We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money”
Review of Holbrook Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holbrook Manor
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wincanton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 days as part of a family reunion. Although we didn't eat there, apart from the excellent breakfasts, the service levels were very good. It feels more like a home than a hotel and the environment was very relaxed indeed. You will go a long way to beat the facilities offered by the gym and the spa. The kids also had fun on the tennis court and roaming the extensive grounds. We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the gardens at the back of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear MartinL,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your break with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

well I stayed at this hotel back in January...i unfortunately I left behind some clothing in the room (SUPERDRY Hoodies), which the hotel staff kindly put aside for me to post back. 6 x weeks later after over 20 x chase phone calls I discovered my clothing had been "lost" and was never sent actually posted to me. The manager refused to take any of my calls and the way this was handled was appalling and really disappointing. I would have loved to have returned but never will after this experience....god knows who took my property - but I believe in karma!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ozzo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear ozzo2014,

I am surprised to read your comments on Trip Advisor. It was very unfortunate that your hoodies went missing but the matter was resolved and a full refund for the two hoodies was sent to you.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We recently attended a family wedding anniversary at Holbrook House and were absolutely delighted with the way that we were looked after in all respects. The team were efficient and very friendly, without being intrusive. We thoroughly enjoyed a swim in the pool and even some time on sun loungers! The grounds are very relaxing, although some members of our party spent much of their time on the tennis court! Altogether a memorable stay, which we hope to repeat in the future.
Diana and Robin Rumsam

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RummyTheydonBois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Mr and Mrs Rumsam,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted you both enjoyed your family celebration here at Holbrook and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We recently got married at Holbrook House and have since recommended it to so many people because of how incredible it was.
From first enquiries, through booking, meetings for details, bending over backwards to help when we had to move the wedding forward five months everything was incredible. Jemma the wedding co-ordinatir there is worth her weight in gold, she is absolutely exceptional at what she does and I'll forever be grateful to her for putting up with my 5am frantic emails! (And good luck for your own wedding lovey, it will be spectacular!!)
In the final run up, everything was easy and calm. Staff were very helpful and efficient and the entire place looked beautiful. We had tea and bacon sandwiches brought up to the room while we got ready which was lovely.
Tory came over from the spa to do our make up and was wonderful, even nipping back to reapply lipstick just before the ceremony.
Our guests all commented on how charming and warm Holbrook was, my grandad even dozed off on one of the big squishy sofas!
A lot of our guests stayed the night and we had lots of lovely comments about choosing somewhere so beautiful and friendly and breakfast was exceptional, in fact everything we ate there was flawless.
Will be coming back next year for our anniversary!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMiller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear MrsMiller23,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. All the staff here at Holbrook are delighted that your day was perfect and we all wish you all the best for the future.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I had a love one night stay. As it was our 10th wedding anniversary we were upgraded to a suite (Ninesprings) which was very spacious. The pool and gym area was nice and the steam rom and sauna were fine. If anything needed looking at it would be the showers in the gents changing rooms as they are quite small and wifi is very slow ( less than 1MB speed).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank parkepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear parkepr,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay - the Gents changing rooms have now been refurbished and also the problem we have been having with the Wifi has now been resolved.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The room was.a big room with a lovely view, decor a bit tired and dark, nice touches in the room,bottled water,sweets, good selection on hospitality tray. White robes and towels all had yellow marks on them. Staff all very helpful. The evening meal was a bit disapointing, the pork was tough and I could not eat the crackling. The menu only only offered a choice of a meat or a fish course and only a chocolate or cream dessert.
It was a nice peaceful place to stay and yes we probably would stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank susanrO723LP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear susanr0723LP,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us. I have passed on your comments to the kitchen and hope that the problems have been resolved.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel was sent to me on a list of suggested hotels to stay, enclosed with a wedding invitation. The Bride and Groom had been shown around the hotel as part of their wedding planning and assured that their guests would be welcome, despite the wedding not being held at the venue. Several of the guests including the Bride's mother and the Bridesmaids made a confirmed 2 night booking at Holbrook House some 6 MONTHS before the date they were due to stay. TWO WEEKS before the wedding Holbrook House emailed us all advising that they would be cancelling our booking as another wedding party holding their ceremony in the Hotel required more rooms.
The email contained no words of apology! By this time, our own wedding arrangements had been made and wedding cars, coaches, hairdressers, taxis etc., had been booked to come to the Hotel and the Bride had to spend her last busy days before the wedding frantically finding more accommodation and hastily undoing all the plans.
Despite remonstrating with Holbrook House, none of us received an apology, merely an explanation that the Hotel wasn't obliged to honour the booking! We were offered 1 night but that was just more inconvenient!
This is a warning to anybody who books this hotel not to expect that a booking is a booking. Don't expect that a credit card will secure your room as Holbrook House will cancel you if they get a better offer! I would suggest that you try the Hunters Lodge in Wincanton. It may not have as many or as grand facilities but at least the staff are honourable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
4  Thank vivienne605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Vivienne605,

I am upset to read your comments on Trip Advisor.

It was unfortunate that your booking with us had to be cancelled but we did apologise at the time and you were offered alternative accommodation for the night before the wedding which we had booked. We also offered to provide transport to and from the accommodation to Holbrook for the wedding. We did say that we were able to accommodate you on the night of the wedding but you decided against this. Under the circumstances I feel that your comments are unfair as we did our best to cater to your needs.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wincanton
6.6 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#2 of 2 in Wincanton
288 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
705 reviews
3.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
194 reviews
15.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbrook Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook Manor

Address: Wincanton BA9 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wincanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wincanton
Hotel Class:3 star — Holbrook Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holbrook House is a privately owned Georgian country house with a warm and welcoming atmosphere, set in twenty acres of unspoiled woodland and rolling pastures. Surrounded by the abundant nature, wildlife and sparkling rivers of southwest England, Holbrook lies within easy reach of London and the Midlands. Holbrook, a unique home in the country, is the perfect venue for your next leisurely holiday, romantic break, or special event. AA 3 Star (85%) - 2 AA Rosettes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Holbrook Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbrook Hotel Wincanton
Holbrook Manor Wincanton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing