We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves a Gold medal!”
Review of The Malthouse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Malthouse B&B
Ranked #3 of 10 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Deserves a Gold medal!”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We've just returned from a 2 night stay at this B&B which we used as a base for visiting Alton Towers & Waterworld.
The B&B can not be faulted and it is in an ideal location in the very picturesque village of Alton. The hospitality at the B&B was wonderful and the breakfast was superb.
We will be visiting again when we next arrange a trip to Alton Towers.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
A gold medal award is fantastic thanks! It will be lovely to see you again when you next visit the area. Thank you so much for adding your review, it's very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
73
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 16th n 17th July for Alton towers. Came here the night before to avoid the morning drive down. Only a mile from theme park so excellent location. We had room 6 which was guarded, when we were out by 'lucky' a soft toy :) and that sort of somes up the place friendly, funny and know you got a big day ahead of you with a healthy size breakfast.
Only 1 thing to nag about. I think the tv should be a little lower but that just might be me.
Will definitely be back next year!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaz25ahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thanks for the great review. Glad that Lucky did a good job guarding your room while you were out for the day! Look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I very much enjoyed our second stay at The Malthouse this Easter whilst visiting Alton Towers.
We were both made to feel very welcome and Sandra's very professional yet caring manner meant that we both had an enjoyable and relaxing stay.
On both occasions, our room was spotless and the bed really comfortable and if breakfast hadn't been so great, it would be tempting to lie in. A great nights sleep is guaranteed at the Malthouse.
Breakfast is "the business" and you can choose to fill your boots with a lovely home cooked full English.
I opted for toast most morning which received the same teasing as given by my parents and both Sandra and her cohort were keen to feed me up!
With great humour and friendliness, the staff at The Malthouse will look after you and provide a fab base for visiting Alton Towers.

Thanks for two great holidays and we hope to be visiting soon.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMcDonald201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
We always hope that first time guests will return, so it was lovely to see you come back to stay. Glad to know that your visits were comfortable and that you enjoyed your breakfast so much. We're always keen to ensure that our guests get a good breakfast (be it a belly buster OR a light bite!) to start their day off well. We very much look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Malthouse whilst visiting Alton Towers and what a pleasure it was to have such a friendly, homely base to return to at the end of the day. The rooms were clean, comfortable, warm and well stocked with everything you needed. We had a lovely modern wet room with a good shower which was welcome at the end of a hetic day in Alton Towers! Sandra and her family were very professional and accomodating, our room was checked and beds made over daily, they dried wet clothes for us at the end of the day and served up a fab breakfast every morning - a range of cereal to choose from followed by a lovely full english then toast all served up with tea/coffee and juice. We were made to feel so welcome. The B&B is only about 1 mile from the park and it only took us about 5 - 10 minutes to get there in the mornings. I would highly reccomend The Malthouse, it is full or charm and character much like the lovley family who reside there. Thank you for making a break such a wonderful experience, we will definatly be back :-) xx

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caz2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
A really great review from a super couple! Glad to know how much they enjoyed their stay with us. It was our pleasure to look after them and we look forward to seeing them again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2012

A warm welcome and lovely b&b. Me and my girlfriend stayed here for one night while visiting Alton Towers. Would defiantly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you to this couple for their review. We very much hope to see them again for longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed at this lovely B&B whilst visiting Alton Towers. We stayed in a family room for 5, whilst our friends stayed in a room for 4. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were not only made to feel most welcome but were treated to a fantastic breakfast both mornings. Neither ourselves or our children went hungry or disappointed! Thank you so much - we look forward to our next visit.
The Cookes & The Saunders

Room Tip: The family room for 5 is excellent with a lovely view of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btc70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Clearly these two familes are great friends who were away to have a good time together! Everyone in the party was full of smiles from the moment they arrived. It was a pleasure for us to have such lovely folk to stay with children who were extremely polite and very well behaved. We really hope to see these families again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We have just returned from three nights at The Malthouse as our regular base for a visit to Alton Towers. The Towers vary (this visit was a good one), but the Malthouse doesn't change. Customer service should be at the top of their pile and Sandra and her family never fail. Friendly, yet professional with an eye for detail that many others - frequently charging significantly more - often miss. Here we have spotlessly clean and well maintained accommodation. A modern 'wet room' to shower in and a parting box of chocolates for good behaviour as their guests !! Breakfast alone is worth the trip. I don't eat meat but still had eight separate items as my full English. In addition, available are cereals, porridge, grapefruit and later toast and a choice of preserves. With Alton Towers being just a mile or so away the choice of local short stay accommodation is plentiful and varied. You won't beat The Malthouse though I can virtually guarantee that.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
It was truly a joy to welcome this lovely couple back. Having such pleasant folk staying with us is just wonderful!
Breakfast is an important part of what we do, so knowing that we got it right is really good.
We very much appreciate a couple that have certainly got their plates full (pardon the pun!) taking time to give us such a glowing review. We wish them well and look forward to seeing them again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
1.0 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
13.0 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
8.0 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#6 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malthouse B&B

Property: The Malthouse B&B
Address: Malthouse Road, Alton ST10 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One mile from Alton Towers. Friendly 17th century home located in the village of Alton providing B&B. Comfortable en-suite accommodation with TV, tea/coffee tray, free WiFi access, alarm clock, hairdryer and wall fan. Hearty English, vegetarian, vegan, gluten free and dairy free breakfasts. Private car park free. Double, twin, family, four poster and wheelchair accessible bedrooms. Celebration? Ask for details of flowers, balloons, chocolates etc. 5 Star Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Malthouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing