We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hunter's Lodge Inn

Hunter's Lodge Inn
Ranked #4 of 23 Restaurants in Wincanton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Somerset
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very good value”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This was a good venue near the A303 for a family gathering for a Christmas meal. Our party included six adults and six children, two in high chairs. We were well looked after,the service was quick and helpful and the food was nice if unexceptional. The children were entertained with menus that included colouring and things to do and all in all it was an enjoyable hour and a half. My only complaint was the excellent carvery spoilt by beef that had been cooked to death- not a hint of pink anywhere which to my mind is sacrilege.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reviewermanSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    47
    15
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lee-on-the-Solent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly and acccomodating”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We arrived without a reservation for Sunday lunch. We were fitted in with utmost courtesy and invited to select our food first from the excellent carvery. The meat was beautifully cooked, the vegetables just perfect and the whole organisation was unhurried and friendly. The beer is well-kept, too!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good food - busy with atmosphere”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We were lucky we had the forethought to book a table here as the restaurant and bar were busy the Friday night we visited. With choice from the carvery or the grill type menu there was plenty of variety - however most things seemed to be deep fried.

The salads were beautifully fresh with light dressing. The drinks were not too pricey, so we were delighted with the not too excessive bill at the end!

We devoured every morsel - even asking for the dessert, which resulted from the eyes being too big for the stomach, being given to us in a doggy bag.

The staff are fantastic and make the whole dining experience a pleasure... well done!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank azejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Will stay again”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

This is our 2nd visit here. The reason is a fabulous family room. The Somerset room is large with plenty of room with the 2 single a double and a nice cot. Impressed it was a proper cot not just a travel one. The bathroom is large. Can not fault the room. Breakfast in the morning was plentifully and hot. The waitress was pleasant and very patient with me and my 4 kids. We did eat in the pub. The food was ok but did have to wait 40 minutes for it which for 4 hungry kids who were told to behave was a life time.

Helpful?
Thank spenco67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Its definitely worth staying.”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Im here for work so location is great for me so no comment regarding location as a tourist. Great place to stay as it has friendly staff and warm atmosphere. At breakfast and at meal times the choice of food is plenty and tasty though the sliced pudding that i had was a bit rubbery, just a sign of being frozen.
A good selection of beers, I drank the local ale which was on my stay consistently good. Free wifi though a little weak served its purpose for emails and surfing.
I would stay here again but avoid room 10 if you want to sleep before 11pm because it backs onto the kitchen, the noise from clearing is loud enough to be annoying.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbblz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunter's Lodge Inn also viewed

Wincanton, Somerset
Wincanton, Somerset
 

Been to Hunter's Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing