We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A facinating collection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bakelite Museum

Bakelite Museum
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Williton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A facinating collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

The range of things made from Bakelite is astonishing. A facinating collection in an interesting and quirky old building.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Mehefin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    35
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Exmoor
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“More Interesting Than You Might Think”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Bakelite might seem an odd subject upon which to open a museum, but the museum works.
Its remarkable the range of object that were made of this material. A trip back in time (which, I suppose is in the nature of museums), but a trip taken amongst familiar everyday objects.
Nice location, easy parking and a very good small tea room and garden. Too far to walk from Williton Station on the West Somerset Steam Railway.
Worth a visit if you are in the area and looking for things to do.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Digi-1-Stop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quirky and fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

What a little gem of an eccentric and quirky British museum! Housed in an old mill it is stuffed full of not only bakelite items but early household items such as ice fridges, old cookers and flat irons. It's a real nostalgia fest - if you are younger you'll probably remember your grandparents owning some of these things. Wonderful!

I understand that sadly the museum might have to close because of health and safety issues - yes, the stairs are steep and open and the floor is uneven . This is in a very old mill after all! Please , please leave this museum as it is. I would hate to see everything bland and sterile 'just in case'. This is one British institution which needs to stay!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank MsPeppercorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bakelite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

I love his place, despite this last year's reviews (not uitable for fat people)
If you are of "normal size" as i am, it's wonderful...

Bakelite toasters, cookers.
Please bear in mind this is an "older persons collection" in a 19th century mill.

If you want a 100% safe place, go elsewhere, or don't climb the stairs. this is wonderful for the 50's age group...a great trip down memory lane, i will be back shortly....

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
3 Thank j0e90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

I couldn't believe how many things were made of Bakelite. This is an excellent museum and well worth a visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank EssexHelenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bakelite Museum also viewed

Watchet, Exmoor National Park
 
Washford, Somerset
 

Been to Bakelite Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing