We look forward to being able to take care of you both again on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a short stay here over Easter , it was a lovely clean B and B in a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere , free to go as you come and please and very dog friendly.
Close enough for visiting places and short drive to a beach which are dog friendly.
Refreshment amenities in the room and plenty of choice on the breakfast menu.
Certainly would recommend.

Room Tip: Please note there is no pool or fitness centre ticked by mistake and won't take it off.... All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxannie, Owner at Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Arden Cottage. We are very happy to read that you found us to be really dog friendly as we aim to look after everyone who comes to stay with us.

We enjoyed meeting you both as well as Archie, your dog. He was full of fun and enjoyed playing with Bertie the Retriever who was a Guest at the same time.

We look forward to meeting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at Arden Cottage for 3 nights in April 2014 and have had the most wonderful, relaxing stay. Jane and Paul are so welcoming and Paul makes an impressive breakfast feast! We brought along our dog who is currently very depressed to be home - he had the most wonderful time running around the lovely large garden and playing with other dogs and being so wonderfully looked after by Paul and Jane - he would happily have stayed on! Paul and Jane also showed us around the village, and recommended some lovely places to visit in this lovely part of England. Our room was really comfortable and the wisteria growing outside the window with the view onto the village so very beautiful. We slept incredibly well and couldn't have asked for more. If you're looking for somewhere to stay in a beautiful location, with a great night's sleep and somewhere you'll leave with very fond memories - then I can't recommend Arden Cottage highly enough!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely - we stayed in the double with the ensuite and were very comfortable. Lovely po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliviaM835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxannie, Owner at Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your very kind review of your stay at Arden Cottage. We couldn't have asked for a more friendly and easy-going couple to look after, and Bertie, your 6 month old Retriever pup was a real joy to watch play in the garden, relax in the house, and make himself at home.

We're also pleased to read that our suggestions of places to see and do were welcomed, along with our breakfasts that set you up for your busy day ahead visiting places in Somerset.

We do our best to provide everything you may need in the bedrooms so it's good to read that our efforts are noticed and appreciated.

We wish you all the best for the future and hope to see you all again at Arden Cottage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williton
5.8 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
5.7 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.1 mi away
White House
White House
#3 of 6 in Williton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Catwell House
Catwell House
#4 of 55 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Masons Arms Hotel and Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Swain House
Swain House
#2 of 14 in Watchet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 33 Long Street | Somerset, Williton TA4 4QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Williton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Williton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 'home from home' and dog friendly, 4-Star Bed and Breakfast in West Somerset. Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast offers comfortable and relaxing accommodation for those wishing to explore the delights of Somerset.The picture postcard, wisteria and rose fronted detached, thatched cottage retains many original period features such as inglenook fireplace, solid oak/slate floors and exposed beams.Jane and Paul welcome you on arrival with tea and home-made cake, helping you relax and unwind after your journey. Williton embraces the fairest of the West Countries magnificent inland and coastal scenery, picturesque unspoiled villages make it ideally situated for the tourist, walker, angler, golfer or artist. Williton is 1.5 miles from the sea and about 2.5 miles from the Quantock Hills, an area designated as one of outstanding natural beauty.Williton is well served by rail and bus. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arden Cottage Bed And Breakfast Williton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing