We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Splash Landings Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Great place and great time when we stayed. Family of 3 daughter was 3 and she had plenty to do. Staff EXCEPTIONAL cleanliness EXCEPTIONAL. Food was decent theme park and water park very good. Compared to many hotels I've stayed in this is up there with the good ones.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Ric H,

Thank you for your 5 star review on Trip Advisor!

We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in Splash Landings Hotel, and found our staff & cleanliness exceptional.

We're pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, and found us comparing favourably with other hotels that you've stayed in.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon!

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,274 - 1,280 of 2,518 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights when we visited Alton Towers and we really enjoyed our stay.

The family rooms have good space. It was nice and clean and the beds were comfortably.

The restaurants in the hotel serve good food considering that it is family restaurants and the buffet has a high standard. Breakfast is also excellent.

At night there is a childrens disco which seems nice (our children were to young) and other activities for the childrens in the evening.

The lobby area was a blast with a nice aquarium and a little shop if the is anything you need.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hogne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Hogne H,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in the Splash Landings Hotel, and experienced a comfortable nights sleep.

We take great pride in our Resort, and therefore are very pleased to hear you enjoyed all the amenities we have to offer!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Splash Landings 26/07

The queue for check in was long but went down at quite a fast pace. As soon as we left the desk which was around 10am we used the self help computer to book a table. The earliest was 9pm for the Secret Garden restaurant, this was not great as we had two little ones that had to wait until 10pm to get fed (I will explain why it was an hour later)
The room was pleasant and clean. The problem we had was the room
Has no air con so when you have a shower the heat/stuffiness increases, I think with the window opening onto a pool area that is heated does not ventilate the room, we had a fan but this was noisy and didn't cool 4 people. My partner found the bed to be hard and uncomfortable, personally I didn't mind it I always say if you are tired you will sleep but I guess for the price we paid I can see why she was annoyed.

At 9pm we got seated at a quick pace which was great, the kids (we have two) both had a colouring place mat to use, we asked for crayons but they had more children then They had expected so no crayons this time. We waited 25 minutes for 2 cokes, a cocktail and soda water. When this was sent to us we asked for a jug of water (pre empting the second round being equally as slow) we were told they had run out of jugs.

The food arrived an hour later, both adults meals came first after they had been sent to the wrong table, the kiddies meals were missed off the order but I must add they were brought to us within 2 minutes so I think it must have been left on the side as opposed to forgotten.

I was extremely surprised how many hen do's were there, it's not a place I would associate with pre wedding celebrations, the hen's did seem to take up a lot of the waitresses time with cocktails and chatting. This undoubtedly slowed up service. The food piri piri chicken was nice, at £13.95 I would say about right.

I would say all in all as we had so much fun at the theme park it was a good weekend. However if I has only come to stay at splash landings and eat this review would have been worse for sure. I would also add the outside area of the restaurant/hotel was quite nice to walk round after out meal, it had a nice tranquil feel to it.

I have looked at the replies the hotel copy and paste below reviews on here it seems these reviews aren't acted upon and if they are it seems the are designed to help future customers not to compensate the customer who already spent money with the organisation, that always seems to be a shame when the customer feels like they are just a statistic


Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank Bluebriefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Bluebriefs,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we truly appreciate all comments from our guests.

We're sorry to hear your stay did not meet your expectations, and found issues with your meal with us. We would like to discuss your stay with us. Please email Guest.Relations@alton-towers.com and our team will be in contact.

We're sorry to hear you find our responses are copy and paste, as we respond individually and log all comments. We cannot provide further responses through Trip Advisor, and would advise you to email the above address for resolution.

We thank you for staying with us, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

...which is a fantastic place to take the family, I will tell you how we found the hotel - HOT. Terribly hot. We booked a standard 'themed' room, which had a double bed and a bunk bed, and I cannot tell you how uncomfortable we all found it. The room did not have air con, it had an office fan which helped circulate the stiflingly warm air even further.

The waterpark is good, could be cleaner in places but it's good fun. It is almost as if the heat inside the waterpark radiates throughout the rest of the building.

I probably sound like a bit of a grumpy old man by now, but if you plan on taking young children for a few days to Alton Towers, don't stay in this hotel - the lack of sleep due to the night time heat totally ruined what should of been a very enjoyable second day.

The entertainment is okay, the restaurants are fine, but I would not choose to stay here again I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank rootytooty33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear rootytooty33,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your visit to our theme park, and enjoyed our entertainment and restaurant offering in the hotels.

We're sorry to hear you found your stay affected by the heat. Our windows do open both at the top and bottom, and we provide a fan to circulate air, however we shall pass your comments onto our development team for review.

We thank you for staying with us, and look forward to seeing you at the Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed for two nights and didn't get any sleep. The mattress was like a sheet filled with rocks! I have never been in a bed that is not just uncomfortable but actually painful to lie on. I spoke to hotel staff several times but they didn't know what to do.

The room was clean and quiet. We asked for a ground floor end of corridor room. The window opened fully so there was a nice breeze at night. The room had free wifi but they wanted all of your details to use it and there was no opt out of marketing mails, phone calls etc so we didn't use it.

We ate in flambos one evening. Despite being assured by staff that there were plenty of vegetarian options, this was not the case. There was only one main meal, a mixed bean burrito, it was nice but all the other vegetarian options were side orders eg salad, rice, vegetables.

Breakfast in flambos was good but again no vegetarian option, i had to request vegetarian sausages but they never appeared despite me asking staff several times.

The waterpark was fun and the changing rooms were very clean.

We had a fantastic time in the park and were really lucky with the queues. Even though it was the school holidays we didn't have to queue much.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ruggleduggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear ruggleduggle,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we truly appreciate all comments from our guests.

We're pleased you enjoyed visiting our Waterpark, and enjoyed your time in our theme park.

We're sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. We would like to discuss this with you. Please send your feedback to Guest.Relations@alton-towers.com and our team will be in contact.

We thank you for visiting us, and look forward to seeing you at the Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have to say given the money you spend this hotel can not justify the price. I can only imagine that since the hotel was built there has been no additional money spent on the upkeep? Everything seems tired, rooms need painting, there is a musty smell and so on.

Positives, the water park is excellent and the staff are very helpful and the hour you get in the theme park ahead of the opening time is very useful - but does it compensate for the price and the poor standard of the hotel....? In my opinion no.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SteJKramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear SteJKramer,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed visiting our Waterpark, and using your Early Ride Time in our theme park. We take great pride in our Resort, and are pleased you found our staff are very friendly.

We're sorry to hear you found our hotel needs updating. We continually update our offering across the Resort, however we shall pass these comments onto our development team for review.

We thank you for staying with us, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my hubby and 5 year old daughter. Staff could not do enough, water park was good, food was good, found this hotel a really good all rounder!
Evening entertainment was good for the kids and plenty of dancing so all tired ready for bed.
Really enjoyed our 2 day stay at Alton Towers, highly recommended

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Cj_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Cj_Bristol,

Thank you for your 5 star review on Trip Advisor!

We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in the Splash Landings Hotel, and found that our Staff helped make your stay extra special!

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
1.8 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
3.6 mi away
Whiston Hall Hotel and Golf Club
0.3 mi away
Enchanted Village Lodges, Alton Towers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splash Landings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Landings Hotel

Address: Alton Towers, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Price Range: £41 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a bright and tropical taste of the Caribbean, the sun shines every day in this crazy Caribbean themed hotel! After a busy day relax in Ma Garrita’s bar, with superb views overlooking the Waterpark and fabulous entertainment into the evening. Splash Landings Hotel offers the perfect Caribbean getaway without stepping onto a plane!All guests will be left with that "Caribbean feeling", and a 'must do' for your stay is a visit to our fantastic tropical Waterpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Splash Landings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Landings Alton
Splash Landing Hotel
Hotel Splash Landings
Hotel Landing Splash
Splash Landings Hotel Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing