We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wee place”
Review of The Malthouse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Malthouse B&B
Ranked #3 of 10 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great wee place”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Just back from a weekend break. Stayed here while visiting alton towers. Great room lovely breakfast. Just a few minutes drive to the park. Will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurapoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Glad you enjoyed your wee weekend break with us! Thanks so much for taking the trouble to add your review we really appreciate it. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
69
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rothbury, Northumberland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Very nice warm welcoming, very spacious room, lovely owners, fantastic breakfast overall a great traditional b&b.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james_green13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
A GREAT review thanks! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

lovely warm freindly clean comfortable place to go home from home a good night sleep then got up to a lovely cooked breakfast wot more could any one say or want of a place to go

Room Tip: wot we see of the place i dont think you wouldnt go wrong with any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatty68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thanks for taking the time and trouble to add your review, it's very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is more than likely the nicest B&B you will ever stay in. My husband and I stayed here as a base for Alton Towers and what a perfect choice. It is a 5 minute drive from Alton Towers with 5 local pubs just a few minutes walk away. The staff are so welcoming and kind that you feel like part of the family. This is a family run business with Mum, Dad, Daughter & son in law running it, they have strong family values and it's wonderful admiring the family photos on the wall from present day to generations past. The malthouse is spotless and the building and gardens are fantastic. Most family rooms are in the main house & most double rooms are in the stables complex. This is where are room was & it was lovely Melissa had put the radiator on to warm the room as the weather had turned cold and it was lovely and warm inside. Such lovely touches in the room like the biscuits, coffee, the lovely clean smell and of course the stuffed toy polo the pony. The view was lovely and at night if you leave the blind up on the skylight you can see the stars - what more can you ask for. The breakfast is the best you will ever get - we had the full English that was cooked to perfection not fatty or oily - I didn,t need to eat again until teatime. We had a lovely meal at the Bulls Head (well worth a visit). As you can imagine after such a wonderful stay it's hard to look forward to going home - unless you have 2 wonderful children waiting to see you. We look forward to bringing the children later in the year - we have told them all about the safari themed rooms & the swings in the garden. Thank you to Sandra, Owen, Melissa & Ian who run the Malthouse it is a credit to you for all your hard work.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Wow! We couldn't ask for a better review, it was definately our pleasure to have you staying with us! We really enjoyed chatting to you both and look forward to meeting your children soon. Take care until we see you again. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I would recommend this bnb to everyone :) great service felt like friends more than customers. In a great area with friendly people round. The room was clean and cleaned again after our first night. Walking distance from alton towers which was fantastic not having to pay for parking. If your thinking about going you should :)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aisha92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
A really lovely review, thanks! It's easy to be friendly when your guests are friendly in return! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This establishment is run with military precision by the owner. When you book you receive an information pack and on arrival personally greeted and shown to your room. We stayed in the outbuilding which is the stable I think and the room was spotless....the building and grounds overall are very pleasant and tranquil. The breakfast was excellent with plenty on offer. May I just make an important point in that this establishment superbly caters for dietary needs; I was treated to gluten free sausages, black pudding and fried bread…fantastic!
Close to Alton Towers which was why we stayed here……the village itself is quaint and rural but we were overall a little disappointed with the local village pubs. A couple were closed down during our visit and the remainder I would not class as nice country pubs. We had a meal in one and I sent the food back receiving a refund as it was frankly horrible!
Don’t let this detract from the fact that if you are visiting Alton Towers and want to stay overnight this is a first class B&B!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank South1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
We certainly aim to please and love it when we get it right. Our 2 acre plot does indeed take a lot of maintainance so it's nice to know that you enjoyed the setting. We're pleased to offer a wide choice of breakfast and do our very best to cater for everyone. It appears that the village pubs were a dissapointment and we are sorry about that. There are four pubs in Alton that usually serve meals each evening and on the whole we get pretty good reports from our visitors. During the winter we have the time to 'do the rounds' of the pubs ourselves and have enjoyed each so we hope your experience was not the norm! Hope you come back soon to enjoy another stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In Exile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2011

My partner and I stayed there on 3rd/4th October after visiting Alton Towers, Buxton and Pooles Cavern. I cannot recommend The Malthouse highly enough. We were treated not as paying guests but as friends staying for a couple of nights - the warmth of hospitality was lovely. We stayed in The Stables (Polo was an wonderful companion) and this block has been converted to a very high standard. Our room was spacious and well laid out whilst the wetroom en suite was gorgeous and bigger than our bathroom! HUGE breakfasts (although you can choose a smaller option) and beautifully cooked. The fried bread alone was to die for. :)
Beautiful little breakfast room with many original features - check out the Georgian shutters which have been beautifully restored.
Full marks to The Team at The Malthouse. I'd go again just to stay there and enjoy their wonderful hospitality all over again. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CroyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Polo is indeed a very well behaved pony! Some of our rooms have teddies and some have toy dogs so perhaps you'll meet another member of the team on your next visit. Take care for now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
1.0 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#6 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
374 reviews
6.5 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
1.0 mi away
Splash Landings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malthouse B&B

Property: The Malthouse B&B
Address: Malthouse Road, Alton ST10 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One mile from Alton Towers. Friendly 17th century home located in the village of Alton providing B&B. Comfortable en-suite accommodation with TV, tea/coffee tray, free WiFi access, alarm clock, hairdryer and wall fan. Hearty English, vegetarian, vegan, gluten free and dairy free breakfasts. Private car park free. Double, twin, family, four poster and wheelchair accessible bedrooms. Celebration? Ask for details of flowers, balloons, chocolates etc. 5 Star Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Malthouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing