We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay at Holbrook House Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holbrook House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wincanton
Certificate of Excellence
Egham, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent stay at Holbrook House Hotel”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed on night at the hotel and it was really good. The staff were friendly and helpful and the reception was good. The room was beautiful and clean and nicely presented (and large) and the views over the gardens superb. The beds were very comfy and the bathroom well equipped with towels and dressing gowns and White Stuff products for use.

The spa was good consisting of a small pool with Jacuzzi and steam room and sauna with water supplied there was a lovely tea room next to the pool too if one of you wanted to swim etc whilst the other relax! The grounds were very nicely done and I believe there were tennis courts although it was a little chilly for us in Feb. The spa connected to the hotel so you just walked from your room to the spa area, beautiful old building. In the evening we were served lives etc on a platter by a roaring fire and drinks pre dinner. There were many lounges and fires, imagine it would be fabulous at Christmas too.

The evening meal was exceeelent, a nice choice but not too wide and the effort on quality of the food and the presentation was evident - delightful. the ambience was just right, it was very special.

Breakfast was lovely and a good choice and we had a lovely time and would recommend Holbrook House Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Tessa J,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor, it is always good to receive such positive feedback. We do hope that you pay a return visit in the near future.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    163
    66
    44
    35
See reviews for
88
332
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our weekend at Holbrook was bought through Secret escapes. We nearly had to put it off due to a family bereavement. But decided the break was needed. So my husband and I went not really looking forward to it. But , was a very enjoyable stay it turned out to be . The service was amazing , staff very attentive in a positive way. We had the evening meal on the first night . Drinks and canapés to start in the lounge . We sat in two arm chairs by the log fire . It was very relaxing and set the scene for our meal. Which was delicious. All three courses were really lovely. We also used the spa whilst we were at Holbrook . Good size pool and jacuzzi .as well as the use of steam and sauna. Very quiet when we were there. We also enjoyed the breakfast, excellent choice of pastries, cereal ,fruit and juices to start. All followed by the Holbrook grill , a good sized full English and toast. Our room was spacious , but the only negative it was a little dated and dark. However, it was all you could want a good sized en suite with shower over bath and an area where you could sit and read or watch the flat screened television. We left Holbrook on Monday , having thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Sally M,

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us booked through Secret Escapes and thank you for taking your time to post your comments.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We spent a very enjoyable weekend at Holbrook House to celebrate our friend's birthday.Lots of nice places to sit and relax and the service and attention we received was first class. Dinner was excellent - beautifully cooked and presented. The gym is well-equipped and very useful for working up an appetite. The pool area looked a little tired but we understand this is scheduled for refurbishment and this did not detract from a memorable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear PaulT,

Thank you for your kind comments after your stay with us to celebrate your friend's 60th Birthday. We do hope to be able to welcome you back to Holbrook in the near future.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Holbrook house hotel Wincanton. Stayed 24 & 25 February 2014.
We had two night stay at the hotel, which including dinner and breakfasts. The break was arranged by our friends, so we could meet up and catch up on each other’s news. Our first sight of the hotel which is an attractive Georgian building, which looked very welcoming.
After an easy check in, we were shown to our room. This was up a fairly grand flight of stairs, and then up another steeper flight. Our room, probably in the old servants' quarters, was large with a view out over the back lawn and stream. The room was furnished with an ecliptic collection of old furniture, but this only seemed to add to the calm of Holbrook House. The hotel is old fashioned, with the obligatory creaky floor boards. The decor is a little dated and needing a little TLC in some cases; but charming none the less. There is a very pleasant feeling of homeliness and calm. This atmosphere is enhanced by the attentive staffs who want you to enjoy your stay to the full.
We stayed in the Wincanton Suite, which comprised of three very good sized rooms, Lounge with two comfortable armchairs, TV, Music/radio system, tables and other chairs. The bedroom, with a very large double bed, again with chairs bedside cupboards, dressing table wardrobe and another small TV. Finally the bathroom with a very functional shower over the bath. The room contained everything you needed to enjoy your stay. The Wi-Fi was very consistent. There were plenty of available power points. Also provided was a hair dryer, trouser press and an Ironing board.
Once checked in we met up with our friends and did a tour of the hotel and then ended up in the stables bar/eatery, where we had a light lunch and some drinks. The food was excellent.
After our lunch were put on our boots and wandered through the grounds, exploring the wooded area lawns and paths.
Dinner choice was limited to an ample but condensed a la carte menu. Canapés were served whilst we made our selections and drinks brought to us in the morning room. The dining room was very pleasant, with tables spaced sufficiently far apart to enable private conversation. The tables were all very nicely set up. The high level of service at dinner continued throughout the evening, and was very evident throughout the staff at all levels, which in fact is the real strength of this hotel. The meal was well presented and beautifully cooked and served on hot plates.
Afterwards, we sat before the log fire, enveloped in the large armchairs, feeling warm and satisfied.
After a very good night’s sleep, we had an excellent breakfast. The 'full English' was faultless.
The next night was similar and we left after our short stay determined to return at some time.
If you enjoy a relaxed stay in pleasant but not over stuffy surroundings you will love this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimlad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear JimLad69,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed on all your comments to the team here at Holbrook.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My daughter was married at the Holbrook 13years ago; superb in every way. My wife and I stayed there on my wife's birthday 4years ago, again was excellent. This January we thought celebrate my wife's 70th why not go again for a 2 days break. Oh dear! Dinner 1st night very poor, worst fillet steak I have ever had, dessert very nice but as with the dinner there was more plate than food. 2nd night did not book for dinner, went to local eatery for food. First morning breakfast, full english breakfast (at £15,50) was 2 small eggs, 1 small sausage, 1 large mushroom, 1 rasher of bacon cut into 2 pieces; black pudding told was off (on menu) no alternative offered. Toast was 1 slice of white and 1 of brown (both cut in 2 to make it look more).2nd morning checked out with not bothering with the poor excuse for a full english.
Toilet roll holder kept falling off, no light to shave with, light nearby broken.Standard lamps in room (for writing desk) were so dim it was impossible to read or write. Would we go again...No

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear John B,

I am so sorry that your recent stay with us did not live up to your expectations after your previous visits to us. Your comments have been passed on to the kitchen and we have addressed the points that you raised. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We spent 2 nights here on a package which included dinner the first night. The good news: very comfortable lounges with log fires and a very good dinner with service to match. The bad news: my wife liked it so much that on the second evening I could not persuade her to go out to one of the fine nearby pubs I happened to know! I also used the spa which had everything I needed. Our room was comfortable, clean and spacious, but we would agree with some other reviewers that the room décor could do with tidying up. Hence 4 rather than 5 stars.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ComesDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear ComesDorset,

That you for your comments and for taking the time to post them on Trip Advisor. We are hoping to refurbish some of the rooms later this year and look forward to welcoming you back to Holbrook in the near future.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We live locally and decided to brave the awful weather and go for tea. On arrival the reception room complete with grand piano and lovely sofas and huge open fire makes for a very welcoming classy but not pretentious feel.
The service and staff were very welcoming and helpful (had a snoop around and got to spa where the spa staff asked if I would like to be shown around)
Two pots of tea, lovely china and warm scones, finger sandwiches and selection of cakes arrived and I could not fault it, especially for the price £10 each - didn't need any dinner that evening anyway!
The library(plenty of reading matter and games) and lounge both had lit fires and were very welcoming/comfortable and gave you the feel of a actual lived in house rather than pompous hotel.
The staff were impeccably dressed and had the perfect balance of service, as we were not paying guests in some places you may feel hurried to leave as we were taking a prime location in front of one of the fires, but not the case here and you really felt as if you could of sat and dozed it was so peaceful and I was so full.
we will definitely be back and would love to try dinner one evening to see if this matches our brief experience.
Anyway well done Holbrook House I was VERY impressed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Nikki d,

Thank you for posting you review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us and had time to relax by the fire and visit the spa and have a look around.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wincanton
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#2 of 2 in Wincanton
249 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
948 reviews
3.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
873 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
14.2 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook House Hotel

Property: Holbrook House Hotel
Address: Wincanton BA9 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wincanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wincanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holbrook House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holbrook House is a privately owned Georgian country house with a warm and welcoming atmosphere, set in twenty acres of unspoiled woodland and rolling pastures. Surrounded by the abundant nature, wildlife and sparkling rivers of southwest England, Holbrook lies within easy reach of London and the Midlands. Holbrook, a unique home in the country, is the perfect venue for your next leisurely holiday, romantic break, or special event. AA 3 Star (85%) - 2 AA Rosettes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holbrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbrook Hotel Wincanton
Holbrook House Hotel Wincanton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing