We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Splash Landings Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
White Hart Hotel(Uttoxeter)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,561)
Filter reviews
2,561 results
Traveller rating
671
885
558
278
169
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
671
885
558
278
169
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater parksplash landingstheme parkalton towers hotelbunk bedsbeachcomber roomper adultthe secret gardenchocolate fountainice age roomevening buffetgreat funflambos restaurantfamily roomhotel guestsmy sonan all you can eat buffet
Filter
Updating list...
1,430 - 1,435 of 2,561 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel has nice seaside theming and the rooms are cute but tiny. The small double bed was very old and had springs sticking out of the mattress. The curtains were stained and dirt was very visable on the lighter areas.
There was a strange design to the bunk beds, with a piece of wood sticking out at around knee level from the bottom bunk. This is an absurd design for such a tiny room as it makes it very difficult to get past without bumping into it - very annoying.
The room was relatively clean, apart from the curtains but in the bathroom the shower curtain was stained and the wall was marked.
The whole hotel needs rerfurbishing. It looks like nothing has been done to it since it opened.
The wear and tear was evident in the bar area too, with really filthy chair seats and grubby walls.
On the plus side, all the staff we met were friendly and helpful, particularly in Flambos.
Yes, it's a theme park and you shouldn't expect too much but it is very expensive for a poor quality hotel.
We wouldn't rush back.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucia2Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Lucia2Uk,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your recent stay at the Splash Landings Hotel. It's great to read that all of the members of staff you encountered were friendly and helpful.

However we're disappointed to read the comments you have made about the room you stayed in during your short break with us and can only apologise for the cleanliness of the room that you experienced. This is not our usual level of service and your feedback will be fully investigated. As you can appreciate with any hotel rooms, they get a lot of use, and we have an ongoing maintenance program to ensure that any issues with rooms are rectified as quickly as possible with minimal guest impact.

If you would like to discuss any aspects of your stay further, please complete the feedback form online at our official website so that a member of our Guest Relations Team can contact you.

We hope to welcome you and your family back to the Resort in the future.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

If this hotel was priced according to how it looks, the quality of food it serves, the standard of its decor etc then there would not be much to grumble about. However, priced as expensively as a five star hotel in a city centre, it certainly does not live up to the price tag.

The decor, while being water themed etc, looks a little tired, shabby in places, with weeds growing out of the roof when you enter. The atmosphere in very warm and humid within, which is fine as it is part of the watermark etc, although the bedrooms do get excessively hot.

The bedrooms, I felt, were underwhelming to say the least. For a £200/night hotel I expect something pretty good really. Some tired looking wooden bunk beds, a rock hard (like an ironing board hard), very small double bed, and carpet with crabs on it was as exciting as it got.

Food in Flambos buffet style restaurant was okay(ish). Nothing wrong with it especially, just expensive for what it was. £20 per head for a budget pub chain style carvery and kids mr whippy machine. As with the hotel itself, if it was half the price it would have been just fine. Breakfast looked like a bit of a free for all, but in fairness the serving staff were very good, welcoming, and quick at getting people seated.

We enjoyed the water park itself. Great kids play area. Bigger waterslide (with rafts) had such a long wait that we only got to go on it once. Again this is something that could be quickly fixed- if you want to ride with your children then there only seemed to be a couple of two person inflatable, rafts so we had to wait much, much longer than people able to ride by themselves. Shame as it is the little ones that struggle to queue as patiently! This is something that was echoed later in the main park Log Flumes, where we queued for over an hour, simply as we had children aged 5 and 7 who required a log with handles. I'm surprised that this js not anticipated and fixed.

To summarise: if you are the type of person that does not mind paying premium prices for accommodation and food, but does expect to get what they pay for, then I would NOT recommend visiting here. We live within an hours drive, and I regret not having driven home and saving the £300 we spent of the nights room and meal. The staff all seemed welcoming and competent but the place itself does really not live up to the price tag

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Barry J,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We pride ourselves on our guests enjoying a memorable and magical day and we're sorry if your visit did not live up to your expectations. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I can assure you that your comments will be discussed in detail with the relevant area managers and, where necessary, any action will be taken.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Currently having a lovely time at this hotel (our 2nd night). The staff have been superb & the rooms have been really clean. We have an adjoining set of rooms so it is great that our 3 kids are close by but we have a room to ourselves. The food in the restaurant has been superb as it had lots of choices so my picky kids were happy and it is an all you can eat buffet which was a bonus. It was a little pricey though. We really love the water park and spent half a day in there today and half a day at Alton Towers. I really recommend this hotel for families.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carniepollock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear carniepollock,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're delighted to hear you're enjoying your time with us in Splash Landings Hotel, and have enjoyed our Waterpark and theme park offering.

We're pleased our Flambo's restaurant has been superb for you, and you've enjoyed your meals with us. We hope you have a great remaining time with us!

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were really looking forward to this & did have a good time, but the hotel isn't great. There's nothing really wrong with it, it just didn't make me want to go back. The rooms are ok, nothing spectacular & the restaurants get booked up very quickly, so if you do book, also book your meals in advance. We ended up going off site as the wait times were too long. Breakfast is buffet style & a bit of a scrum. We had a walk round the other hotel at Alton Towers & it looks much nicer than the Splash Landings. The actual water park is OK, very safe, but pretty long queues for the Master Blaster (45 mins) and the other slides are a bit sedate even for our 6 year old son. And it's not as big as we thought it was going to be. Overall, the hotel & the attraction were just a little under whelming.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else & commute in.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Richard R,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

Our aim is to provide memorable and magical experiences for all our guests, and we're sorry to hear you found our hotel underwhelming. If you have any specifics you'd like to feedback to us to help us to improve, we'd love to hear from you. Please use our online feedback form located on our website when convenient.

We hope to see you at the Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

As a family of 4 we have had a great couple of days at alton towers staying in the splash landings hotel !! The room was nice ,clean and fun we used the water park and found that to be good!! Food was good both breakfast and dinner in the evening . The rides in the park are the best !! Still find obivion and nemises the best rides anyware in the world!!! To sum it wasnt cheap but well worth it!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Julian,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Splash Landings Hotel and Theme Park. It's great that you found the room to be nice and clean and the food to be of an excellent standard both at breakfast and dinner. It's awesome that you class Nemesis and Oblivion to be the best roller coasters in the world!!

Thanks again for your kind comments. We hope to welcome you back to the Resort again soon.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews