We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic accomodation and food”
Review of Hunters Lodge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hunters Lodge Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Wincanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic accomodation and food”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I spent a week here while working locally, the rooms were very clean, fresh, modern looking and very comfy, there is a supply of tea coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits in the room. he food served in the bar is to a high standard, some of it does seem a little overpriced but even still is of very good quality. the breakfast is ok there is a selection of cereals and yoghurts and preserves and your choice of hot food cooked to order.

I would say that the only negative is that the rooms are too hot, I had to switch off the radiator and towel rail completely and even then the room was still too warm.

I would definitely stop there again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latus74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    125
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
125
178
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Who needs a chain hotel at great value?! Yes? Then change your mind and go here! Cheaper than hotel chains with breakfast included as an added bonus! Rooms in the lodge are very spacious, have incredibly comfy beds, huge bathrooms and are spotless! So delighted to have stumbled across this place and will frequent here from now on for trips to the South West. We didn't want to leave. So peaceful. The breakfast was to die for too! Service was friendly and efficient and you could tell the staff really cared and wanted you to feel welcome and appreciated.
Thanks you Hunters Lodge for a great stay, keep doing what you're doing! You've got it right when so many get it wrong!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stumbled across this place by accident. We both had the steak pie. Excellent food and service and great value. Friendly staff. We were in and out within 45 minutes, but were both very happy with the experience. Hopefully we can stumble across it again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolboySi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed here for 1 night, excellent lodge to stay made to feel very welcome, room was lovely and spacious with the most comfortable bed to sleep in.
Food great along with breakfast plenty to choose from and very tasty.
The cost for the room was very cheap for the luxury that you receive , you would pay more for one of the main branded hotels that are no where near as nice as this .
Will definitely be booking again , a must for anyone in the area needing accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on 01/01/14 having visited Bath and prior to visiting Longleat the next day. It was easy to find and well situated. As a family of four we had the Dorset Suite and were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room, it was lovely to find a family room with the beds not squashed in! Breakfast in the morning was lovely, plenty of cereal and yoghurt along with fresh toast and a cooked breakfast to order. Would stay again if in the area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GemmaL0uise15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Lovely clean welcoming place to stay on our journey to Cornwall for new year. Clean rooms comfy beds. Only gripe is poor Breakfast if you dont eat meat. All they could offer was cereal toast or youghurt, or mushrooms beans tomato egg real shame there were no vegetarian sausages. Other than this every thing great very very reasonable cost.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teenyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We arrived at around 6pm after spending the day at Longleat Safari Park, we were cold, wet and very tired. The Hunters Lodge is a warm and inviting place, we checked in with no problems, got to our rooms (Room 3 & Dorset Lounge) which were clean and well presented and then (after warming back up with showers / baths) we went out for a meal which was excellent quality. It was our youngest's birthday and they had agreed to bring out his birthday cake after we finished our meal and despite our numerous requests the staff were warm and helpful throughout. Breakfast the next morning was also really nice and staff even helped us with the frozen lock on our car and let us know about severe weather heading in (as our next stop was Cardiff). We would definitely book here again if back near Wincanton - the kids haven't stopped talking about it!

Room Tip: Dorset Lounge has two single beds and one double bed and our eldest son had the double room next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wincanton
3.4 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
9.0 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
6.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.3 mi away
The White Lion
The White Lion
#1 of 2 in Bourton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Lodge Inn

Property: Hunters Lodge Inn
Address: Leigh Common, Wincanton BA9 8LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wincanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wincanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Lodge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hunters Lodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Hotel Wincanton
Hunters Lodge Inn Wincanton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing