We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family wedding”
Review of The Bear Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wincanton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bear Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Wincanton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Came for a family wedding in Wincanton and stayed 2 nights - amazing service. Couldn't do enough for us especially as the wedding was on a Sunday and could have been quite difficult to get a taxi back in the evening but couldn't fault the willingness to help with all. Breakfast was excellent and the food in the Restaurant was good quality too with a good choice and fantastic value. The rooms aren't decorated as most up to date but are very comfortable and spacious with lots of storage for all the clutter you seem to need for such an occasion.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caz_crock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

Travelling to attend a Midsummer ball in Wincanton at the Bear Inn, we stopped over. Pre-visit communication was excellent via phone, discussing prices, room choices and food options. Arriving later than hoped Friday night, my son and I were greeted by the friendly staff and shown to our room along the quaint corridor of this Grade II listed historic coaching inn. Full English breakfast was served in the mornings at a time to suit all concerned and offers were made to make a sandwich later if required. Good choice of well priced meals available to eat over the weekend, although on this occasion we did not require any. The en-suite room was homely and snug, with all the essential items included. We are looking forward to visit Wincanton again later in the year, when although we are not stopping at the Bear Inn, we have been warmly welcomed to book breakfast there. An excellent location from which to explore the delights of Somerset and Wiltshire.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madelainetheragdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed one night on our way to a nearby event. The outside of the premises looks run down and shabby but once inside it was perfectly adequate for our needs. The staff were very helpful and locked our expensive bikes away for the night and got them out when the premises was closed to the public.
We had a twin room with en suite. It was clean and comfortable and the shower was good. The corridors were a little creaky but as we were the last to bed and the first up we probably caused more of a problem than it being a bother to us.
We had to leave before breakfast was served and we weren't offered an alternative (or any money off!!) but that was our choice so would hardly say that was a complaint.
It's not The Ritz but if you need to stay in Wincanton then this is centrally located has off-road parking and does a job for the money you pay.
As one reviewer put it could be so much nicer but that would then be reflected in the price no doubt.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 386BobD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I stayed at the Bear for two nights, double en suite for single occupancy. It's an old character building with loads of beams and loads of parking, right in the centre of Wincanton. Staff are great and can't do enough to make you feel welcome. The rooms have recently been done up and look great. Comfy bed and a great nights sleep. It's an old character building with loads of beams. Food is excellent, 16oz steak and chips one night and ham egg and chips the second. Absolutely perfect. And the same chef cooks breakfast to your liking. I asked for an early breakfast at 7.30 and it was no trouble. If, like me you're fed up with the faceless chains, this is refreshing change with interesting and friendly clientele who like a chat. Value for money and I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

My Group consisted of around 40 persons,for a christmas Dinner,the tables laid in perfect christmas array,plates were HOT,food was excellent and plenty of it if you wanted more,Loved it all.
The public bar side was warm and friendly with a gorgeous warm fire,which a certain someone Married to me,decided to be cinderella.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Tired, threadbare, shabby decor
Poor beds, dark dingy (family) room
Unfriendly (almost hostile) breakfast service

Why could it be so much better?
The Bear is a fantastic building, and with a bit of work, could be a superb B&B/pub hotel

The daytime food is almost always good - sometimes excellent
The daytime service is friendly and prompt

If only the same could be said for breakfast

Never again

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ohforfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I eat steak for a living! This was an awesome steak, 16 oz rump, perfectly cooked and great service! A++++ we came from bournemouth cycling and this waste best pub in town! Value for money!!! Hands down...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spoondog440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wincanton hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#2 of 2 in Wincanton
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Wincanton
2.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge Inn
Hunters Lodge Inn
#1 of 7 in Wincanton
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holbrook Manor
Holbrook Manor
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
648 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Willows Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Inn

Address: 12 Market Place, Wincanton BA9 9LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wincanton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wincanton
Price Range: £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
The Bear Hotel Wincanton
The Bear Inn Wincanton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing