We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holbrook House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wincanton
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

For our first child free holiday in 18 years, as you might expect , we had spent a while trawling trip advisor for the perfect short break. So once booked through off peak luxury, Holbrook House had a lot to live up to. Luckily we found exactly what we had been hoping too. A relaxed country house, shabby chic, floral, dark wood ,friendly staff, good food, excellent breakfasts. The spa reception lady was lovely, swimming pool beautifully warm, jacuzzi suitably bubbly. Waiting staff all polite, reception staff always helpful, garden well maintained. I am sure that if I was the sort of person who wanted to pick out a peeling piece of wallpaper, or a stained carpet I could have spent a while doing so. To be honest there is no way that I would waste my time doing this on my precious break. If anything did need looking at then I would suggest the crack in the sink though! All in all a relaxing mini break, not forgetting the mattress which was so soft,not unlike sleeping on a giant marshmallow . Thank you

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ventons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear ventons,

I am delighted that you managed to get away for a relaxing break here at Holbrook and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    165
    69
    45
    35
See reviews for
91
339
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on a Secret Escapes offer. It was our third visit.
We enjoy the beautiful house and grounds and the food is excellent. Our room was Poppy, and we had the evening sun.
We did not have time to swim, as we cycled both days around very pretty Somerset villages.
All the Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms in the hotel are better than in the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Jenny F,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your third stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back to Holbrook soon.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Superb room combining elegant period furniture with modern comfort.

Excellent service and delicious food.

Staff were friendly, welcoming and efficient.

We had a delightful stay, and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Adam B,

Thank you for your comments after your stay with us earlier this summer. It is always good to receive such positive feedback and we do hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed two nights at Holbrook for a family wedding and the whole experience was just lovely. The hotel and grounds were perfect, the food was exceptional and the service by all staff was first class. I also had a spa treatment and the spa staff were ever so lovely and helpful and the spa was beautiful. A truly wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 643Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear 643Katie,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed the family wedding here at Holbrook. I have passed on your comments to the staff here in the main hotel and in the spa.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We booked a deal with this hotel for dinner, bed and breakfast. On arrival we were immediately made welcome. The room we had, had a lovely seating area wth a large tv a bedroom, and a smaller TV with a big bed and a seperate bathroom, all very clean and comfortable. The evening meal was excellent and we eat outside on the terrace looking at a magnificent Cedar tree. The bed was very comfortale and the peaceful country air enbled us to have a good nights sleep. Breakfast was very good, the black pudding was exceptional.

Ovearll a great overnight stay and we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ring and see if you can get a deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear cgou,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your break with us and hope that you come back to Holbrook in the near future.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We visited for two nights in early June and have been back again for one night this week. All of the staff are helpful and friendly, various relaxing rooms provide a feeling of being a house guest and the restaurant is welcoming. The swimming pool, sauna and steam room add to your relaxation.
There is an element of shabby chic which we like. We were lucky in being allocated a large first floor room. In the restaurant both the dinner and breakfast were excellent. Many NT properties to enjoy nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalvernMoneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Malvernmoneyman,

Thank you for your feedback after your stay with us, we do hope that you make a return visit soon.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel as a birthday treat for my friend via TravelZoo - the price included 1nights accommodation with breakfast & 3 course evening meal for 2, it was worth every penny! Stunning hotel in beautiful grounds, yes it's a little worn/jaded in areas but that all just adds to the charm and character in my opinion? The staff were all professional & friendly, the spa/pool/ sauna etc were inclusive in price and lovely bar/patio area where you can have a drink & chill out - we were really lucky with the weather and made the most of the sunshine! We stayed in the 'Penselwick Suite' on the first floor, It was a twin room with plenty of space and had lots of character, open fire place, large dual aspect sash windows overlooking the well kept gardens & huge Cypress tree! Lovely clean bathroom with complimentary toiletries, nice fluffy white bathrobes & slippers! There were tea & coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, flat screen tv, CD player/radio cassette, hair dryer, still & sparkling water, selection of sweeties, plenty of coat hangers/wardrobe space, spare pillows etc - in fact absolutely everything you would need & more? I don't see what anyone could find to complain about?! We had complimentary aperitifs on the veranda before dinner (very nice) dinner was a set menu with a couple of choices for each course - all very delicious! The main course spring lamb was the nicest lamb I have ever tasted! The breakfast the next day was of an equally high standard with a help yourself style continental starter of cereals, juices, fresh fruit salad, nuts, seeds, prunes etc then choice of hot breakfasts including full English, eggs Benedict, boiled egg & soldiers etc we both left with full tummies & smiles on our faces! No complaints at all! In summary, we had a lovely time at a wonderful country retreat in sunny Somerset! This hotel is a little gem and I would totally recommend you check it out especially if you can get a great deal like we did? I'll certainly be keeping my eye out for future deals as I'd love to go visit again! Fabulous thank you to all at Holbrook House - keep doing what you do!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Campervan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Campervan67,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent break, booked through Travelzoo. We have lots of special offers through the year so it is worth keeping an eye on our website. We do hope that you pay a return visit to Holbrook soon.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wincanton
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#2 of 2 in Wincanton
252 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
954 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
184 reviews
14.2 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Yeovil Podimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook House Hotel

Property: Holbrook House Hotel
Address: Wincanton BA9 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wincanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wincanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holbrook House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holbrook House is a privately owned Georgian country house with a warm and welcoming atmosphere, set in twenty acres of unspoiled woodland and rolling pastures. Surrounded by the abundant nature, wildlife and sparkling rivers of southwest England, Holbrook lies within easy reach of London and the Midlands. Holbrook, a unique home in the country, is the perfect venue for your next leisurely holiday, romantic break, or special event. AA 3 Star (85%) - 2 AA Rosettes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holbrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbrook Hotel Wincanton
Holbrook House Hotel Wincanton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing