We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holbrook House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wincanton
Certificate of Excellence
somerset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Short stay”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We booked last minute stay here... Wow I was so delighted with it. Even with the silver service the staff made our stay home from home and relaxing, nothing was ever stressful at the hotel. Would come back again

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HayleySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Hayley Somerset,

I am delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Holbrook some time soon.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    163
    66
    44
    35
See reviews for
88
332
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I took my friend to Holbrook House for a birthday treat last weekend and we had a lovely stay. The house is beautiful (Georgian?), set in lovely mature grounds. The staff and settings manage to provide a standard of service, while making it totally relaxing. We felt we were at a friends country house (we wished!!). There are lots of areas to relax, squishy sofas in the massive entrance hall, morning room and library, all with fires, perfect for reading papers or eating fresh scones (with cream and jam!) in front of.

Our room was lovely, light and airy with great views of the garden and large. The bathroom was enormous and had a great waterfall shower as well as a standard shower and bath. The beds were very comfy with lovely sheets.

Dinner was included on the first night of our package on a set menu, the choices were good and the food very tasty. The addition of hors d'oervers before dinner was very nice, as were the truffles at the end. The dinning room looked lovely and the silver service wait staff did a great job. My friends dessert came out with 'happy birthday' piped on the plate which was a nice touch, the poor waiter had to sing happy birthday!

The only slight criticisms were on the speed of service, we had booked dinner for 8,30 and were sat for enough time for 2 G&T's before we were taken through to the dinning room (we had ordered during this time). We were getting a bit hungry. We couldn't decide if it was down to capacity of the kitchen slowing the system down or the capacity of the wait staff to take us in.

Breakfast was great, really good choice from a full grill to every different type of eggs. Fresh pastries were yummy and a really good fresh fruit salad. Lots of fresh coffee and papers for guests use, no pressure to move out.

The spa is absolutely fine but is nearly ready for a refresh. Everything was clean and tidy and the staff were very pleasant but the showers were tired (and ran cold for some time), grouting going black etc, and the decor in the cafe/conservatory there is very 80's and not really of the same standard as the rest of the house. My friend had a massage which she said was really excellent. The sauna was shut for planned refurbishment on the Sunday, I personally would have liked this communicated to guests.

The location is great, loads to do within half an hour, and Bath an hour away.
Overall we had a absolutely lovely stay, we totally relaxed and enjoyed our times by the fire, staff were helpful and very professional.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Kate T,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on the Trip Advisor site. I am delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you make a return visit in the near future.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Visited the hotel for the second time. First 2 night stay back in October was marred by poor restaurant service at Sunday breakfast, no hot water, long hairs of a previous guest on the tiles in the shower and a closed spa. Didn't feel I could write a fair review back then as things just went from bad to worse and not all of it within the hotels control. We gave the hotel a second chance for my birthday.

I booked a full afternoon tea prior to our arrival. We were delivered the tea and when this was going tepid were delivered a 'cream tea'. When asked if everything was ok we asked where the rest of the afternoon tea was? A bit later the sandwiches, cake & eclairs arrived. More tea followed as second lot had also gone tepid. The afternoon tea itself was delicious.

Dinner was, as experienced on our last stay, excellent and the staff brought in my pudding with a chorus of " Happy BIrthday", this had also been piped on the plate...a nice touch.

Sunday breakfast turned out to be a farce. We sat waiting to be served watching two other couples being attended to before us, when we went to get some fruit juice all the jugs were empty, the cereals hadn't been topped up, the only two visible dishes were smeared with dishwasher residue. We pointed this out. We were eventually asked for our order: porridge, eggs Benedict, full English, coffee and tea.

Time passed and I went to see where the porridge was to be met by a waiter holding a tray containing scrambled egg and salmon and a full English who asked "Was I ready for these?"

I said that what he had wasn't our order, to be told that " the order was for Table 6 and I was sat at Table 6". Fortunately the restaurant manager overhead the 'lippy' waiter and confirmed that wasn't what we had ordered. It turned out it wasn't for our table at all. When we had eventually received all of the components of our breakfast it was excellent.

The 2 staff and the restaurant manager were rushed off their feet. Yet again the hotel were unable to cope when they had a lot of guests. Back in Oct it was due to a wedding party and this weekend it was due to the hotel being full the night before. You would have thought that extra staff could be brought in when they were busy, it's not as though they wouldn't know in advance.

We stayed in one of the garden rooms as we took our dog. The garden rooms are about 100yrds from the main building There is no covered access back to the main building although there are brollies in the main building.The garden rooms are well equipped with patio doors that open up onto a small seating area and access to the gardens. The china pot left outside on the wrought iron table for cigarette buts was filled to the brim, clearly not emptied for a while.

A lovely hotel that really needs to sort out it's staffing levels when busy. Unfortunately for us this is two strikes and out.

Room Tip: If you have a dog you will stay in a garden room rather than the main house. There is no charge for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devonbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear DevonBeauty,

Thank you for your review. It is very important for us to receive feedback so that we can continue to improve our standards throughout. Many of the points you raise are very valid and we shall be working hard to improve these areas so that all our guests have a stay that exceeds their expectations.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here with 3 other girls for a Spa weekend. We had a fab time, in HUGE rooms, and the treatments at the Spa were perfect, just what I needed. Dinner was very good, with unexpected canapes before and truffles after. Breakfast was good, and we stayed in the breakfast room for over an hour chatting, with refills of coffee. Every member of staff we encountered was very friendly, and helpfully posted my phone back to me and my friend's house keys to her - we were obviously so chilled out we left them behind!
We will almost certainly go back as it was also excellent value for money, with spa use, a treatment, dinner, bed and breakfast included. Very reasonable lunch and bar prices too.

Room Tip: Bincombe Beaches (I think) was lovely - if I go back I will request this one. Light airy, very spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMBoyd1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear KMBoyd1000,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you all enjoyed your spa weekend here at Holbrook.

Holbrook is a lovely place to come and relax and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend, having booked the winter warmer package which included one nights dinner. The room ( Wincanton Suite) was very cosy & comfortable, though a nice comfy sofa in the lounge area would've been nice to have. The public areas are lovely, lots of comfy sofas & chairs to relax in, our fave was in front of the lovely log fire ( tho there are 3 fires/rooms to choose from) in the main lounge area. The meal was just amazing, really gorgeous ( We had woodpigeon / cheese souffle to start then Trio of Pork & the beef) . The staff are all lovely, happy to leave you in peace to relax but always happy to get you anything. We have stayed before & made the most of the last day by having Afternoon Tea- again, a real treat & it took us all afternoon to eat it!

Room Tip: All the rooms look lovely, the ones on the second floor have the advantage of not having anyone abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsy064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Gypsy064,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your Winter Warmer stay with us recently and for awarding us the full five stars - we really appreciate the feedback and I have passed on your comments to the team here.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We were let down at staying at an Inn near Glastonbury and turned up at Holbrook House at 7.15pm. The Inn had obviously closed down, and the owners had not contacted us.
We had decided to drive home, and happened to past the entrance of Holbrook House. We had stayed last year, so stopped to see if there was a vacancy.
We were given a warm welcome, and a lovely room on the second floor.
We very much enjoyed our three corse dinner, and also had a good breakfast. The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs delicious.
All the Staff very friendly, and a lovely fire in the lounge. A very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house probably better than annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Jenny F,

Thank you for your comments posted on Trip Advisor and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Just had a two night stay - wish it had been longer. Our room was immaculate and so cosy. The staff were very helpful especially Linda on the front desk who could not been more helpful. The Breakfast at the Holbrook is the best we have had for a very long time.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Geraldine O,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments after your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holbrook very soon.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wincanton
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#2 of 2 in Wincanton
250 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
948 reviews
3.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
9.9 mi away
Travelodge Yeovil Podimore
14.2 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook House Hotel

Property: Holbrook House Hotel
Address: Wincanton BA9 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wincanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wincanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holbrook House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holbrook House is a privately owned Georgian country house with a warm and welcoming atmosphere, set in twenty acres of unspoiled woodland and rolling pastures. Surrounded by the abundant nature, wildlife and sparkling rivers of southwest England, Holbrook lies within easy reach of London and the Midlands. Holbrook, a unique home in the country, is the perfect venue for your next leisurely holiday, romantic break, or special event. AA 3 Star (85%) - 2 AA Rosettes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Holbrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbrook Hotel Wincanton
Holbrook House Hotel Wincanton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing