We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very disappointing. Very unfriendly staff, poor quality rest-rooms, tiny tv and very basic breakfast for the price”
Review of White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White House
Ranked #3 of 6 Williton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very very disappointing. Very unfriendly staff, poor quality rest-rooms, tiny tv and very basic breakfast for the price”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Booked this hotel after reading great reviews, but felt I had to leave my own ( first) review to warn other people what to really expect. We go away just a few times a year, and so the small rooms and small - I mean really small- bathroom was a disappointment. The owners were unhelpful to say the least, and did not seem interested in the customers at all. The decor was drab, and the TV tiny : so small that there was no way to watch it from the bed, which was the only place to sit. Actually, I don't want to be untruthful, as there was one chair at the desk, so I suppose one of us could have sat at then desk and watched TV, but we couldn't both watch it.
I would like to say something positive in my first review, but I honestly cannot think of a thing to say about this hotel: suffice to say that Watchett, about 5 miles away, is a lovely little place with some good alternative accommodation, where we will be staying next time. Breakfast was very inflexible, their way or you are out of luck. Way over-priced for what you get, so I would not recommend this one at all. Hard to understand some of the other reviews, so much so I wondered who had written them.

Room Tip: We were in the main hotel, which is supposedly better, so I cannot recommend a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank selfraisingflour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampieo, Owner at White House, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Same person as above.They wanted a free night away with extras, which they did not receive, tried to blackmail our small family run business, it did not work, then we get unfair reviews. We appreciate constructive criticism. but this is just beyond a joke!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    26
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
25
56
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for two night short mid week break and were very satisfied by the standard of accommodation.Our room was in the main house and was a nice blend of function and character,but it was the hosts we were most impressed with they seemed genuinely welcoming and attentive, will definitely use again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daimen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here for a weekend while visting the area. At check in we were welcomed by the owner and showed to our room. Our room was at the back of the main house and was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The refreshments tray had the usual things you would expect (tea, coffee, milk etc) and also, chocolates bottled water and a choice of fruit teas. The room had everything we could of wanted, and was also clean and peaceful. Breakfast is extensive - cereals, toast, tea, coffee and orange juice as well as hot breakfasts (full english or any variation you fancy!). In the room there was a list of recommendations for places to eat locally, we tried two on the list and they were both very good. This hotel was a perfect spot for exploring the area and the owners can't do enough to help. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cl4ir3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We booked a courtyard room online at the last minute, and the welcome was very warm. The room was well-dressed and furnished, but felt a little damp. It could benefit from double-glazing, especially the door, which opened onto the outside, as the sound of traffic on the road kept me awake. The shower was warm and powerful but the whole bathroom could do with a re-tile and general upgrade. An extractor fan would be especially beneficial- we didn't want to open the bathroom window as it was raining. Both the tea-tray and breakfast were excellent, however, catering even to my strange dietary requirements! We would definitely stay again but pay the extra for a room in the main house.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main house which is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here before my nephews wedding at neighbouring st audries, the new owners have made lots of improvements to the white house.
Te miy and I really enjoyed our time here as the owners made us feel really welcome worth a stay if your visiting the area.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BPASouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

stayed for 2 nights before family wedding at st audries park. family live in bicknoller and watchet so ideal location. new owners since last stay and they have really made their mark! lovely scented candles throughout and soft furnishings in lounge hallways and bedrooms make it so inviting. stay topped off when shown to our room and found four poster bed!! would definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purdy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Bugue, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I always look forward to my 2 night stays at The White House when I am visiting my elderly mother who lives just around the corner. A warm and friendly welcome awaits me, I have my usual clean and attractive room and enjoy a lovely breakfast. It is a perfect combination.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williton
5.9 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
0.1 mi away
Masons Arms Hotel and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Combe House Hotel
Combe House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Holford
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Catwell House
Catwell House
#4 of 54 in Taunton
148 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wood Advent Farm
Wood Advent Farm
#4 of 14 in Watchet
63 reviews
2.1 mi away
Washford Inn
Washford Inn
#2 of 5 in Washford
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House

Property: White House
Address: 11 Long Street, Williton TA4 4QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Williton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Williton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — White House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White House Williton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing