We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White House
Ranked #3 of 6 Williton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The White House is one of the best B & Bs I think we have stayed in. We stayed a few years ago and enjoyed it then but it has since changed hands and I think it is better now than before.

The rooms are lovely and when we arrived we were upgraded to a four poster room. The room was at the side of the property so away from the main road at the front which I recall was quite noisy last time we stayed.

My only criticisms would be that the TV is far too small in the room and there were no poached eggs on the menu for breakfast.

Other than that I have no complaints at all. Very friendly greeting and the food was excellent.

Room Tip: Any room at the back or side.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delboy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for White House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Me & partner had a wonderful stay down at the White House. The owners were very welcoming & very knowledgeable with regards to local information & days out. room was of a very high standard. Excellent variety of local produce for breakfast. Will defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missteddywheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I had the single room in the courtyard, for just one night. It has been updated since the current photo by the way, very smart. Very ingenious use of small space, (in old stables of this historic building) giving plenty of room for one person. Lovely breakfast, and friendly Shelly - didn't meet anyone else. The drawback in the heading applies only to this room. I was dismayed to find that the hotel's only designated smoking area was in a covered shelter immediately at the door of my room. I was assured that there were no smokers in residence, thank goodness. So I don't know whether smoke would have seeped under the door into my room. But if I had had to run the gauntlet of smokers as I left my room, I know I would have found it nauseating. Surely it is against the law to have a designated smoking area so close to a door which non-smokers will use?

Room Tip: See my review!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josquine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

the white house and Shelly herself was very welcoming, we had good communication from the start and advise and assistance with our needs, our daughter is in a wheelchair and we were offered a courtyard room which was lovely very comfy bed , room was just right for us and an iron was provided on request. facilities were great lovely white fluffy towels and nice smiles and chats at the bar, smashing wine too. breakfast was plentiful and we had a choice of eggs, our grandson loved it too.we were only there for one night but we would recommend the white house at Wiliton to anyone thank you guys xxx hope you got rid of the tree stump ha ha ha

Room Tip: courtyard rooms are lovely
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Made to feel very welcome by Shelly & Charlie, room was clean & comfortable, breakfast cooked just how i like it, excellent location for sightseeing, stayed 4 nights, didn't want to come home! Cannot recommend highly enough! 10/10.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed at The White House as a family for a Christening in Williton from West Wales. Can only say good things about this hotel. The place is very relaxing and the service could not be faulted. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Traditional English Breakfast was well proportioned and tasty. Can recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Silverback707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights whilst attending a wedding at St.Audries park back in April 2013. We were greeted by Shelly who immediately made us feel welcome and that nothing would be too much trouble. The room was very cosy, the bed was extremely comfy and the breakfast was to die for (local sausages that were out of this world). All of the staff are friendly and very accommodating even to the point where I had to work early one morning so would have missed breakfast but rang Shelly at 9.30am to say I was on my way back and she put me back a lovely full English breakfast.

The decorative touch in our room and on the landing were welcoming and a touch of home comfort.

Shelley was extremely friendly and also let us meet the gorgeous pup Ellie (4 month old Rottie) who was as pleased to see us as we were her.

We are thinking of going back later in the year with the in-laws and little dog and am already looking forward to eating those sausages again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jow1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williton
5.9 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
0.1 mi away
Masons Arms Hotel and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Washford Inn
Washford Inn
#1 of 5 in Washford
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Swain House
Swain House
#3 of 14 in Watchet
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catwell House
Catwell House
#4 of 54 in Taunton
152 reviews
4.6 mi away
Combe House Hotel
Combe House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Holford
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House

Address: 11 Long Street, Williton TA4 4QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Williton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Williton
Price Range: £77 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White House Williton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing