We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ingenious fun :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Splash Landings Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ingenious fun :)”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here overnight the room was great the theme was really bright and cheery throughout the hotel ...and wow the splash landings water park was amazing !! Deffinately going back with the kids ! We didn't use the pool as just a 1 night stay before going to alton towers for the day. Value I can't comment on because we went on a sun offer which was great value. Breakfast was inclusive and extremely well staffed everyone was so friendly and helpful. For evening dinner we booked at the alton towers hotels secret garden resturant where the food was delicious I had the chargrilled salmon which was amazing!! There is a walkway from one hotel to the other so you can use both hotels for entertainment. I would deffinately stay again! Only issue is the hotel is very hot inside due to the pool especially when it's sunny.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Jane,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate receiving feedback from all of our guests.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Splash Landings Hotel and had a great time in the Water Park. We are glad that you liked the themeing of the Hotel and enjoyed both your breakfast and evening meal in the restaurant. We hope that you had a fantastic time at the Theme Park too.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    856
    525
    254
    155
See reviews for
1,574
260
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here last weekend for 2 nights (probably the busiest time possible due to half term holidays).
On first impressions the hotel is slightly dated but as a kids orientated themed hotel it was fine. Others have complained about the smell of the pool but I'm not sure what they were expecting to be honest! The hotel surrounds the huge pool!
There are a few eating places. On night one we ate in the international buffet. The restaurant was unbelievably noisy and the food was vastly over priced.
The room for 2 adults and a toddler was quite small but the big big problem was the noise! We may as we'll not have had a door as anyone talking in the corridor sounded like they were in your room! Also when anyone used the toilet in the room above it sounded like they were peeing in a bucket beside your bed!
The other big problem in the room was the beds. I would have to say they were the most uncomfortable beds I have ever had in a hotel. So not much sleep was had!
The second night we ate in the pizza restaurant. Much better priced but you cannot book this
The hotel lays on entertainment for the kids which was a big hit for our wee one
Overall - will we go back? Probably not

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mwpeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor.

At Alton Towers Resort we strive to provide an excellent stay for all of our guests, so we are disappointed to read of your experience. We would like to discuss this further with you if you could please complete the feedback form online at our official website a member of our Guest Relations Team will contact you.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alton hotels

Leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel itself was great for the kids. They loved the pools and water attraction which is very good. The water-park was very organised and felt very safe with lots of lifeguards and staff around. most of the staff were very friendly the notable exception was the lady serving food in the pool side cafe who was having a bad day or needed a trip to charm school.
Breakfast wasn't bad and we ate an evening meal in the main resort hotel and had a lovely meal in the Brasserie. Access to the theme park was good and even though we were there in the school holidays so queues were sometimes long we got on everything we wanted and the children loved the new CBeebies land although the queues there were excessive.
We were there for a bit of a family get together and we had a fantastic time in a large party.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WasterLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that overall you and your family enjoyed your recent stay at the Splash Landings Hotel.

We are glad that you had a brilliant time at the Theme Park and Water Park. It's great to read that the majority of staff you encountered were friendly and helpful but we will be sure to pass your feedback onto the relevant area manager regarding the member of staff in the Original Sandwich & Co food outlet.

We hope to welcome you and your family back to the Resort again soon.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel has nice seaside theming and the rooms are cute but tiny. The small double bed was very old and had springs sticking out of the mattress. The curtains were stained and dirt was very visable on the lighter areas.
There was a strange design to the bunk beds, with a piece of wood sticking out at around knee level from the bottom bunk. This is an absurd design for such a tiny room as it makes it very difficult to get past without bumping into it - very annoying.
The room was relatively clean, apart from the curtains but in the bathroom the shower curtain was stained and the wall was marked.
The whole hotel needs rerfurbishing. It looks like nothing has been done to it since it opened.
The wear and tear was evident in the bar area too, with really filthy chair seats and grubby walls.
On the plus side, all the staff we met were friendly and helpful, particularly in Flambos.
Yes, it's a theme park and you shouldn't expect too much but it is very expensive for a poor quality hotel.
We wouldn't rush back.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia2Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Lucia2Uk,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your recent stay at the Splash Landings Hotel. It's great to read that all of the members of staff you encountered were friendly and helpful.

However we're disappointed to read the comments you have made about the room you stayed in during your short break with us and can only apologise for the cleanliness of the room that you experienced. This is not our usual level of service and your feedback will be fully investigated. As you can appreciate with any hotel rooms, they get a lot of use, and we have an ongoing maintenance program to ensure that any issues with rooms are rectified as quickly as possible with minimal guest impact.

If you would like to discuss any aspects of your stay further, please complete the feedback form online at our official website so that a member of our Guest Relations Team can contact you.

We hope to welcome you and your family back to the Resort in the future.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

If this hotel was priced according to how it looks, the quality of food it serves, the standard of its decor etc then there would not be much to grumble about. However, priced as expensively as a five star hotel in a city centre, it certainly does not live up to the price tag.

The decor, while being water themed etc, looks a little tired, shabby in places, with weeds growing out of the roof when you enter. The atmosphere in very warm and humid within, which is fine as it is part of the watermark etc, although the bedrooms do get excessively hot.

The bedrooms, I felt, were underwhelming to say the least. For a £200/night hotel I expect something pretty good really. Some tired looking wooden bunk beds, a rock hard (like an ironing board hard), very small double bed, and carpet with crabs on it was as exciting as it got.

Food in Flambos buffet style restaurant was okay(ish). Nothing wrong with it especially, just expensive for what it was. £20 per head for a budget pub chain style carvery and kids mr whippy machine. As with the hotel itself, if it was half the price it would have been just fine. Breakfast looked like a bit of a free for all, but in fairness the serving staff were very good, welcoming, and quick at getting people seated.

We enjoyed the water park itself. Great kids play area. Bigger waterslide (with rafts) had such a long wait that we only got to go on it once. Again this is something that could be quickly fixed- if you want to ride with your children then there only seemed to be a couple of two person inflatable, rafts so we had to wait much, much longer than people able to ride by themselves. Shame as it is the little ones that struggle to queue as patiently! This is something that was echoed later in the main park Log Flumes, where we queued for over an hour, simply as we had children aged 5 and 7 who required a log with handles. I'm surprised that this js not anticipated and fixed.

To summarise: if you are the type of person that does not mind paying premium prices for accommodation and food, but does expect to get what they pay for, then I would NOT recommend visiting here. We live within an hours drive, and I regret not having driven home and saving the £300 we spent of the nights room and meal. The staff all seemed welcoming and competent but the place itself does really not live up to the price tag

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Barry J,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We pride ourselves on our guests enjoying a memorable and magical day and we're sorry if your visit did not live up to your expectations. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I can assure you that your comments will be discussed in detail with the relevant area managers and, where necessary, any action will be taken.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Currently having a lovely time at this hotel (our 2nd night). The staff have been superb & the rooms have been really clean. We have an adjoining set of rooms so it is great that our 3 kids are close by but we have a room to ourselves. The food in the restaurant has been superb as it had lots of choices so my picky kids were happy and it is an all you can eat buffet which was a bonus. It was a little pricey though. We really love the water park and spent half a day in there today and half a day at Alton Towers. I really recommend this hotel for families.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carniepollock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear carniepollock,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're delighted to hear you're enjoying your time with us in Splash Landings Hotel, and have enjoyed our Waterpark and theme park offering.

We're pleased our Flambo's restaurant has been superb for you, and you've enjoyed your meals with us. We hope you have a great remaining time with us!

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were really looking forward to this & did have a good time, but the hotel isn't great. There's nothing really wrong with it, it just didn't make me want to go back. The rooms are ok, nothing spectacular & the restaurants get booked up very quickly, so if you do book, also book your meals in advance. We ended up going off site as the wait times were too long. Breakfast is buffet style & a bit of a scrum. We had a walk round the other hotel at Alton Towers & it looks much nicer than the Splash Landings. The actual water park is OK, very safe, but pretty long queues for the Master Blaster (45 mins) and the other slides are a bit sedate even for our 6 year old son. And it's not as big as we thought it was going to be. Overall, the hotel & the attraction were just a little under whelming.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else & commute in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Richard R,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

Our aim is to provide memorable and magical experiences for all our guests, and we're sorry to hear you found our hotel underwhelming. If you have any specifics you'd like to feedback to us to help us to improve, we'd love to hear from you. Please use our online feedback form located on our website when convenient.

We hope to see you at the Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
1.8 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
13.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
3.6 mi away
Whiston Hall Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splash Landings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Landings Hotel

Property: Splash Landings Hotel
Address: Alton Towers, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a bright and tropical taste of the Caribbean, the sun shines every day in this crazy Caribbean themed hotel! After a busy day relax in Ma Garrita’s bar, with superb views overlooking the Waterpark and fabulous entertainment into the evening. Splash Landings Hotel offers the perfect Caribbean getaway without stepping onto a plane!All guests will be left with that "Caribbean feeling", and a 'must do' for your stay is a visit to our fantastic tropical Waterpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Splash Landings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Landings Alton
Splash Landing Hotel
Hotel Splash Landings
Hotel Landing Splash
Splash Landings Hotel Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing