We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you”
Review of The Malthouse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Malthouse B&B
Ranked #3 of 10 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Just got back from a 2 day family trip to Alton Towers where we were lucky enough to choose The Malthouse for our stay. Got a great welcome from Ian and the rest of the family, and gave us some great information on the local area. Rooms were very clean and very comfortable beds. Breakfast will set you up for the day, and the service was fantastic. Would definately recommend this B&B in a lovely village. Thanks for having us.

Holmes Family

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

A BIG thank you back to the lovely Holmes family. Thanks for your kind comments and for adding your review. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at the Malthouse for two nights whilst visiting Alton Towers, from the moment we pulled up in the car park we knew it was going to be a wonderful stay. We were shown our room as soon as we got out of the car, we stayed in room 5. The room itself was lovely, spacious very clean and very quiet perfect for when we got back each night shattered from the walking we had done at the park.

The breakfast each morning was delicious, full English fry up with black pudding for me :) went down a dream!!

The grounds were stunning, beautifully kept but still had that look of it being someone's home.

All in all we love our stay, would recommend the malthouse to everyone. Thank you so much and we will most certainly be coming back again Roger and Becky

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger09marshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Glad this couple made our home their home for a while, they were lovely!
A perfect review, thank you. We very much hope to see them again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay at The Malthouse for my husband's 60th birthday! My son and his girlfriend were with us too and we stayed in the Stables. Beautiful rooms and very clean. Ian and Melissa were very friendly and welcoming, couldn't have asked for more. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious and Owen and Sandra were very entertaining. They helped make my husband's birthday very special with a birthday candle on his breakfast plate which was a lovely touch.I would recommend this B & B anyday - in fact I did to a couple we met at Alton Towers on our last day! We are going back in October, thanks for a wonderful weekend, Lynne, Pete, Josh and Angie

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LathamsLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thanks to this family for their recommendation, it's very much appreciated. It was great to have them staying with us to celebrate a BIG Birthday and we can't wait to see them again in the Autumn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here at the weekend for 2 nights when we went to Alton Towers, can I just say what a pleasant stay. The whole family were lovely and really welcoming (and admiring my car parking on arrival haha). The full English on Saturday and Sunday set us both right up for our long days at the Towers, and our room was just right for size (Nasher the pooch in the room was a nice touch haha) for the two of us to make ourselves comfortable despite the fact friday night was very hot! Overall, highly recommended to all and would definitely go back there again. Charlotte and Gavin

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChardyRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

A smashing couple full of fun, it was our pleasure to look after them. Glad the weather was kind but boy was it hot! We really look forward to seeing them again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a two night stay at the malthouse, from start to finish the owners were very pleasant to deal with. We had a lovely welcome upon check in and were shown to our room swiftly. The rooms were very comfortable, we had rooms 6 & 7 in 'the store' they were very quiet and the fan came in very useful on the hot nights! The breakfast is very filing, enough to fill us up for a long day at Alton Towers Live. The location is brilliant for Alton Towers only a three minute drive up the road, we took a stroll around the village and found it very picturesque and welcoming. Overall a very pleasant stay and would recommend and stay again. Thanks again :) Vicky, Trev and Natalie.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vixster89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

What a happy little group these folk were. They had a very busy and tiring but enjoyable weekend. We REALLY hope to see them again soon. Thank you for their recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed here with my daughter for 2 nights, and experienced a very warm welcome by all, the room was a good size for two, with the en-suite facility. Breakfast was delicious. Set both of us up for the busy day at the Towers.

I would definitely book again for any future trips to Alton Towers as this is leterally a few minutes drive from the village to the park entrance, ideal location.

Have already recommended it to my friends and colleagues for any trips they plan to the park.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celticfanGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Recommendations are always appreciated. Lots of our guests come back to stay with us BUT we often get bookings from folk who have been recommended to us by their relations or friends. Glad that our location, room and breakfast was all good. Hope to see them again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Our second stay at the Malthouse, this time we brought friends with us as well. A lovely B&B, comfortable, relaxed and super friendly (even when some of our group managed to activate the fire alarm inadvertently!). The breakfast kept me going long through a day of walking round Alton Towers. Would thoroughly recommend this as somewhere to stay if you are visiting the theme park. We will no doubt be back again soon! Thank you!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funkstar72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

It's always a pleasure to see visitors return to stay with us again particularly when they bring such lovely friends with them. An unexpected test of our fire alarm system was fine, good to know they work even if they are a little loud! We very much hope to see this happy little gang again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
1.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
1 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
13 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
6.5 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
8 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malthouse B&B

Address: Malthouse Road, Alton ST10 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range: £72 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One mile from Alton Towers. Friendly 17th century home located in the village of Alton providing B&B. Comfortable en-suite accommodation with TV, tea/coffee tray, free WiFi access, alarm clock, hairdryer and wall fan. Hearty English, vegetarian, vegan, gluten free and dairy free breakfasts. Private car park free. Double, twin, family, four poster and wheelchair accessible bedrooms. Celebration? Ask for details of flowers, balloons, chocolates etc. 5 Star Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Malthouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing