We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”
Review of The Malthouse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Malthouse B&B
Ranked #3 of 10 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Booked this B&B due to it being only 5 minutes from Alton Towers. Had a lovely room, very refined, heard very little noise, had my own parking space, lovely full English breakfast. Owners are very welcoming and friendly. Can't fault this B&B at all really.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
A great review, thank you. We hope to see this lovely couple again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
69
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A good value BnB. Comfortable enough although not the best beds in the world. Breakfast was really talked up by the landlady and I was left very disappointed. Lots of rules posted around the place which made me feel like I was being treated like a child. Very old fashioned place and probably exactly what is expected of a country BnB by a foreign tourist but severely lacking for a seasoned traveller. I would have expected a lounge to relax in and take in the TV not have to stay out until it was bed time. Take some advice and spend a little money on the place then increase the charges. The place would still be value at another 20 / 30 quid a night plus increase the quality of the breakfast.

Room Tip: All very dated. Take your chances
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank premier1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
It goes without saying that we are sorry this guest did not find us to their liking.
The vast majority of our visitors tell us they have been delighted with their stay.
Our website gives full information regarding the facilities we offer, so we can only hope that prospective guests will check we meet their requirements before making a reservation.
Many guests return year after year and also recommend us to their family and friends, so we believe we suit the vast majority of people and certainly do our very best to cater for everyone's needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My husband and I have just spent 5 days at The Malthouse B&B and the family who run the house are the most friendliest and helpful people we have meet. The room we were staying in was cleaned everyday, clean towels and the bed was made everyday too. The family are really down to earth and had lots of information about the area. The cooked breakfasts were always hot, plenty to eat and if you wanted to have something different there are plenty of different options. I would def recommend stay here. The house is not that far from Alton Towers 5 mins by car but if you don't want to drive there is a bus that takes you there for a couple of pounds.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owen71to03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
A lovely review from a super couple that we hope to see again. They spent sometime checking out local tourist attractions but also a bit of time just chilling and resting. Perfect guests - extremely pleasant, thoughtful and great to chat to. The card and gifts they left us at the end of their stay were really appreciated and of course their kind review is great too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I have stayed at The Malthouse on 2 occasions now, both after visits to Alton Towers and I am never disappointed!!
After a long day at the park, we were greeted with a very warm welcome from the owners. The location is perfect, the rooms are clean, tidy and well equipped for your stay, with lots of personal and homely touches too.
Breakfast is top notch and if im honest, one of the best fry ups we have ever had!
The value for money and service provided is great! We will be returning for a 3rd time next year!
ps - the beds are SO comfortable!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
We just love to welcome guests back for another stay and of course we can't wait until these guys come back for their third visit! As we are a B&B It's REALLY important that our beds are comfy and our breakfasts are great so we're pleased to know we didn't disappoint. It's also good to hear that our guests feel they are getting good value for money. Thanks for a great review, hope to see you again soon. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Knew from the minute I booked this B&B I wouldn't be disappointed! When I rang to enquire about availability, the lady taking bookings couldn't have been more friendly, or helpful! Me and my daughter stayed for 1 night (6th sept) while visiting Alton Towers. After arriving at 6.30(after a VERY wet) day at the park, we were shown to our room. (Looking like 2 drowned rats). It was warm,cosy,and equipped with everything you could need. Even an iron and ironing board! We stayed in room 1, which had lovely views of the country! Breakfast was PERFECT!!! Set us up great for another long day at the park. I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
It was fantastic to have such a lovely Mum and Daughter stay with us. We're glad they enjoyed the views, breakfast, facilities and of course their visit to Alton Towers. Hopefully we will see them again and will cross our fingers for better weather next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed in this B&B when visiting Alton Towers. It is run by one family who were all actively involved with the B&B and guests. Breakfast was fantastic and very flexible.

I would def recommend staying here with your family , it is clean, friendly, flexible and 5 mins from Alton Towers.

Ps - get the bus ....no parking problems and you get dropped off and picked up right at park entrance....fab !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GForce72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thanks to this family for adding their review. Recommendations are always appreciated! We're glad they enjoyed their stay with us and hope to welcome them back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stumbled across the Malthouse B&B for last minute accommodation for a 2 day trip to Alton Towers for our son’s 11th birthday treat (2 adults & 2 children aged 11 & 8). I booked by telephone (although online booking is available) as I wanted to be sure the bed listed as available online was still available. Spoke to a very friendly lady who was totally un-pushy about the booking and asked if I needed more time then to have a think and call back later. I made a judgement call there and then and booked the room. So glad we did. The B&B itself is immaculate, well presented and clean throughout with wonderfully established gardens and clean surroundings. I’d mentioned on the phone about my son’s birthday and in our room upon arrival was a birthday card personally addressed to him, signed by all the staff and a small but gratefully received gift. It really did make the start of the experience and it’s the small touches like this that mean the most. The bedroom we stayed in was perfectly presented, clean, fresh and everything & more that you’d expect.

We ate in the White Hart pub in the evening and found it to be very competitively priced and very good value for money. The meals at the White Hart were ~£5.50 each and I would have expected to have paid over £10 for what was served. Really good food and half what you’d expect to pay elsewhere. Thoroughly recommend the White Hart for food and drink, and the owners were extremely pleasant too.

The staff at The Malthouse B&B were just so pleasant & friendly throughout our stay and the breakfast was perfect, if not the best part of all. Perfectly cooked, expertly served, top quality food - almost everything you could imagine was offered/available and we didn’t eat again until we got home later that night some 11 hours later. Thank you for being part of our mini holiday, it really was a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHodgesFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to add your review. We're really glad you enjoyed your 'mini holiday' with us, it was our pleasure to look after such a happy family and be part of a birthday celebration. Breakfast is really important to us, so it's good to know that it was good and kept your family going for so long! We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking. It would be great to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
1.0 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
1.0 mi away
Splash Landings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
8.0 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#6 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
375 reviews
6.5 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malthouse B&B

Property: The Malthouse B&B
Address: Malthouse Road, Alton ST10 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One mile from Alton Towers. Friendly 17th century home located in the village of Alton providing B&B. Comfortable en-suite accommodation with TV, tea/coffee tray, free WiFi access, alarm clock, hairdryer and wall fan. Hearty English, vegetarian, vegan, gluten free and dairy free breakfasts. Private car park free. Double, twin, family, four poster and wheelchair accessible bedrooms. Celebration? Ask for details of flowers, balloons, chocolates etc. 5 Star Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Malthouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing