We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B+B and outstanding hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hartnells

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hartnells
Ranked #1 of 7 Williton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic B+B and outstanding hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed with Sue at Hartnells in June (2014) with our 2 children (2 + 4) on the way to Cornwall. There is a niche market for a good place to stay (that isnt a Travel Lodge) for a night or two as a family but Hartnells goes beyond 'somewhere to stay'.
Sue looked after us and our little ones with real care (they were asking when they can stay at Nanny Sues again!) and the contained area upstairs with the room next to our double is ideal. We had a great welcome with a tea and cake and Sue must have read our minds as then showed us access to the park and play area out the back gate which was just what was needed. Great access to Dunster and nice pubs in walking distance for evening meals
And of course - fantastic cooked breakfast second to none. We will return.
Brian and Janine

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentsofEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
So lovely to hear from you after your return from your holiday in St. Ives.
Adding a couple of days here in West Somerset was a great idea. It is a shame people do not consider this county more, as there is so much to do and see here.
I seem to be collecting adopted Grandchildren over the years! 'Nanna Sue' (as I seem to be called by guest children) is looking forward to your next visit Charlotte and Thomas! (no relation !)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
71
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

After four days with the grandchildren we came to stay at Hartnells. The best B&B we have ever stayed in. Charming people in a lovely house and so much care and attention. We relaxed in a few minutes and wished we could stay a whole week. If you are looking for perfection look no further.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Critchl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review of our Bed and Breakfast. We are pleased you felt at home and relaxed here and we want you to know that we are always happy to offer you a longer stay, at a reduced rate of course!
We hope to see you again one day.
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Again, we have returned to Hartnells B & B. We cannot fault this charming House with its warm and welcoming hosts. On arrival we are greeted with smiles and offered freshly baked home made cake and tea. If the sun is shining we sit on the garden terrace enjoying the surroundings. The double bedrooms are lovely with king sized beds, tea making facilities, TV etc. We have stayed in both double rooms and can't choose between them. The whole house has a lovely cottage feel. The breakfast is great from full breakfast to a light eat. Even if we plan to eat lightly it is difficult to resist Sue's delicious rustic homemade bread and her homemade jams. The location is great for exploring the north Devon coast, the Quantocks and Exmoor. Sue and Tony always have tips for us on places to visit and places to eat. They go out of their way to make our stay comfortable, relaxed and enjoyable. We will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yiayia86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We were more than happy to welcome you again to Hartnells B&B which means you are now not just our guests but friends as well!
West Somerset has a lot to offer, often missed by people rushing through to Devon and Cornwall which in a way makes Somerset a relatively quiet area to explore. We are so glad you have discovered it and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Everything is perfect here. Because my English, I can not describe it properly, but there are comfort, hospitality, beauty...
First "B" is all you could expect as your own home and the second "B" just so amazing! (madehome jam is a must).
Our thanks to Sue and Tony for made our days there the most fantastic experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FlacaLeigh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I can see nothing wrong with your English, you said all the right things! We hope to see you again one day. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us. This is our aim and it is good to know we were successful with your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Sue and Tony were excellent hosts. Fresh scones, homemade jam and clotted cream on arrival and a friendly chat over a shared cup of tea. A lovely room, comfortable bed and a delicious breakfast. I felt like a friend not a guest. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you Anne for glowing review. We are so pleased you felt a friend in our home and you certainly earned the cream tea after your walk from Nether Stowey. It is good to have your feedback so now we know you made it to the end of the Coleridge Way unscathed! Well done. I hope we meet again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our recent stay at HARTNELL'S was a delight and a joy. Sue and Tony our hosts made both of us feel special and looked after our needs. Breakfast was first class cooked by Sue using local produce as was the home made bread cake and hot cross buns. Sue booked us a table at a local restaurant were we eat at the two nights we were there. Our room was beautiful very clean and tidy as was the en-suite. Tony and Sue have a very good knowledge of the area and provided us with the best places to visit and eat. We both enjoyed there company immensely.
Thank you Sue and Tony for your hospitality and allowing us into your home, we would recommend Hartnell's to our friends and family. We would love to return for another stay in the future.
Nice location. The service was excellent. Sue and Tony looked after us. I felt like a Russian Princess.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you Tony & Lyubov for your kind review. I am always willing to treat Russian Princesses to hot cross buns and Easter eggs! Sorry not the Fabergé ones! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

From the warm welcome (with a slice of delicious homemade cake) to the Banksman training guiding us out when we left, this really is a perfect B & B. Sue and Tony offer marvellous hospitality in a kind and friendly way. Delightful rooms, each with its own unique feature (one with a 400 year old door), warm and comfortable. Excellent breakfast which offers something for everyone ( even homemade Hot Cross Buns if you are lucky!). Sue and Tony also offered information on dining out, places to visit etc.

We thoroughly recommend this B & B in Willaton, the perfect place for exploring Somerset.

Room Tip: Book early if you can - this is a really popular B & B
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you found your home from home Jan. We hope to have you here at Hartnells again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williton
5.6 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
5.8 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
0.0 mi away
White House
White House
#4 of 7 in Williton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Catwell House
Catwell House
#4 of 55 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.5 mi away
Swain House
Swain House
#1 of 10 in Watchet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.6 mi away
Combe House Hotel
Combe House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Holford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartnells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartnells

Property: Hartnells
Address: 28 Long Street, Williton TA4 4QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Williton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Williton
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful thatched cottage full of character. A real home from home with a passion for supplying homemade and local produce. Super-king beds, Family suite, Disabled friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hartnells Williton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing