We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, and incredibly friendly and supportive hosts”
Review of Woodford House

Woodford House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodford House
Ranked #5 of 6 Williton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed here for the weekend as my son was taking part in a Downhill Mountain Bike race a few miles away. The weather was wet so coming back to this wonderful B&B was a delight each evening. Anna and Mike are the most wonderful hosts and truly made our stay memorable. The Breakfasts are wonderful (just don't tell my wife). I am so glad to have found this gem, we will be back.

Room Tip: We had friends staying in the other room and they are all perfect. Mike is an keen historian of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

I would heartily recommend this charming, efficiently run B&B to anyone staying nearby or even if they just want an overnight stop on a long motorway journey, as we did.
The journey in question turned into one of those midsummer M5 nightmares and Anna took pity on us and made us a fantastic cream tea the moment we arrived. It was a great welcome and instantly the stresses of the journey fell away.
We were all delighted by the large and attractive room we were given with its antique furniture.
We live a very long way from Woodford House - in Spain - but if we didn't I'm sure we'd be staying here regularly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dermot91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

A really lovely B&B, everything done so well and with the most friendly, helpful hosts. Anna and Michael are very welcoming and happy to offer useful recommendations for local sights and places to eat. Excellent food, the breakfasts are just great. Perfect for a quiet West Country break.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank notmagnificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Simply put, this is the best place I have stayed in for many a year. The location is beautiful and the gardens are simply breathtaking. The room was first class and the breakfast alone was worth the cost of the room. But the best part of the stay were our hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were informative and entertaining. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schuster2940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Woodford House is an extremely comfortable BnB; clean sheets, very comfortable beds, hearty breakfasts and friendly hosts (including Anna's cute father) - my friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Furthermore, the house is beautiful. Very well-kept and cosy! Perfect for a countryside getaway. You'll still need a car to get around from this BnB - but to be fair you would need a car to get anywhere at all in the countryside.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Anna's very accommodating; just let her know what you need and she always does her best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hwee Ching L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We selected Woodford House for a two-day stay near the West Somerset Railway after seeing their advert in the Heritage Railway Magazine. We were particularly interested in the offer of a "free" day rover ticket on the WSR for per two-day stay - which we did take advantage of. We placed our booking from New Zealand well in advance which, unfortunately, was "lost" by their computer. However, Anna quickly made arrangements for our stay with the very kind understanding and cooperation of another guest. Anna and Michael are charming and friendly hosts who provide a wealth of useful advice on local attractions, eateries and sights. We dined well at a local gastropub where meals were most reasonably priced - and enormous! The premises are early Victorian, and are decorated in theme with many items of early Great Western Region Railway memorabilia throughout the rooms. Breakfast was delicious - the usual full English with variations on the theme, but local and home-make produce featuring strongly. Anna's home-made Seville marmalade was absolutely delicious and we bought a jar to enjoy back in NZ! Our holiday in England was enhanced by staying here - and a few similar places we had "discovered" - and we would have no hesitation in recommending Woodford House to anyone wanting a short stay in this area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Being a hotel hater, I have stayed in lots of lovely B & Bs and this is the best of the lot, especially in terms of value for money. It's a lovely old house with a beautiful garden and Anna and Michael are perfect hosts, who ensure that breakfast is a special occasion. Anna might grumble if you ask for your eggs poached, but it's all part of her lively humour. In order to work up an appetite for breakfast a walk up to Nettlecombe Court is highly recommended. It makes the eggs (poached or scrambled) and the homemade jams taste all the better.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimW24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Woodford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodford House

Address: Woodford House Woodford, Williton TA4 4HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Williton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Williton
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodford House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Woodford House Williton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing