We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa's Sleepover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Splash Landings Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here for Santa's Sleepover. Was an amazing experience for the children. The main rides were closed for the season but plenty was left open to keep the children occupied both in the park itself and in the hotel. Also got a free entrance ticket to the water park with our stay which was an experience in itself, would go again just to use the water park. An excellent touch was that they post a letter from Santa under the room door whilst the children are asleep. Drinks in the hotel were ridiculously overpriced but there was no other option. Will be going again this year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren2281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Darren2281,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your Santa Sleepover last year in the Splash Landings Hotel. We are pleased that you had a great time in both the Theme Park and Water Park too, and found the whole experience to be magical for your children.

Santa Sleepovers are available to book for this year at the moment, we would advise booking as soon as possible as they are extremely popular, and key dates, such as Saturday nights do sell our quickly. You can contact our Hotel Reservations Team on 0871 222 11 00.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,488)
There are newer reviews for Splash Landings Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,321 - 1,327 of 2,488 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here before was expecting it to be more run down but I was wrong everything has been kept well and looked in good shape.
The double bed I think needed to be changed which proved for a not so good nights sleep.
Price was reasonable and staff very helpful and smiling face which is all good.
Breakfast was good a decent selection and lots of fruit on offer.
I will return at some point

Room Tip: Get a family room
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edd c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear edd c,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate receiving feedback from all of our guests.

It's great that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Splash Landings Hotel and felt that it offered good value for money. We are pleased that the members of staff you encountered were happy and helpful and you enjoyed your breakfast.

We will ensure that your comments regarding the comfort of your bed is passed onto the relevant department. The Hotel is continuously undergoing a refreshment and refurbishment programme.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

If your taking the kids for a short break to Alton Towers then this is obviously a great place and the kids will love it. It is extremely expensive though for a weekend break. The beds at Splash Landings are the worst I have had the misfortune to come across in a long time, so don't expect to get a good nights sleep. Also I booked two rooms, and in one of them the TV wasn't working, on reporting this to reception they at first blamed it on the world cup ?, and then simply said 'yes we know about it a lot of them aren't working at the moment, the engineers will be coming to take a look'. Not much help if we had actually wanted to watch a world cup match ! So apart from the location and early access to the park the hotel is pretty average. Regarding the early entry, part of our plan was to try and get in the queue early for 'Smiler', which backfired on us somewhat as on arrival at Smiler we were told it didn't open until 10am.

Room Tip: If you want some comfort try the Alton Towers Hotel...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Peter A,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate receiving feedback from all of our guests.

We are pleased to read that overall you and your family enjoyed your recent short break at the Splash Landings Hotel. We are glad that you found the location to be great, and your kids loved it!

However, we are disappointed to read of your experience reporting a problem to our Reception Team. It certainly appears that you didn't receive our usual high standard of customer service, and for that we apologise. We hope that our Maintenance Team were able to resolve your issue.

In regards to Early Ride Time, as you mention The Smiler is not included. The list of rides and attractions which are, including Nemesis & Oblivion is advertised on our official website and at the Hotel Reception, but we're sorry if this information was not relayed back to you. A plus of Early Ride Time is that you can be the first to enter the queue lines for The Smiler when it does open at 10am.

If you would like to discuss any aspects of your stay further, please complete the feedback form online at our official website so that a member of our Guest Services Team can contact you.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We checked into the Splash Landings Hotel after a day at the theme park to find our request for 2 rooms next to, opposite, next door but one etc had been overlooked. The reason for our visit was my son's birthday and with his cousins he was looking forward to his first visit to AT a stay at the themed hotel and to spend the next day at Splash Landings and of course sleepover fun, however, when we checked in and as it was late 6.15pm and most people had already arrived as 2 families staying overnight we found ourselves on different floors. Not happy with this we asked to see the Duty Manager. The Duty Manager (Jo) I have to say was exceptional in dealing with our problem and a resolution was found quickly and to our liking. We decided to dine in Flambos that evening and even though we had booked a table the restaurant was just too busy to deal with turnarounds quickly enough which did mean just a 5 minute wait. The food at dinner and breakfast was fantastic and does make up for the fact that on a weekend it is very busy, but all this aside the staff are polite, professional and can't do enough to help you. The kids received complimentary pick and mix and the next day in Splash Landings my son was given an inflatable ring to ride the slides (without queuing). Overall excellent complaint resolution, well done Splash Landings!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Faye B,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate receiving feedback from all of our guests.

We are pleased to read that you and you family enjoyed your short break at the Splash Landings Hotel to celebrate your sons birthday. Despite the initial problem, we are glad that Jo was able to offer a resolution so that you all had a great experience overall. We will ensure that your comments are passed onto her. It's great that you enjoyed your evening meal and breakfast in Flambos Restaurant and found all members of staff to be helpful and polite.

We loo forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again in the future. Thanks again for your review.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Attached to arguably one of the best indoor waterparks in the UK, this hotel is aimed at the younger guests and has a friendly feel to it, however, if you like a comfortable nights sleep this may not be the best hotel for you. As it is connected to the tropical pool, the whole hotel is hot and humid, with no air conditioning, they do include a fan in the rooms but this just circulates the sticky air around.

At around £200 a night, I would like to have seen more investment into the hotel, parts of the rooms are dirty and in need of refurbishment, the amount of times our children hit their heads on the protruding woodwork was more than enough, and the shower had two temperatures, hot and hotter. Such a huge difference from the hotel it was back in 2005.

The breakfast is nice, cooked well but very busy, they really pack you in tight, again though more attention needs to be made towards keeping the areas clean, we found lipstick on glasses and the coffee machine was disgusting.

So to conclude, a theme which carries itself through the whole resort, cost cutting, shines here at the hotel as well, such a shame to what I used to call 'Mini Disneyland'

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aircanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Aircanman,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased to hear you enjoy your visits to Alton Towers Waterpark, and believe this is one of the best indoor waterparks in the UK.

We are, however, sorry to hear your views from your stays in Splash Landings Hotel. We do appreciate all feedback as this allows us to continually improve our offering here at the Resort. Your comments have been passed onto our teams for review, and if you'd like to talk to us directly we'd be happy to hear from you. Please use our Online Feedback Form located in the 'Contact' section at the top of our website.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed for one night with our two year old son. The staff were very helpful, friendly and attentive and our son enjoyed the waterpark, although it was very disappointing that the outdoor pool was not open for tge full day despite it being a beautiful warm sunny day! The hotel is super convenient for access to the park and it is very child friendly. However, I do agree with the other reviews in that the hotel is tatty and the rooms are in need of a serious makeover! Our room looked relatively clean (although I feel it could have been cleaner) but it felt dirty as it was just so drab and tatty with mold in the bathroom and a shabby bedroom interior and smelt of wet dogs which was lovely! For the price we paid, (I can't recall the exact amount but it was well over £100 for one night) we would have expected a much better standard of accommodation. This hotel is in
serious need of a revamp! Just on a slightly different note, the main reason for us visiting Alton Towers was to take our son to Cbeebies Land. This new land is fairly good. However, the queuing times are a nightmare with young children. It was at least an hour wait for the Iggle Piggle boat ride and about 45 mins for the tree top ride. It's not practical with a two year old and to be honestly it is quite frankly a waste of money! Something needs to be done about this. I wouldn't bother to go back to Alton Towers until our children are a lot older and I wouldn't stay at Splash Landings again unless the bedrooms are improved! I appreciate we visited the park on a Saturday but given the queuing times, I feel it was exceptionally bad value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suncity81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Suncity81,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We thank you for staying at Splash Landings Hotel. We're pleased you found our staff friendly and helpful, and your son enjoyed our Waterpark.

Our hotels are in a beautiful location, with a quick walk to our monorail system to allow easy access to our theme park.

We're sorry to hear you found our outdoor pool opening times unsatisfactory, and found our hotel rooms needing attention. We pride ourselves in offering a fantastic memorable experience for all our guests, and your comments shall be passed on to allow us to continue offering a great experience.

CBeebies Land has been eagerly anticipated for many months now by tens of thousands of families just like yours, and this, together with the amazing feedback we have had from those who have already visited has meant that it has been even busier than we anticipated on certain days - and we are very sorry if this caused disappointment due to the wait times you experienced.

We completely understand that little ones may not enjoy waiting, therefore have made all queue lines interactive, filled with games and puzzles to keep them occupied. We also have Entertainers, such as magicians and performers, and Characters throughout CBeebies Land which can be viewed from the queue lines of many attractions.

We are also currently trialling a Timed Ticketing system for certain attractions to allow our guests to collect a ticket and experience other attractions, watch a show or have lunch whilst awaiting their time for the attraction. Pending on the success of this trial may result in us extending this offering in future.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Took my daughter and grandson as a treat to c beebie land. Great experience for the little ones, however every ride had a 40 min wait and that's on a school day as grandson pre school. 40 mins for children long time it was a hot day and children getting agitated how do you explain that once they've waited it's the same again at the next ride. The hotel was ok but the room was so hot worst nights sleep I've had anywhere with window open fan on it was oppressive and uncomfortable. Restaurant isn't cheap but it's what you expect to pay at these places. Staff were very polite and pleasant. Breakfast ok plenty if choice but we went at 7.30 (due to fact room was to hot to stay in) and it was ok by the time we left they were Queing all the way back, go early if you don't want to wait. Overall it is what it is a children's treat and yes you will
Pay through the nose but plenty to entertain them
Once there.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Kathleen28,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Splash Landings Hotel and found plenty of entertainment available for children.

We take great pride in our staffing at the Resort, and so we're pleased you found them polite and pleasant. We're pleased you enjoyed our breakfast offering too - we do suggest arriving before 8am to experience less of a queue for breakfast.

We're sorry to hear you found your hotel room hot even with a fan and window open. We shall pass your comments onto our team to ensure we continually improve our offering for our guests.

We thank for you visiting, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
1.8 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
13.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
3.6 mi away
Whiston Hall Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splash Landings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Landings Hotel

Address: Alton Towers, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Price Range: £192 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a bright and tropical taste of the Caribbean, the sun shines every day in this crazy Caribbean themed hotel! After a busy day relax in Ma Garrita’s bar, with superb views overlooking the Waterpark and fabulous entertainment into the evening. Splash Landings Hotel offers the perfect Caribbean getaway without stepping onto a plane!All guests will be left with that "Caribbean feeling", and a 'must do' for your stay is a visit to our fantastic tropical Waterpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Splash Landings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Landings Alton
Splash Landing Hotel
Hotel Splash Landings
Hotel Landing Splash
Splash Landings Hotel Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing