We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Malthouse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Malthouse B&B
Ranked #4 of 12 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Having just returned from a 3 night stay at the malthouse, i feel the need to write this review particularly to thank the family who run the guesthouse.
Due to a strange set of circumstances my wife and i were "taken in" by sandra and her family on very short notice, however we would not be disappointed, the accomodation is spotless, we stayed in room 5, and had toto the dog to guard the room whenever we were out, from the "bellybuster" breakfast to the genuine interest the family took in your day, we really could'nt fault the place.
The village of alton with its handfull of pubs is a short walk away, and the alton towers theme park is a 10 minute car ride away, although it is also served by buses which run through the village.
A special thank you must also go to melissa, who gave us " a once in a lifetime" only taxi ride to pick up our car.
All in all a wonderful place, with wonderful people and i for one would have no hesitation in recomending the malthouse to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starchild74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
These guys arrived with to stay with us under a very strange set of circumstances indeed! A truly great couple that took everthing that happened to them in their stride with huge smiles. We were sorry that these folk were "stranded" through no fault of their own, a lift to collect their car was the least we could do. Having such happy go lucky folk land on our doorstep was wonderful, we're so glad that they enjoyed their stay with us and very much hope to see them again. PS Toto sends his love x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
67
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

From being greeted in the car park upon arrival, to being served a delicious fresh breakfast - the only thing that was wrong with this stay, was that it wasn't long enough!!
I booked The Malthouse for a night to allow us a bit longer at Alton Towers. Our family room was in 'The Store' (Room 5). A bright spacious room with a wet room. There was double bed and bunks and Toto the cuddly dog to keep an eye on things. Tea, coffee and biscuits were also provided. The bedroom & wet room were spotlessly clean and obviously well cared for. The family who run The Malthouse clearly love what they do and this comes across to guests. Alton is a lovely place and the Malthouse is fab - so glad I researched a bit and chose this over the Towers Hotel. Thank you for a great (if somewhat short) stay! :-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Sorry your stay with us was short, we hope to see you for a longer break next time around! A smashing review from lovely folk, thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed here for one night before going to Alton Towers. The Malthouse is located in the most gorgeous little village, and I recommend a walk through Alton to appreciate it. We had a warm welcome from Ian who gave us plenty of useful information. The house was clean and tidy and the room had everything you need for a warm and comfortable stay. We had dinner in The Bull's Head in the dining room, and the food was fantastic and great value. The breakfast in the Malthouse was also great, just what you need to start the day off. We would stay here again, no doubt.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAStu20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to add such a great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Alton. As you say the village we live in really is beautiful and there are some great pubs that serve very good meals nearby. Hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Well this is our 2nd visit to the Malt House bed n breakfast, and again we were not disappointed.
Great Witty hospitality and extremely clean and tidy rooms and House in general.

This time we had room 4, in the main house and nice spacious clean room, again like before cleaned and tidied every day,

Our Son Brady (7) has not taken off his gold medal since being awarded it for assisting with the "washing up"

Enjoyable stay so much we have re-booked to stay again at the end of August 12, so Sandra Ian & Owen beware - were coming back...
Great stay I would recommend this B&B for anyone whether you are a lone traveller, couple, business executive (Free WiFi) or like us Family holiday this B&B do not single anyone out good value for money. Hence the great ongoing results by other trip advisor users.

See you again at the end of the month, Brian Liann Tomas & Brady

Room Tip: they think of everything, if they haven't tell them and you've got it within a blink The br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
A really lovely family that we were delighted to welcome back and very much look forward to seeing again later in the year! It's a pleasure to have a family with such nice children staying with us, glad the gold 'washing up' medal was enjoyed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed here Saturday 4th August after spending the day at Alton Towers. Ian & Sandra were very welcoming and cannot do enough for you. We stayed in the stables and the room was lovely and homely. Even had a cuddly horse to take care of our room whilst we were out. We went for dinner at the Bulls Head Inn which is a 5 min walk. Would highly recommend. Breakfast at the Malthouse was lovely and the service was excellent. We will definitely come back again soon. Thank you, Adele and Alan from Blackpool

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delly75Blackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Glad these tripadvisor fans enjoyed their stay with us! Good to know how much they enjoyed their breakfast. A lovely couple who we enjoyed chatting to and hope to welcome back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We've just returned from a 2 night stay at this B&B which we used as a base for visiting Alton Towers & Waterworld.
The B&B can not be faulted and it is in an ideal location in the very picturesque village of Alton. The hospitality at the B&B was wonderful and the breakfast was superb.
We will be visiting again when we next arrange a trip to Alton Towers.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
A gold medal award is fantastic thanks! It will be lovely to see you again when you next visit the area. Thank you so much for adding your review, it's very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 16th n 17th July for Alton towers. Came here the night before to avoid the morning drive down. Only a mile from theme park so excellent location. We had room 6 which was guarded, when we were out by 'lucky' a soft toy :) and that sort of somes up the place friendly, funny and know you got a big day ahead of you with a healthy size breakfast.
Only 1 thing to nag about. I think the tv should be a little lower but that just might be me.
Will definitely be back next year!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaz25ahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thanks for the great review. Glad that Lucky did a good job guarding your room while you were out for the day! Look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
1.0 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
1.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
5.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uttoxeter
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Warren B&B
The Warren B&B
#1 of 12 in Alton
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malthouse B&B

Property: The Malthouse B&B
Address: Malthouse Road, Alton ST10 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One mile from Alton Towers. Friendly 17th century home located in the village of Alton providing B&B. Comfortable en-suite accommodation with TV, tea/coffee tray, free WiFi access, alarm clock, hairdryer and wall fan. Hearty English, vegetarian, vegan, gluten free and dairy free breakfasts. Private car park free. Double, twin, family, four poster and wheelchair accessible bedrooms. Celebration? Ask for details of flowers, balloons, chocolates etc. 5 Star Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Malthouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing