We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Sunday lunch visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramblers Retreat

Ramblers Retreat
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Alton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$19
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Ramblers Retreat is an award winning country tearoom nestled in the Dimmingsdale, part of the beautiful Churnet Valley in Staffordshire. Our menu is homemade using only the best ingredients, many of which are sourced from local suppliers in the Staffordshire Moorlands. And as well as a delicious meal you can also enjoy the beauty and tranquillity of Dimmingsdale, this spectacular valley by following one of the established woodland walks. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Cheadle, staffs United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday lunch visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We sat outside in a lovely gazebo even though it was busy our food was served piping hot and we didn't have to wait long at all. The food was all fresh and homemade. my husband had the steak and ale pie served with 4 veg and 'proper' chips and I had the vegetarian lasagne served with new potatoes and a side salad again delicious. For dessert I had the legendary lemon meringue and double cream ,hubby homemade choc gatuex and ice cream. The portion sizes are fair and the food of high quality and not at all over priced. The staff are very helpful and one young lady in particular was very smiley she was even drying people's seats off as it was spitting with rain, keep up all your hard work ramblers you are a delight

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sazs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramblers480, Owner at Ramblers Retreat, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Ramblers Retreat. We really appreciate your lovely comments and I shall share them with the team. As a family run business we try extraordinarily hard to make sure everyone enjoys their visit, so your comments mean a lot to us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Helen, Gary, Margaret and The Ramblers Retreat Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    72
    24
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Suprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Whilst out walking around Alton & Dimmingsdale I stumbled upon this eatery. The pot of tea was a very nice cuppa and I had a lovely cream scone. I shall come back here and perhaps have a main meal. We sat outside with the dog and it was raining but all the tables were covered with large parasols so we were kept dry and all the seats were dry. There were even little cabins to sit in. The seating area was very pretty and this is set in a beautiful location. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helbo_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramblers480, Guest Relations Manager at Ramblers Retreat, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Ramblers Retreat. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards
Gary, Margaret, Helen and The Ramblers Retreat Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Homecooked Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

After reading the reviews, we thought we'd visit after a trip to Alton Towers.

Definitely recommended, very relaxed and cosy setting. Excellent service, and not overpriced.

As for the food, nothing too fancy. Just good honest food, great ingredients, rich in flavour with an attention to detail to enhance the flavours.

The dishes we had were clearly freshly made on the premises, there's no way pre-prepared food can taste that good.

The daily special pie was incredible, large tender chunks of steak, packed in with mushrooms and carrots, oozing with meaty flavours and ale based stock.

Shame we live so far away, but next time we're in the area, we will certainly re-visit.

Helpful?
Thank GaryMK1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramblers480, Guest Relations Manager at Ramblers Retreat, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Ramblers Retreat. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards

Helen, Gary, Margaret and The Ramblers Retreat Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Got to have something to eat to qualify for a pint!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Had a romantic walk around Dimmingsdale last Sunday on an absolutely beautifully sunny day. On the walk back to the car we thought we would have a quick pint in the pretty looking outdoor seating area before heading off home as we were both extremely thirsty from the heat and the walk. We were told after queuing for nearly 20 minutes that I would not be allowed to have an alcoholic beverage unless I had something to eat. (No signs anywhere explaining this, we walked around afterwards to check) I didn't have an appetite as it was so hot. I just wanted a quick pint to wet my whistle. The amount of people they must turn away because of this. Fair enough big groups of lads may be a problem for a picturesque place like this, but its not somewhere you'd get a group like that coming to. The drinks menu wasn't cheap either. Seems to me all they care about is making as much money as possible out of visitors.
Cannot comment on the quality of food, the indoor eating area was very busy, so was the outdoor. The outdoor area was like a cafeteria style run kitchen where you had to collect your own food from the kitchen window on trays, I didn't like that and the 'service' was unbelievably slow. My lady enjoyed her toffee ice cream. A real annoying and pointless experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wecontrolthesunlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We arrived 7 of us for morning coffee and we were made to feel so welcome, we decided that we would come back for lunch, so off we trotted and came back to the same table for lunch. Both experiences were wonderful and the staff were amazing. Highly recommended. Thank you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramblers480, Guest Relations Manager at Ramblers Retreat, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Ramblers Retreat. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kind Regards

Helen, Gary, Margaret and The Ramblers Retreat Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ramblers Retreat also viewed

 
Alton, Staffordshire
 

Been to Ramblers Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing