We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just for the night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dolphin Hotel Wincanton
Ranked #6 of 7 Wincanton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This 1774 building is lovely. Rooms are small but sufficient and clean. Breakfast freshly cooked and served in the old stables. Very nice. Service with a smile. What more could you want for the night and at such a good price. "Locals" advised us against staying here. Can't tell you why though. Perfectly adequate. Little noisy until the pub shut but didn't cause us a problem.

Room Tip: They are all small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stay at The Dolphin overnight was very good room was clean and bed comfortable,we had a evening meal which was just right for us.Breakfast was hot well presented and very good this was in the Bistro.Not much to see in the town very dated and quite rundown.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lilyjean4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed for 1 night as a stopover on way to Cornwall the hotel is on the high street so had quite a bit of noise at night and again in the morning with deliveries the rooms are a little dated but very big and clean bed was designed and a bit uncomfortable breakfast was very good as was dinner it's above a pub but as a stopover it was a good choice and reasonably priced

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazchrisMk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Friendly staff, but busy in the bar so had to find our own way to the room.
No frills check in.
Average sized but well appointed room with quite a small bathroom.
Plenty of noise from the Wedding Party revellers in the courtyard below, but not really a problem.
Restaurant hours are quite poor with everything over by 2030 so we went elsewhere.
Breakfast is served in the Old Stables across the courtyard, with plenty of choice, but miserable service.
Lots of good off the road parking through the narrow archway into the courtyard area.
Reasonably priced and ideal for a short stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhaywardtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Not a pub-goer so can't comment on that part as have never used it, but sparsely aesthetic with cobbled yard 'garden'. The attached Bistro serves the best 'Full English' breakfast ever; the 'small' being more than enough for me if not others! They also do excellent 'lunches for a fiver', Mon- Fri, including yummy roasts with all trimmings [get there early] and evening specials all week. The Sunday Carvery, always a gamble anywhere, is the best I've found locally with a mass of well cooked vegetable choices, meat from the butcher over the road and a 'go back for more if you can' attitude - £12 for two. My only complaint would be; the decor in the Carvery/Stables is downright gloomy, the chairs in the Bistro are uncomfortable and the music is terrible!! Hasn't stopped me/us going back though.

Room Tip: reviewing at as local restaurant so know nothing about rooms, but would choose South side for peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here in December, what a find!! the room was clean and HUGE, the bathroom looked brand new it was that clean. the welcome from the staff and locals in the bar made our trip very memorable. the only criticism was the breakfast was too big. Half the amount would have been more than adequate

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We recently spent 2 nights here as part if a group of 3 couples/families. We received a friendly welcome and immediately shown to our room. The room although not very big was perfectly functional and spotlessly clean - there is no wardrobe which may be a problem if you were staying for longer - however the hanging rail and coat hangers was perfectly adequate for our needs. The bathroom again was spotlessly clean and the electric shower was great. Breakfast both mornings (1 day in the adjoining cafe open to public, and 2nd day in renovated stable block in hotel courtyard, both days was lovely very filling, choice from menu of full breakfast, sandwiches, egg on toast etc - and self service cereals & juice. The bacon and sausage were especially good and really filled us up for the day. The hotel has a small "old fashioned" style skittles alley at the back which was great to amuse the children when extended family came to meet us at the hotel. Also has a huge big lawn area again ideal for children to run around, and it's own private car . The hotel is situated right in the centre of wincanton, a small but quaint town with lots of friendly pubs and good choice of eating places . Would definitely recommend a stay here if you are wanting to visit this area of Somerset .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank joywill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wincanton hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#2 of 2 in Wincanton
288 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hunters Lodge Inn
Hunters Lodge Inn
#1 of 7 in Wincanton
473 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holbrook Manor
Holbrook Manor
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Willows Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel Wincanton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel Wincanton

Address: 34 High Street, Wincanton BA9 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wincanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wincanton
Price Range: £56 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dolphin Hotel Wincanton 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel Wincanton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Hotel Wincanton Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing