We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family mini break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Splash Landings Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great family mini break”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here in February with two children under 3, had a room in splash landings hotel with one double and a bunk bed.

Room was spacious and clean, with little touches like fun soaps and activity packs for kids.

Was a little noisy at night with other guests in corridor, but no more than any other family hotel- that's just the manners of some people.

The weekend we were there the was a mushi monster disco which kids loved.

Ate dinner in emporium grill at alton towers hotel which I would recommend. Al a carte at fine standard but worked out cheaper than buffet at splash landings.

Would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Katharine L,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay at Splash Landings Hotel and enjoyed the additional Moshi Monsters entertainment over February Half Term. We're also pleased to hear you recommend Emperor's Grill to our other guests, which offers Premium Quality Steak alongside other options.

We thank you for visiting, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    823
    488
    237
    146
See reviews for
1,478
257
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were in a big group (23 of us) children ranged from 5-14. Convenient location right next to the park and a benefit to get the early ride hour. It was a great place to stay for the younger children but when we go back next year I would stay at the Alton Towers Hotel (my children 9 and 11) we went to The Alton Towers Hotel for dinner and we much preferred it. The Splash Landings hotel is very bright, noisy and hot! The childrens entertainer was a hit with the children aged 6 and under. As the water park is there it did feel like you were walking into a swimming pool at the hotel reception with a definite smell of chlorine. We had a fabulous time and will definitely go back next year (some of us will stay in Splash Landings Hotel and some The Alton Towers Hotel as they are joined by a convenient corridor). We stayed for 2 nights and the breakfast at The Splash Landings was superb, a wide range of choice and the food was delicious. The hotel staff were really helpful and chatty. The rooms were ok, nothing special, nice touches of the kids bubbles in the bathroom. The bar needs to restock its shelves though as they had run out of many drinks, the cocktail bar had run out of Tequilla, Pina Colada and Tia Maria! We were served our cocktail drinks in wine glasses as they had run out of cocktail glasses! It wasn't a huge issue and the staff were extremely apologetic so we didn't make a fuss but not what you would expect from a good hotel bar. A great break away as we didn't pay the full price (we paid half the normal cost as managed to get the 50% deal) I wouldn't pay the full price to stay here as, in my opinion, it wouldn't be worth the money but on a deal, its a brilliant and very convenient place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room was 1345 which over looked the outdoor swmming area which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear iceagelondon,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay at Splash Landings Hotel, and found it a great place to stay with younger children.

Our Resort is a perfect location for family breaks, and it's good to hear you enjoyed our food options enjoying Secret Garden Restaurant and our breakfast selection; and enjoying our entertainment in our hotels.

We're sorry to hear your experience at the bar, and we'll pass this onto the team to ensure adequate stock levels for our guests.

We thank you for visiting, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We visited splash landings hotel over the easter break,staying midweek ,over night.
We were 4 adults and 3 kids aged 5,6,13 sharing 2 family rooms,our room had a double bed and bunk beds,rooms were not the biggest but for the amount of time spent in them was fine ,our bathroom was clean and well maintained with plenty of fresh towels.our room had a large flat screen TV ,hair dryer,iron and ironing board,coffee and tea making facilities and drawers for storage.I liked the nautical seaside theme to the room and rest of the hotel,clearly designed for the younger customers!it fitted in well with the adjoining water park ....even the carpets had a fun seaside design!
We ate in the buffet restaraunt,which again had fun decor but was a little small for the number of guests,we struggled at out table for 6 and had to move as there was not enough space.there was agood food choice for both adults and kids ,wouldent say it was the best ive every had but I certainly dident go hungry,the kids partially enjoyed the ice cream and chocolate fountain.my friends had also arranged for their son to have a birthday cake and staff brought the cake to the table and along with the guests sang happy birthday to him which was a really nice touch.
After dinner we sat in the bar area,there was entertainment for the kids that kept our small people occupied and plenty of seating for the grown ups.
I certainly think staying over night made the whole Alton towers experience much more fun and all in our party enjoyed their stay ,I would certainly stay here again with friends and kids .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nic230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear nic230,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay at Splash Landings Hotel. We're delighted to hear you found staying over made the whole Alton Towers experience much more fun for your party.

It's good to hear you enjoyed Flambo's Restaurant and enjoyed the selection of food we have available - the chocolate fountain is a particular favourite! We're pleased our staff helped enjoy your evening meal, and sang happy birthday to your child; plus our entertainment up in Ma Garita's Bar.

We thank you for visiting, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Myself and my partner have been to Alton Towers each year for the past 3 years with the sun newspaper deal of 2 free tickets. (its become a sort of tradition now) and with that we received 50% of the hotel.

This was our first year staying here as we normally stay in a B and B not to far from the park. When booking unfortunatly the Alton Towers Hotel had no rooms available so we went for the Splash Landings Hotel, now i was quite concerned as a couple staying here as i had read some bad reviews on here and was also aware it was very child orientated. However we had a fab time!!! the room was clean and tidy ( my partner is over 6 foot and the bed was a little smaller than we are used to but it was fine).

We took a walk over to the Alton Towers Hotel to see what we were missing out on, and to be honest it was quiet and not many people around, and walking back to the splash landings hotel the atmosphere was totally different! funky music playing the people seemed more laid back.

id read some bad reviews on here about the buffett style restaurant in the splash Landings Hotel, so the 1st night we took a drive out, however we decided to take a chance and eat there on the second night and i have to say it was great!!! all the food i ate was lovely and there was a great selection! the breakfast was also perfect!

its safe to stay we will be staying in the splash Landings hotel every year we go!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Nicola G,

Thank you for your 5 star review on Trip Advisor!

We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your first stay at Splash Landings hotel, and taking the opportunity to upgrade to us instead of staying at a B&B.

Both our Splash Landings and Alton Towers Hotels offer various entertainment and atmosphere, with Alton Towers Hotel being our more relaxed and adult approach, whereas Splash Landings is for those who wish to soak up the party atmosphere - we're pleased you enjoyed this!

Thank you for mentioning our Flambo's restaurant, we do have a dedicated chef team to create and deliver our food options, and we're happy to hear your delight here.

We thank you for staying on Resort, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Never felt the need to write a review before but my experiance at this resort was magic, cheesy but true

I have many to Alton towers many times and always thought it was the best for rides. But now I'm married with a son so we thought we would try the splash landing hotel.

It's perfectly sat next to the monorail to the park. Great parking. Upon entering we were warmly greeted by a big raccoon (entertainer in costume), who was very good. You could tell he/she does this often rather than some staff member dragged into costume.

My 2yr son was nervous at first but the raccoon within seconds had my son laughing and giggling.

We checked in and had our bags kindly taken to our rooms.

Entering the room, we found some lovely big balloons, a birthday certificate and some sweets as we were staying for my sons birthday. Such a nice treat.

The room is very nice, all nicely decorated to go with the hotel theme. The hotel was always warm that made you feel you were actually aboard. It's the only time in 30 years I have stayed any where in England that actually made me feel I was indeed some where nice and sunny rather then here.

Every member of staff I met was very friendly,helpful and felt they enjoyed there jobs. Let's be honest most places you go to staff have a grim look on there face but here was smiles,chatty and very good with kids.

Restaurant was good, plenty of choice, again nicely decorated with the hotel. Breakfast was even better. Good quality food rather than cheap sausages.

The water park was a lot of fun. Plenty of bits going on to keep my son entertained and I loved it myself.

This will be the place we go to for my sons birthdays from now. Seeing his face was amazing. So many times he was going "wow". Couldn't thank the staff any more.

I've been to the Maldives, and other such luxuries costing me a lot but for a magic experiance this has it. Can't fault it. Only time have I left some where here having that depression feeling. If I could have booked the following day off work I would have stayed another night.

You will have a lot of fun!

I'll end it here by simply saying.. Thank you !

Adam Llewellyn

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Adam L,

Thank you for your 5 star review on Trip Advisor!

We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Splash Landings - so much so that you wished to review us!

We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our children's entertainment at the hotel - Ringo is very popular with children and we're pleased your son enjoyed meeting him! We're glad you enjoyed the extras provided for your son's birthday too.

We do take great pride in our staff being friendly and helpful, thank you for mentioning them in your review. We thank you for visiting us again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lurgan, Co Armagh
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

just back from staying in this hotel , after reading some what not great reviews i didnt know what to expect, on arrival receptionist very nice helpfull explained everything, and our room was even ready when we arrived at 1pm. our room had a double bed and a set of bunk beds, it was only myself and my husband, plenty of towels and little shower gels. our room was tidied on the second day although no more towels left, but we didnt need them

we went to the theme park on a 2 day pass the mono rail takes you right into it, guest get early entry in from 9-10am although only 3 rides opened , the smiler is not one of them and this was the ride with the biggest que times, other rides had at the most a 10min which was great, the park itself was brilliant we managed to get on everything and some things 4 times . we didnt use the water park as it was more catered for the younger ones

we ate in 2 restaurants flambos which was good but pricey, the secret garden was lovely and the staff couldnt do enough in it

the staff throughout our entire stay were very friendly couldnt say a bad word about any of them. would def go back , good entertainment at night also although you be that busy throughout the day you just want your bed

Room Tip: stay off season as the que for the rides would be hours long when school are off , the smiler has th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noleen46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear noleen46,

Thank you for your 5 star review on Trip Advisor!

We're delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us at Splash Landings Hotel.

We're pleased to hear our staff were very helpful and attentive for you, we do take great pride in our staff, so thank you for mentioning this in your review.

By staying as a Resort guest and purchasing your tickets as part of your hotel stay you do gain access to Early Ride Time which is available from 9am every day throughout the season excluding Scarefest, Fireworks and February Half Term. Our current line-up includes Nemesis and Oblivion as our thrill attractions, plus many more to tickle all ages. Our line-up is available on our website.

We do provide superb entertainment in both our hotels, with plenty to do for children at Splash Landings Hotel and our singers are available in Alton Towers Hotel if you'd rather a more relaxing evening with us, however we do agree that sometimes you do wish to go to bed early ready for your next day with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Went on a 2 night break taking our 15 year old grandson and his mate. The hotel rooms were good, and the place was clean and well appointed, the water park was brilliant. The hotel is next to the monorail. Checked in early and went to the park.
Returned to the hotel and the lads went to the water park. We had a look round for some to eating places. Pasta was out for one of the lads so it was a ridiculous price for a mediocre buffet ( £20/£15), the upper sandwich bar had shut. This only left the 2 up market ones in the main hotel.We would have to book, lads in pool, so when they came only 9.00pm was available, a lot of complaining families. £55.00 including tip for 2 average burgers and 2 small plain ones - a rip off.Main show area was small and people were coming from the pool with the kids,and there was no seating available. There was also little for the 13 - 17 age group to do. A small amusement arcade, and the lads said several of the machines were u/s.
By stopping at the hotel we were promised that we would get into the park an hour earlier, this is true, but everyone presumes that the 'park' ie. rides are open. on arrival the paths were blocked by staff except for the path up to Oblivion. ths was open as was Air, and a few smaller attractions, so don't go expecting all the amenities to be open for you.
Eat late in the park, and get a sandwich or something for later rather than the hassle in the hotel. The park was great and we all enjoyed the 2 days, this and the hotel rooms etc gives the break a 3 rating. We would recommend looking for a ticket deal, and if a couple of hours drive, do it daily, even with the car park charge it's a better deal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Steve R,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay at Splash Landings Hotel. It's good to hear you found our hotel clean and found our Waterpark brilliant.

Upon check-in we do advise guests to pre-book their evening meals with us to avoid disappointment as they are busy at certain times in the evening, you can pre-book your table before you arrive by using the online reservation system also. We'd like to point out that tipping is completely optional and we make no suggestions as to whether you should tip or any recommended tipping.

We do offer Early Ride Time for our hotel guests who pre-book as part of their package, which allows entry to the theme park from 9am. This includes selected rides and attractions and these are listed either on our website, and both information boards at the hotels. Currently, when you purchase your theme park tickets with your hotel booking, you gain 2 days for the price of one including Early Ride Time on both days to allow great value. Our hotels come with free parking.

We thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
13.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
1.8 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
12.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
8.8 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splash Landings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Landings Hotel

Property: Splash Landings Hotel
Address: Alton Towers, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a bright and tropical taste of the Caribbean, the sun shines every day in this crazy Caribbean themed hotel! After a busy day relax in Ma Garrita’s bar, with superb views overlooking the Waterpark and fabulous entertainment into the evening. Splash Landings Hotel offers the perfect Caribbean getaway without stepping onto a plane!All guests will be left with that "Caribbean feeling", and a 'must do' for your stay is a visit to our fantastic tropical Waterpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Splash Landings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Landings Alton
Splash Landing Hotel
Hotel Splash Landings
Hotel Landing Splash
Splash Landings Hotel Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing