We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great choice”
Review of Blacksmiths Arms

Blacksmiths Arms
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Alton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a great choice”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Every time we've eaten here we haven't been disappointed x slight blip the last time though when the waiter added the previous diners bill onto ours :( though they knocked off the extra meals charged to us I was too tired to notice we were also charged for extra drinks :((

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nickyfromwigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    59
    24
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Pleasing relaxed meal”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely laid back meal of real quality.
Relaxed service.
Nice pleasant surroundings.
Not fine dining but good honest quality food served piping hot.

Recommended for a lazy lunch.

The POTbread is a must...awesome

Helpful?
Thank WarbiefromBURY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtonmore
1 review
“Wonderful place, people and value”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Hi
We are family of 5 and 1 dog who took last minute decision to go to Alton Towers, we were lucky enough to stumble across the Blacksmiths Arms. We had lunch then also dinner then also stayed in their newly renovated bed rooms...all was very good and all was excellent value. Very welcoming and we feel lucky we found this place within 5 mins of Alton Towers, a way better experience than staying in a large chair establishment, would recommend to any and all.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dougie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Traditional food cooked well!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Visited the blacksmith for dinner whilst staying in the village on recommendation from one of the local pub owners.

Staff were welcoming and we ewe seated quickly. The menu was varied and they are great with kids. Food was nice served piping hot with good portions. Nice extra is the home made clay bread.

Would visit again if I was in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Purplewisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Never fails to impress....”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Early doors up at The Blacksmith's lovely food...Joe as helpful as ever and Denis and Janet always seem to have a smile on their face for some reason....
Food up to expectation and the puddings were too good to say no to...
Very enjoyable evening....

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy4601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blacksmiths Arms also viewed

Alton, Staffordshire
Alton, Staffordshire
 
Alton, Staffordshire
 
Denstone, Staffordshire
 

Been to Blacksmiths Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing