We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food & ales.”

Masons Arms Hotel and Restaurant
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Masons Arms Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 6 Williton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We have dined at this fantastic country pub on five occasions now & each time we have been served with excellent food by very pleasant staff. An added bonus to this is the fine choice of ales available. This pub is well worth a visit - highly recommended .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Bu07rge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

This is a blast from the past in terms of attention to detail. Remember when you used to get tea and coffee, biscuits and bits in the bathroom? This is a lovely English hotel - very nicely appointed rooms, great traditional English bar and food. I recommend it.

Room Tip: Any of them. They are motel style at the back of the hotel. Very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We had a fabulous group meal at Christmas. The food was excellent, as was the service.
On a return visit, six months later we were met with a mixture of good and bad points. The starters were good, but the main courses were poor. 2 out of 3 ales were either acidic or sulphurus as though the pipes had not been cleaned. The people on the next table had similar experiences with their food and beer. However, the young members of staff were happy to replace the drinks. When we brought all the matters up with the manager she had a defensive rather than apologetic attitude, as though we were in the wrong. It rather spoilt our evening.
However, full marks for the Christmas dinner!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Good food, nice staff and an interesting place. Recommended by the hosts at Arden cottage, Jane and Paul, we both enjoyed the food, the relaxed service and chance to eat out without having to leave the dogs outside..

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gormansimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed at the Masons Arms at the beginning of October, for a family wedding locally (st audries).

We were made to feel welcome as soon as we stepped in the door and tho we were originally told our room wouldn't be ready to check into until after lunch, Tracy (landlady) informed us she had got it all ready for us, which was great, we could get dressed up and ready for our day, we had a quick drink in the warm cosy bar before heading to the wedding, Tracy even kindly offered us a lift to the venue, just a couple of miles away.

We slept well in a nice double room, clean with a powerful shower and enjoyed a lovely cooked english breakfast in the morning, its just a shame we didn't get to try any other food, as the menus advertised looked yummy and good value, again we were offered a lift to collect our own car from the event we had enjoyed the previous day, which we took up the offer, thanks again Tracy, we will be back.

Room Tip: We were told all the rooms were slowly being upgraded, so im sure they will all be good, quiet villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gnomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Have eaten here a few times now - last night being the most recent. Again we were not disappointed; good choice of specials listed on the blackboard and a good range of dishes on the menu. Four of us were in the group and between us we had a range of dishes which included as starters Grilled Sardines, Crab Fishcakes, Prawn Tampurer. For main courses between us we had Steak, Ratatouille and Pork Loin. Good selection of deserts available - oh! that we had room for them.

A modest range of beers in the bar. Unfortunately the Exmoor Bitter, although in good condition, was served far too cold, but a good selection of bottles beers was also available.
A welcoming atmosphere and friendly staff added to the evening's experience. The prices were what you would expect for pub grub but the quality was far better.

This pub has a earned good reputation for food locally - and deservedly so.

Fortunately, I live within walking distance of this pub and although I wouldn't use it just for the beer - this is the only pub in Williton I would recommend for food.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Digi-1-Stop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This place had been recommended on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed, in fact we went back every night of our holiday to try something else off the menu and specials board! Particularly good was the duck, although everything we had was good eating. Beer and wine very good value. You need to be there by 7pm or book in advance on the phone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Karin170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williton
5.5 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
142 reviews
5.9 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
0.1 mi away
White House
White House
#3 of 6 in Williton
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Windmill Inn
The Windmill Inn
#13 of 53 in Taunton
77 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Masons Arms Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masons Arms Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 2 North Road, Williton TA4 4SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Williton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Williton
Price Range: £78 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Masons Arms Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masons Arms Hotel And Restaurant Williton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing