We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous time had by all, loved it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Splash Landings Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alton
surrey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous time had by all, loved it.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were initially apprehensive after reading some previous reviews, but unjustly so, There was a really warm welcome at reception and they also allowed us to book in early. The room was really clean and not warn & tattered like we'd feared. Tony who was at reception and around the front of the hotel was really helpful to us and we'd like to mention to this company that he is an asset to your business. Didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening as ate outside. The beds were comfortable, and we rose early on as we had another day in the park to enjoy. We took breakfast in the hotel and enjoyed the buffet style service, everything was being topped up quickly if it ran out. All staff were friendly & helpful. We'd also like to thank the head receptionist for helping us out, what a star!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyKarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear SurreyKarma,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay at the Splash Landings Hotel. We are glad that all the members of staff you encountered were friendly and helpful and we will be sure to pass on your thanks onto the Reception Team. It's great that you found your room to be clean, beds to be comfortable and breakfast to be enjoyable!

Thanks again for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Resort again soon.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    847
    506
    246
    145
See reviews for
1,528
260
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here during half term week for 2 nights. This was not a cheap break so our expectations were fairly high.

We were disappointed from the start. We arrived to be told the earliest time we could eat would be 9pm!! We have a 2 year old and 6 year old so this is way too late for them to eat. We ended up eating in the pizza place which seemed very expensive for what it was. They were very limited for the next day too but did manage to book 5.15pm.

We had to ask for our kettle to be changed as it was filthy. We had to empty the water out from the previous guest and lots of lime scale bits were in the water, there was no filter on the kettle as there should be. They did change the kettle for us. They boys had bunk beds which they loved.r. The duvet however was folded in half so I had to finish making the bed! This is something housekeeping should be doing - obviously a little awkward for them so they leave it for the guests! The room itself was clean.

The bed was the most disappointing thing, after a busy day we were looking forward to a nice sleep, which we didn't get. The bed was small and you could feel every spring not what you would expect when paying this sort of money. The hotel definitely needs to replace beds as this seems to be a common complaint. There is a lot of noise that you hear in you room from the corridors or rooms around you, although you expect a little bit of this when staying in a hotel. The room was dated.

There was only one lift working the whole of the time we were here and in fact one evening the other lift broke too so we had to struggle with the pushchair on the stairs. We saw another family with a child in a wheel chair having to carry it on the stairs.

Breakfast was good, there was a wide selection to choose from. You need to get down early to avoid queuing. We ate in this restaurant one evening and thought there was a very good choice and it was good value. I do not understand why people are moaning about the price. For a 3 course meal the cost for an adult was £19.95 which I thought was good value.

The children enjoyed the entertainment in the bar area.

I would not recommend this hotel if you want a good nights sleep! I suggest the management start to update these rooms and change the beds. I am sure the management will come back with a response that they have a refurbishment programme to make people think they are making changes but for the number of review on here saying similar things I'm sure they aren't doing anything about it at the moment!!

My advice is stay somewhere else where you get better value for money and a good nights sleep!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tourist138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Tourist138,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate receiving feedback from all of our guests.

Due to the detailed nature of your review, and the points raised, we would like to discuss this further with you. If you could please complete the feedback form online at our official website, a member of our Guest Relations Team will be in touch.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alton hotels

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here this weekend for my sons birthday, room was tiny, dated and not worth £225 at all that was with 20% discount for having a merlin pass and no park tickets! Lifts in hotel didn't work all weekend so was a nightmare walking up and down stairs with a 8 year old, 3 year old and a 17 week old baby in a pushchair plus bags and then taking our things to and from room was horrendous and hard work and no staff offered to help until we complained and then were told we could use the service lift at other end if hotel, surely this should have been said before dragging children, pushchairs and Moses basket, steriliser and bags up and down stairs.
Wasn't told when I booked or arrived that you have to book for restaurants as they get really busy! Weren't happy about this as only table we could have was 9.30! How would a 3 year old wait until this time to eat he goes bed at 7.30 and so does baby! We couldn't eat that night, why do they not tell you this when you book or check in? Also weren't told any info about breakfast time or where to go or that you would be waiting in a very big queue for a long time! Staff unhelpful at breakfast time, meant to be a family hotel but no microwave available in restaurant to heat a baby bottle!!! Are you serious? Had to ask staff to do it and were told they not aloud to??? Asked someone else and he did heat it for me! Why can't you just put a microwave in so people can heat baby food it's a family hotel!
Splash pool was good but again very expensive and water was cold but children loved it.
Would not return to this hotel again, very disappointing as had been looking forward to it

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodiet1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Jodiet1985,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to read that your visit to the Splash Landings Hotel did not live up to your expectations. We are aware that you are in discussion with our Guest Relations Team and we hope that they are able to offer an appropriate resolution to your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the future.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Splash Landings for one night. The hotel itself is nice, the staff are friendly and helpful too.
The hotel is really for families and children as everything is centred round families with children's entertainers in the bar.
Flambo's is the all you can buffet and the food was really nice, we would have stayed in there longer and probably eaten more but the noise from the children's entertainer upstairs was reverberating off the walls into the room which was just way too loud for us.
There were also children running up and down the corridors at 10.45pm shouting, not the hotels fault!!

Breakfast was really nice with plenty of choice for you.

You also get two days access to the park which was great
I think if we stay again we will stay at the other hotel. Over all we did have a lovely time, thank you to all the lovely Alton towers staff

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dixie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Dixie2012,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that you and your family had a great time during your recent stay at the Splash Landings Hotel. We are pleased that you found all members of staff to be helpful, enjoyed your evening meal & breakfast in Flambos Restaurant. We will be sure to pass your feedback regarding the entertainment onto the relevant department.

We hope to welcome you back to the Resort again soon.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Having stayed at Splash Landings previously we were very much looking forward to this trip but sadly we were very much disappointed.

The hotel is way overpriced for what you get. A basic, dated room that costs over £200 per night and if you want to go in the water park then tickets were an extra £36 for a family of 3. Pretty sure when we came before the pool area was included.

The bar area was also fairly dated and also grubby and sticky. No idea why but the whole hotel is way too hot. I could understand it being a bit warmer near the pool area but not in the rooms. Maybe if they lowered the heating they could charge less and have no need to provide fans in rooms!

The place is very busy too. We came straight from the theme park and tried to book into the Pizzeria but were told it was a 1 hour 40 wait. No idea why you can’t book a table in the only restaurant that appeals most to kids! You can book the other couple of restaurants. When we did finally get seated the menu choice seemed quite limited compared to other pizza places. Having said that the food was very nice when it came.

Breakfast too wasn’t bad. Self service buffet style with a good selection of foods to suit all tastes.

The location is probably the best selling point but sadly that’s not enough to warrant the high cost so on that note we will definitely be back to Alton Towers and also the water park but not to the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Donnaspud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Donnaspud,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor.

At Alton Towers Resort we strive to provide excellent experience for all of our Hotel Guests so we are disappointed to read of your experience. We would like to discuss this further with you if you could please complete the feedback form online at our official website a member of our Guest Relations Team will be in touch.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We visited Alton Towers for a 1 night stay with 2 days access to the Park.
The purpose of our visit was to take our 3 year old to visit Cbeebies land which I have to say is brilliant and so well thought out. The only downside is the wait times but its a busy park and Cbeebies land is new so nothing that can be changed there. There are however things to keep the children entertained whilst in the queue. Justin's House is very good once you get in there but beware it's extremely noisy whilst you are waiting to get in. If your children can stick with it they (and you) will have great fun. Mr Blooms nursery is by far the best area in Cbeebies. Really good fun with excellent staff and very interactive for the children.
Splash Landings is excellent for the children and they really have thought of everything including steps to climb so children can stand at reception with you. We stayed in a beachcomber room which as a base was fine although the beds were not the best. I agree with a comment somebody else made regarding the end of the bunk beds which sticks out too far - I now have several bruises from walking into it a few times! The rooms are looking a little dated but they were clean and well equipped with lovely touches for children. It was a little noisy but no worse than other hotels.
We ate in the buffet restaurant which was nice enough but I feel at £20 per adult it was overpriced.
The evening entertainment was great fun and the entertainment staff did there best to accommodate the younger audience which Cbeebies land has attracted.
We found all of the staff throughout the park and hotel very helpful and child friendly.
Overall we had a brilliant couple of days with some lovely memories and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SA78132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear SA78132,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate receiving feedback from all of our guests.

It's great to read that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay at the Splash Landings Hotel and two days Theme Park access. We are pleased that your 3 year old had a brilliant time in CBeebies Land and especially enjoyed Mr.Bloom's Allotment. We are glad that all of the members of staff that you encountered were friendly and helpful too. We especially enjoyed reading your comment which said that you made some lovely memories, it's our aim for all of our guests to have a magical and memorable stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here overnight the room was great the theme was really bright and cheery throughout the hotel ...and wow the splash landings water park was amazing !! Deffinately going back with the kids ! We didn't use the pool as just a 1 night stay before going to alton towers for the day. Value I can't comment on because we went on a sun offer which was great value. Breakfast was inclusive and extremely well staffed everyone was so friendly and helpful. For evening dinner we booked at the alton towers hotels secret garden resturant where the food was delicious I had the chargrilled salmon which was amazing!! There is a walkway from one hotel to the other so you can use both hotels for entertainment. I would deffinately stay again! Only issue is the hotel is very hot inside due to the pool especially when it's sunny.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Jane,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate receiving feedback from all of our guests.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Splash Landings Hotel and had a great time in the Water Park. We are glad that you liked the themeing of the Hotel and enjoyed both your breakfast and evening meal in the restaurant. We hope that you had a fantastic time at the Theme Park too.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
1.8 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
3.6 mi away
Whiston Hall Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splash Landings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Landings Hotel

Property: Splash Landings Hotel
Address: Alton Towers, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a bright and tropical taste of the Caribbean, the sun shines every day in this crazy Caribbean themed hotel! After a busy day relax in Ma Garrita’s bar, with superb views overlooking the Waterpark and fabulous entertainment into the evening. Splash Landings Hotel offers the perfect Caribbean getaway without stepping onto a plane!All guests will be left with that "Caribbean feeling", and a 'must do' for your stay is a visit to our fantastic tropical Waterpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Splash Landings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Landings Alton
Splash Landing Hotel
Hotel Splash Landings
Hotel Landing Splash
Splash Landings Hotel Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing