We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and clean for a Pub”
Review of Hunter's Lodge Inn

Hunter's Lodge Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in Wincanton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cheap and clean for a Pub”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

The food was fair but plentiful. The room was clean and quiet. Everything you expect from a Pub. I had the hamburger which was big but fair and my husband had the mixed grill and they kindly let him substitute the liver and kidneys.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank blueridgelover517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    49
    15
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfection!!”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stayed here for one night lovely and clean, nicely furnished and for £60 what great value. Staff are exceptionally friendly and the
carvery is a must - yum yum shame no room for pudding.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliBLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great country pub that does some great pub food”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We took the family for sunday carvery a week or so back and for £9.95 a head it was great value for money, the usual beef, pork chicken and a veggie offering, all well cooked and PLENTY of it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Roast”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I have just had the 'All you can eat roast' 4pm on Sunday. A huge pile off tender beef, roast potatoes, parsnips, cauliflower cheese, broccoli, carrots, cabbage and more all beautifully cooked. One plate was more than I could eat. Lots of families tucking in as well. A good roast and plenty of it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeaniereid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No thanks”
Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

Had a carvery and found it very poor and tasteless. The pub was extremely full so obviously others don't agree. Good outdoor space for children which is why we went but even the children don't want to return after they tasted the food. Felt like a cattle market more than a pub.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Somersetvaughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malbain, Owner at Hunter's Lodge Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
I must say i am somewhat confused. We serve in excess of 400 carvery's every week of the year and have become very good at it. We pride ourselves on our quality and consistency. With regards to a "cattle market" we do sometimes get "over" full but try to minimise the disruption to other diners, however sometimes this cannot be helped.
I have to admit i do not believe that this is a fair and accurate review.
Thank you for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunter's Lodge Inn also viewed

Wincanton, Somerset
Wincanton, Somerset
 
Wincanton, Somerset
 

Been to Hunter's Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing