We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely character thatched cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Williton, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dashwoods
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely character thatched cottage”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in September 2016

We had a thoroughly great time staying at Daisy Cottage and Williton is a great base for visiting West Somerset .

The cottage is very cosy and has great character.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spiderspe...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sadly not 'fresh as a daisy'.”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

'Daisy Cottage' is in a perfect location for exploring Exmoor and Somerset and from the outside looks well kept and charming. Inside, however, it is a very different story....
We were met by the owner who seemed a very pleasant lady and after a quick chat we were left to explore the cottage.
The first thing we noticed was that the bathroom toilet appeared unflushed (and we know from using it that the toilet cleaner there wasn't yellow), also there were hairs in the bath and stuck in the shower mat., a slight oversight perhaps? Sadly no, the level of cleanliness throughout was deplorable. Some things weren't immediately obvious but became apparent during the stay.
There are too many issues to list here but a few of the worst would be:
The bedroom carpet, absolutely covered with dust, hair and detritus. Bedside tables thick with dust, hair and fluff, the righthand one even being furnished with a generous scattering of nail clippings as was the surrounding area of carpet.
A most unwelcome discovery was a previous occupant's soiled tissues stuffed behind the headboard.
The kitchen worktops were filthy and the extractor hood covered with grease and dust.
The microwave had food stuck to the inside and outside.
The toilet pedestal had dust and hair stuck to the 'splash marks' and all around and behind it was exceedingly dirty.
The lounge was probably the cleanest room but would seriously benefit from having a lamp or two bright enough to read by.

The list goes on and on...

You may wonder why we didn't confront the owner; we made the decision to enjoy our holiday as best we could and this we did with wonderful walks every day and good meals in the evenings at local restaurants. Nobody wants confrontation on their holiday and we were no different. I did, however, take photographs of everything we found and even spot cleaned small areas to show the level of dirtiness in the property. These were shown to the agency that we booked through who were quite shocked and extremely helpful. We didn't demand compensation but wanted to bring this to the attention of the agency and show them what they were putting their name to.
These in turn were shown to the owner but apparently the agency said all claims were flatly denied by the owner and they couldn't see anything wrong in the photographs.
I won't make any judgement on those comments. I have included just a few of the photographs but there are many more.

This is a lovely historical cottage sadly neglected, a thorough deep clean followed by the weekly attentions of a professional cleaning agency would make a huge difference.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location.
Liked least: The dirt.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol t
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely cottage”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

was a lovely cottage . and comfortable loved the thatched roof. . . owner very pleasant . welcomed us on arrival . lovely location for visiting the moors. and plenty of places to visit .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing