We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Fashioned Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dolphin Hotel Wincanton
Ranked #4 of 7 Wincanton B&B and Inns
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Hotel”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stumbles accross this on the way to exeter what a great find and and even better breakfast, the town was very old fashioned with tradtional shops as i remember them.

the people wemt out of the way to be friendly and nothing was to much trouble

Room Tip: all about the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thewests120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    51
    30
    10
    12
See reviews for
36
46
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Right where to start!!!! Manager was nice enough to start with, but when we as a group (5)decided to go and eat somewhere else for a change of scenery, he was very impolite when we came back for drinks to the point of hostility - with his wife chipping in from the side, very unprofessional. Have never drunk a drink that fast in my life.
Very small room with toilet gurgling all night waking me up and two very flat pillows on the bed looked more like pillow cases without anything in, mattress was very uncomfortable felt like a bag of potatoes, after the hostility of earlier I didn't feel like trying to change rooms or complain as just couldn't stand the sight of the manager and his wife. We are back in the area next week but definitely wont be staying here again. Guess 5 rooms on a Tuesday night with a possible 5 meals is a hassle he can do without!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sakkie342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wincanton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

The Dolphin is a pub. Remember that. Dont stay if you are a light sleeper, need an early night ect. Bad points first. Pub is a bit clicky. Lots of lads and girls as you would expect on a weekend out. or even on a Thursday . Locals pushed past me to get served after i was standing there and barman served them first so after that avoided the pub. Nog Inn (not a hotel) down the road a superb substitute for drink and food. They have a skittles alley here under hotel so firstly you get all that noise. Toilets under part of the hotel to so all you get is toilet doors banging and high heels shoe noises. If you check in late there was one bar man on a thursday night so be prepared to wait. Not much interest in us and not even an enjoy your stay or when or where breakfast was. Had to find out later as he was in hurry. TV in room was a waste of time as it was losing connection on most channels. Evidently thats the way it is round there. Right the good points. I must say the hotel was spotless and newly decorated. Breakfast was great to. Most of all though the staff were great (apart from barman) . Breakfast crew and cleaners were helpful. The boss seems a good fellow to. Oh yes and tons of parking through into back of pub. On the whole would stay here again but maybe ask for a room at back of building first. Local ammenities are great. Got loads of fresh fruit and veg to take back and the paper shop sells books and all things really. Nice local Butchers open early but we never made the most of that. Support them rather than the stores that have made there way here now. As Wincanton is twinned with Ankh-Morpork (honest) There is a Terry Pratchet store and they have a very close relationship with him so a must for any of his book fans. Take some money in with you though :).

Room Tip: Try to get a room at back of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blightnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

We were prevented from getting to original destination due to floods, but the Dolphin Hotel provided an excellent port in the storm.
Warm, comfortable, clean and quiet rooms. Good shower and big fluffy towels. Good, tasty pub style food in the bar (or bistro). Friendly service and a lively atmosphere.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SophieJasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

On first inspection, this seemed a lovely inn.

We got a warm welcome, and were allowed to check in very early.

The room was spacious and extremely clean, although we thought it strange that we had been given a family room when we had only booked a double.

The “Do-Not-Disturb” sign is a teddy bear, and you place him outside the door when you wish to be left alone.

The location is good – right on the High Street, and the double glazing cut the street noise to almost nothing.

However, those were the good bits.

We asked about midday if we could book for evening dinner. Unfortunately no, we were told, we are fully booked in both restaurants. We didn’t mind eating at an odd time, but no, they don’t give residents any priority.

We were out that evening, but returned around 11pm. The room was pounding. Literally. Every piece of furniture was vibrating because of the karaoke going on downstairs. We couldn’t even hear own own tv when it was turned right up! I had hoped the noise would stop at midnight, but it was only when both I and the people in the next room to us complained, that it was turned off at 12.35! Now we knew why our room could not be let to a family with a child!

The next morning, I can only assume the serving staff had bad hangovers. The cooked breakfast took more than 40 minutes to arrive, although it was fine when it did. We weren’t given any toast. The juice had run out before we arrived, and was never replenished.

The Dolphin would probably be an Ok place to stay if there were no functions on – I would recommend checking before you book.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Clean, bright airy, friendly staff, comfy bed, superb breakfast, brilliant town centre location
My (single) room was a little on the small side, but who wants to spend much time in their hotel room?
What else to say?

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohforfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I had a very good night's sleep at this unpretentious and comfortable inn, with one of the best breakfasts I've had in a long time. I would definitely stay here again, and would also look forward to having a beer in the bar in before retiring upstairs.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewpring100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wincanton
1.5 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
5.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hunters Lodge Inn
Hunters Lodge Inn
#1 of 7 in Wincanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The White Lion
The White Lion
#1 of 2 in Bourton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
4.1 mi away
Turks Hall B&B
Turks Hall B&B
#1 of 11 in Bruton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
6.5 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 2 in Mere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel Wincanton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel Wincanton

Property: The Dolphin Hotel Wincanton
Address: 34 High Street, Wincanton BA9 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wincanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wincanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dolphin Hotel Wincanton 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel Wincanton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Hotel Wincanton Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing