We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dolphin Hotel Wincanton
Nearby Hotels
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Wincanton(Wincanton)(Great Value!)
US$63
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
George Hotel(Castle Cary)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Inn(Marnhull)(Great Value!)
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Half Moon Inn(Sherborne)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grosvenor Arms(Shaftesbury)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
28
57
36
12
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
57
36
12
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsskittle alleytill the early hoursshort stayample spaceserved quicklyfull englishmain roadthree nightscontinental breakfastlovely roombiscuitsmillyweddingsouthwesttelevisionensuitecarvery
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here in December, what a find!! the room was clean and HUGE, the bathroom looked brand new it was that clean. the welcome from the staff and locals in the bar made our trip very memorable. the only criticism was the breakfast was too big. Half the amount would have been more than adequate

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We recently spent 2 nights here as part if a group of 3 couples/families. We received a friendly welcome and immediately shown to our room. The room although not very big was perfectly functional and spotlessly clean - there is no wardrobe which may be a problem if you were staying for longer - however the hanging rail and coat hangers was perfectly adequate for our needs. The bathroom again was spotlessly clean and the electric shower was great. Breakfast both mornings (1 day in the adjoining cafe open to public, and 2nd day in renovated stable block in hotel courtyard, both days was lovely very filling, choice from menu of full breakfast, sandwiches, egg on toast etc - and self service cereals & juice. The bacon and sausage were especially good and really filled us up for the day. The hotel has a small "old fashioned" style skittles alley at the back which was great to amuse the children when extended family came to meet us at the hotel. Also has a huge big lawn area again ideal for children to run around, and it's own private car . The hotel is situated right in the centre of wincanton, a small but quaint town with lots of friendly pubs and good choice of eating places . Would definitely recommend a stay here if you are wanting to visit this area of Somerset .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank joywill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

From the outside, this hotel doesn't actually look like much, but the rooms were actually very good, clean and modern.

Good:
- Friendly staff
- Lively bar and crowd, food was good
- Clean rooms, clean towels
- Television in the rooms
- Tea making facilities were good, choice of coffee, tea, and hot chocolate with biscuits.
- Heating, cozy room
- Free WiFi, but not so good reception in the bar
- Good choice of breakfast
- Free parking

Not so good:
- Bed, could feel the springs. Especially when you roll on to the side.

If I had to stay here again, I definitely would. Although I do wish they would change the mattress.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quadhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

lovely stay for 2 nights room standard good no fancy thing ,sleep was disturbed due to a humming noise not sure what this was. the food in the restaurant was spot on lovely and plenty and locals were friendly. Our only real let down was everywhere shuts on a Saturday at 2 pm so nowhere to go or look around

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwanseaLindyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

The room was small but comfy and clean. The bathroom was nice looked quite new. The walls are quite thin so u can hear your neighbours but not too loud. The building and village is very cute and quaint and the pub downstairs is lovely and social. I was told breakfast was at 7 but I tried entering up until 730 and still not open so quite disappointed. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intheria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews