We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White House
Ranked #3 of 6 Williton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have just arrived home after an amazing overnight stay , we arrived 3hours early as we had a wedding locally.The owner greeted us and said it was not a problem showed us our rooms the wonderfully smell of Christmas was throughout .Our room was luxurious spotless .we looked forward to our return that night our breakfast perfect absolutely everything you could want for breakfast we wished we were staying longer and if we go to the area again we would look no further than the white house truly recommended.

Wendy and Fred Allen.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for White House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

This hotel is dated, uncomfortable, poor quality bathrooms especially and very very badly run. We arrived mid-evening in the dark and rain, to find that the hotel had double booked the Super-King-Size Four Poster room we had booked for a rare weekend away..and then claimed it was the booking company's fault ( which we checked, later, having used them before, and it clearly wasn't !). Gave us a room with a tiny tiny bathroom, shower so small you actually could not get to your own feet, and lumpy mattress. Decor was dull and uninspiring, and TV like a postage stamp stuck on the far wall! Veggie breakfast: removed the bacon and sausage and wouldn't do so much as an extra egg, which is weird, really. offered us a £4 discount on the room, and when we then complained to the booking company - which we had told them we would, as THE HOTEL had claimed it was the booking company's fault, and we honestly believed them at the time, even believing that the poor breakfast was because they had no warning - the manager then called us and yelled obscenities" [--] [--]! " down the phone, amongst other less savoury abuse .But the only way the Hotel could take our credit card payment, which they had , without asking us details, was through their booking. Why lie ? Don't book here- we saw some nice places nearby...

Room Tip: Don't bother, go elsewhere !
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank mobo595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampieo, Owner at White House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Unfortunately the room you booked an hour before your arrival had been taken by recent passing customers, we apologized for the inconvenience and offered you an alternate room(with a £20.00 discount) or the booking agent to find you alternative accommodation, you decided to look at our other room . We took you to our super-king un-site room which you both looked around and agreed to stay at our establishment.

In the morning you you we're asked how was your sleep, your reply was"great thank you". After your breakfast you we're asked "was your breakfast OK" your reply was,"very nice thank you.
On checkout you said you had a great stay & was asking where to obtain a map of the local area for sight seeing.On checking the room after your stay everything that was free had been taken and i mean wiped clean.....

A day later we get a call from the booking agent saying you had a horrendous stay here and you were requesting a full refund plus expenses for travel (petrol money). we found this very strange.

When upon calling you about this issue the langue was unbearable and the demand for money or receive an unfair review seemed to be the only two options.
I will be informing local accommodation providers of this, you clearly wanted a free night away it didn't happen, which clearly results in unfair reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Booked this hotel after reading great reviews, but felt I had to leave my own ( first) review to warn other people what to really expect. We go away just a few times a year, and so the small rooms and small - I mean really small- bathroom was a disappointment. The owners were unhelpful to say the least, and did not seem interested in the customers at all. The decor was drab, and the TV tiny : so small that there was no way to watch it from the bed, which was the only place to sit. Actually, I don't want to be untruthful, as there was one chair at the desk, so I suppose one of us could have sat at then desk and watched TV, but we couldn't both watch it.
I would like to say something positive in my first review, but I honestly cannot think of a thing to say about this hotel: suffice to say that Watchett, about 5 miles away, is a lovely little place with some good alternative accommodation, where we will be staying next time. Breakfast was very inflexible, their way or you are out of luck. Way over-priced for what you get, so I would not recommend this one at all. Hard to understand some of the other reviews, so much so I wondered who had written them.

Room Tip: We were in the main hotel, which is supposedly better, so I cannot recommend a room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank selfraisingflour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rampieo, Owner at White House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Same person as above.They wanted a free night away with extras, which they did not receive, tried to blackmail our small family run business, it did not work, then we get unfair reviews. We appreciate constructive criticism. but this is just beyond a joke!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for two night short mid week break and were very satisfied by the standard of accommodation.Our room was in the main house and was a nice blend of function and character,but it was the hosts we were most impressed with they seemed genuinely welcoming and attentive, will definitely use again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daimen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here for a weekend while visting the area. At check in we were welcomed by the owner and showed to our room. Our room was at the back of the main house and was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The refreshments tray had the usual things you would expect (tea, coffee, milk etc) and also, chocolates bottled water and a choice of fruit teas. The room had everything we could of wanted, and was also clean and peaceful. Breakfast is extensive - cereals, toast, tea, coffee and orange juice as well as hot breakfasts (full english or any variation you fancy!). In the room there was a list of recommendations for places to eat locally, we tried two on the list and they were both very good. This hotel was a perfect spot for exploring the area and the owners can't do enough to help. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cl4ir3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We booked a courtyard room online at the last minute, and the welcome was very warm. The room was well-dressed and furnished, but felt a little damp. It could benefit from double-glazing, especially the door, which opened onto the outside, as the sound of traffic on the road kept me awake. The shower was warm and powerful but the whole bathroom could do with a re-tile and general upgrade. An extractor fan would be especially beneficial- we didn't want to open the bathroom window as it was raining. Both the tea-tray and breakfast were excellent, however, catering even to my strange dietary requirements! We would definitely stay again but pay the extra for a room in the main house.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main house which is beautiful.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here before my nephews wedding at neighbouring st audries, the new owners have made lots of improvements to the white house.
Te miy and I really enjoyed our time here as the owners made us feel really welcome worth a stay if your visiting the area.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank BPASouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williton
5.9 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
0.1 mi away
Masons Arms Hotel and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Washford Inn
Washford Inn
#2 of 5 in Washford
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Swain House
Swain House
#3 of 14 in Watchet
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catwell House
Catwell House
#4 of 54 in Taunton
152 reviews
4.6 mi away
Combe House Hotel
Combe House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Holford
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House

Address: 11 Long Street, Williton TA4 4QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Williton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Williton
Price Range: £77 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White House Williton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing