We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must visit this lovely hotel, I could not fault it”
Review of Royal Oak Exmoor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Oak Exmoor
Ranked #1 of 2 Winsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You must visit this lovely hotel, I could not fault it”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We found this little gem by accident. The welcome was lovely as are the owners Mark and Sally. The room was very nice, the bed incredible and the food extremely nice. We hated leaving and can't wait to go back. We will DEFINATELY be regulars from now on

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalOakWinsford, Owner at Royal Oak Exmoor, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for taking the trouble to leave a review.

We're pleased you took the wrong turn that led you to us, we enjoyed your company in the evenings and hope to see you again sometime, Mark & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    44
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
32
125
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We loved this place when we stayed here a few years ago, it's Definately not a touch on what it used to be. Carpets in rooms are in need of a clean, staff aren't as friendly and food is expensive and disappointing .

Room Tip: Bring a fan and slippers, or even better stay somewhere else. May suit some but not us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 18Unknown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalOakWinsford, Owner at Royal Oak Exmoor, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We understand that some people might find that being quiet is disappointing but the majority of our guests do enjoy the peace, tranquillity and unspoilt nature of Winsford and Exmoor National Park.

All our team live in the village and don't consider themselves to be any less friendly than they were as they work hard as a team to make every guest's stay as enjoyable as possible, whether they are new visitors or returning guests as most are.

Housekeeping are not sure about the fan and slippers tip, it's been a good July so far, definitely not the weather for slippers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed in this hotel in mid June for the ironman weekend . and what can I say faultless from start too finish and very accommodating

great staff and very welcoming and helpful

the rooms are great and very clean , and with everything you need

as for the restaurant the food was excellent and three very good meals

will def be staying again next year without fail . (well already booked as its that good )

highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalOakWinsford, Manager at Royal Oak Exmoor, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thanks for leaving your review, I'll pass your comments on to the team.

Congratulations to all the competitors who stayed with us for the Ironman Event, everyone successfully completed the course and took home a medal.

We all enjoyed having you with us, it was a great weekend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stratford upon avon
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Thanks Mark and Sally for taking time out from your busy day to make us feel vey welcome at your beautiful inn.
Situated by a mill stream with great walks and scenery to die for, it's an ideal location for exploring this beautiful area.
We would highly recommend choosing this as a base when in the area.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalOakWinsford, Owner at Royal Oak Exmoor, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
We're always pleased when guests take the trouble to post a review as we appreciate they might have busy lives to lead when they get home after staying with us.

Thanks for your positive comments, we always make sure the staff are aware of all feedback as without them behind us we couldn't maintain the high standards we aspire to.

We hope to have you stay with us again, regards, Mark and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorks
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay at the Royal Oak. Only decided on Exmoor a few days before (trying to pick the best location for the good weather !). We booked over the phone direct with the hotel.

On arrival we were greeted by owner Sally and were shown to a lovely clean and spacious room overlooking the village. All rooms are of a good size but we chose the luxury suite well worth the extra. We visited early in the week when the hotel was lovely and quiet.

Food is of an excellent standard, prepared by very good Chefs with plenty of choice on the menu and specials board. As hoped the weather was excellent and we were able to enjoy the odd pre evening meal, pint or two in the beer garden at the rear of the hotel, well deserved after a long walk. The area is a walkers paradise right from the hotel door.

As others have pointed out, Mark and Sally are new owners to the Royal Oak, and we concur they are doing an excellent job (along with a good team supporting them), working hard to build a solid business. A very friendly couple, we very much enjoyed their hospitality and friendly chats in the bar in the evening.

Hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breakaway21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalOakWinsford, Owner at Royal Oak Exmoor, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We'll make sure the team are aware of your feedback as it means a great deal in terms of job satisfaction whilst working the long hours they do to maintain the high standards expected of us.

We hope we'll see you again

Regards, Mark & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Lovely clean room and beautiful location, evening meal average and expensive, with the service a bit to be desired, but the breakfast very good.
Receptionist very friendly all the other staff were average

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalOakWinsford, General Manager at Royal Oak Exmoor, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
We don't have a record of this reviewer staying with us but nevertheless, after recently being awarded a Certificate of Excellence by Trip Advisor for 2014 the staff are disappointed to be described as average.

The Royal Oak team are resolved to maintain the high standards they've been known for over the years and will continue to accord every customer their renowned excellent service whether they stay here or not. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

would just like to say that my wife and i have just spent 5 wonderful day's here at the Royal Oak, partly to see some of the local tourist spots but also was our anniversary for which Mark and Sally, the new owners certainly went out of their way to make enjoyable for us, the staff were friendly and could'nt do enough for you, the food was first class with some great daily specials as well as the first class menu. The room that we had was large and airy, clean and comfortable, what i did like was the fact that we did'nt actually have to reserve a table in the evening for a meal as residents automatically were reserved a table, which was nice as they had a lot of people passing through the village and trying to get a table on the off chance, my wife particularly like the fact that the new owners allowed there two great big fluffy Bernese dogs in the bar during the evening to which you fussed over them, but they were great with all the customers weather they were guests or locals , we would definately be back as well as recommend them to all of our friends. keep up the great work Mark and Sally and say " thanks " to all the staff ... Rob & chris

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robjm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalOakWinsford, General Manager at Royal Oak Exmoor, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for leaving your comments, I'll pass your good wishes and thanks on to our team. Job satisfaction means a lot to all of us. Yes we do automatically reserve tables for all hotel guests for each night of their booked stay but there is no obligation at all implied, it's just in case it's wanted.

We're pleased you chose to share your anniversary with us on your first visit here and that you enjoyed your stay, We hope you'll come back again another time as we like to welcome returning guests in the same way as greeting new ones.

Regards, Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winsford
7.7 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
694 reviews
4.0 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
5.6 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
574 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#1 of 2 in Withypool
148 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tarr Farm Inn
Tarr Farm Inn
#1 of 2 in Tarr Steps
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Exmoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Exmoor

Property: Royal Oak Exmoor
Address: Winsford | Exmoor National Park, Winsford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Winsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Winsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Oak Exmoor 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original Royal Oak Exmoor is set in the beautiful village of Winsford, in the heart of the Exmoor National Park. The Royal Oak offers relaxed comfort, inspiring food and wine, local ales, and warm, exceptional service. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Oak Exmoor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Oak Hotel Winsford
Royal Oak Exmoor Winsford, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing