We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated, worn but convenient to attraction” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Splash Landings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Splash Landings Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Alton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dated, worn but convenient to attraction”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked this hotel as we thought it would be nice for the kids to have the full Alton towers experience.
The kids were indeed excited and impressed at the sight of the water park as you can view it from the hotel reception.
However the adults all found the decor dated and worn. The double bed and bunk room we booked was an average size, but pretty small double bed. The bathroom was adequate. It was more than disappointing for the amount you have to pay to stay there (about £200 a night).
We were assigned a room on the ground floor right next to the entrance door to that floor. I should have asked to move at that point, as I was correct in thinking the door would be banging shut all night. We could also hear the loud music from the disco until the late hours.
To be fair we were so worn out from the park we all slept soundly. I would recommend you don't take a room near the main reception end of the hotel though.
The staff were all friendly and it is a lively fun ambience.
There were a number o fuseful things the staff did not inform us of.
-Only hotel guests have access to the pool all day, and therefore here is a slot at midday when only hotel guests are in there, thus making it very quiet.
-There is a family room with microwave facilities on the ground floor.

We ate at two restaurants. The secret garden- very nice in the alton towers hotel, good food selection, and friendly staff.
The pizzeria cove in splash landings was really good, the food was very tasty.

I would defintiely recommend that the alton towers hotel seemed much nicer than the splash landings, but I didn't see in the rooms.

The kids did love it, but I don't think I could stay there again.

Room Tip: not near the reception end, or near any entrance doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ems2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear ems2020,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Splash Landings Hotel, and that your children found our Hotel exciting.

We are a themed Caribbean experience with decor to suit this aspect, and we're sorry you interpreted this as worn.

Our entertainment runs until 10:30pm and beyond then is our party vibes atmosphere until the early hours however you should not hear this from the rooms themselves.

We do have a family room in both hotels, please do ask staff for directions to these facilities.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to seeing you on Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    822
    486
    235
    146
See reviews for
1,471
257
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Staff very friendly and pleasant. Room was very clean although very warm but fans were provided in rooms and with the window open it was ok. Food is pretty basic but there was something for everyone and plenty of it! Hotel is pretty pricey and it costs extra to use the pool facilities (also pricey) but is well worth it when you know at the start and end of the day you are only a short monorail ride away from the park. Hair dryer in room did not work (luckily I brought my own). Kids seemed to be constantly running up and down corridors making an awful noise but to be fair so did some adults!!! Very family friendly and all in all had a pleasant enough stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Kirsty R,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Splash Landings Hotel, and found our staff friendly and pleasant.

We're pleased you found our location very convenient, and had a brilliant family friendly stay.

We're sorry to hear the hairdryer did not work, and we shall pass your comments onto our team to look into.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to seeing you on Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Having read the reviews I was concerned about staying at the Splash Landings hotel. Having just returned from a 3 night stay I can report that it is a very family orientated environment, with all the challenging noises produced by young families having a great time. If you take no pleasure in little ones running round having fun then I would highly recommend booking the Alton Towers Hotel where the atmosphere was a little more civilised whilst still being child focused. Breakfast is very well attended and the pressure of increasing numbers of guests made the experience far from relaxed, but it's good quality and thankfully included as part of your room booking. The park and facilities are easily accessed by both Hotels. Staff are very helpful and pleasant. The rooms are clean and comfortable, yes their is an issue with the lack of air conditioning but even in August the opening of the window and full use of the fan did resolve any issues for us. So overall if you have a young family and want a break where you can relax and watch them laugh, play and be entertained without the concerns normally associated with breaks away then Splash landings is the destination for you. If you are looking for a quiet break away from it all, not sure why you would choose Alton Towers as a destination. But with teenage children we will pay the additional cost and stay at The Alton Towers Hotel next time. But the key bere is that there will be a next time.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Laura S,

Thank you for taking the time to complete such a kind review on Trip Advisor. We're delighted that you had a great time during your stay at the Splash Landings Hotel. We are glad that you were impressed with the hotels location, breakfast and our staff members. We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Alton Towers Resort!

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

On arrival, we were very impressed with the hotel reception area and the fantastic location. Unfortunately, once we checked into the room, we were exceptionally disappointed. It was very small for a family room and the decor was tired and old.
Everything was covered with dust and there were hairs on the toilet seat. The phone, lamps and hairdryer didn't work. The next morning we found there was NO WATER. We were unable to shower, use the sink and we couldn't flush the toilet.
The staff told us the water issue was due to the weather (?) and we couldn't change rooms because the hotel was full.
I must say the staff were superb across the whole resort, but the standard of the rooms is appalling considering the extortionate price. We paid £196 for one night. I have stayed in very nice hotels in London for less than this. It was worse than a Premier Inn Express and they cost £50!
We have written to Guest Relations and await a response.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluebellOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear BluebellOxford,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we truly appreciate all comments from our guests.

We take note that our Guest Relations department has been in contact with you, and we are pleased to see that you are happy with the resolution that was discussed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Lovely hotel, if a bit pricey, but either this or the adjacent hotel in the Alton Towers complex are perfect for going to the theme park. Helpful staff and nice food, clean and tidy room and good entertainments for the kids in the evening. Bring your earplugs though if you want a good night sleep, as the nice hotel is spoilt by other guests and their marauding elephants (sorry children) rampaging and shouting up and down the corridor outside your room at 10pm. My five year old took more than two hours to get to sleep after we put her to bed at 8.30pm because other guest could not be considerate and tell their own kids to be quiet. Adults were just as bad having full blown conversations as they walked down the same corridor.....needless to say I am home after two nights away and I have barely had more than a few hours sleep on both nights. I am wrecked....when we go back, earplugs for me and something similar for my daughter.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Karen K,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. It's great for us to read that overall you had a fantastic short break at the Splash Landings Hotel and found our staff to be helpful at polite. We are pleased that you were happy with the standard of the room, and enjoyed your evening meal and the live entertainment available. However we are sorry that the noise of other guests, had a negative impact on the quality of your nights sleep. Hopefully this will not re-occur during your next visit, but if you do have any problem please dial reception from your room phone, and a member of the team will happily investigate this for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the future.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Just spent 3 days at Splash landings of the 1st time.
All I can say it was awesome, the staff was fantastic and very helpful.
The rooms are what you expect small with everything you need ( as your only be in it too sleep).
Excellent food with loads to choose from but a little pricey.
Both my 2 kids (7 and 5) didn't want to leave as the evening shows kept them entertained and gave us some peace for an hour or 2 watching them have fun after a long day of rides and water park.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dweller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Dweller75,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. It's fantastic for us to read that you enjoyed your first ever stay at the Splash Landings Hotel and found out staff members to be so helpful and polite. We are pleased that your children enjoyed the evening entertainment too, giving you time to relax!

We hope to welcome you back to the Resort again soon!

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Firstly the hotel is basic rooms with the theme twist. Funky carpet to look like beach sand. Rooms consist of a double bed and bunk beds. I really think they couldn't squeeze much more into the rooms as space is tight. I would advise not to eat your evening meal in the restaurant as 2 times I've eaten here and both times the food quality was poor. Badly presented buffet style, help yourself to what's on offer. Quite expensive as well. If you are going to stay I'd advise the AT hotel over this one as the restaurants much better but you don't have to eat here

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Michele R,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Splash Landings Hotel, and liked it's Caribbean theme! We're sorry that Flambos Restaurant did not live up to your expectations, and will be sure to pass your feedback onto our Food & Beverage Team. However we are glad that you were able to find an alternative in the Alton Towers Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the Resort in the future!

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.0 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
1.4 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Enchanted Village Lodges, Alton Towers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splash Landings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Landings Hotel

Property: Splash Landings Hotel
Address: Alton Towers, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a bright and tropical taste of the Caribbean, the sun shines every day in this crazy Caribbean themed hotel! After a busy day relax in Ma Garrita’s bar, with superb views overlooking the Waterpark and fabulous entertainment into the evening. Splash Landings Hotel offers the perfect Caribbean getaway without stepping onto a plane!All guests will be left with that "Caribbean feeling", and a 'must do' for your stay is a visit to our fantastic tropical Waterpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Superbreak UK so you can book your Splash Landings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Landings Alton
Splash Landing Hotel
Hotel Splash Landings
Hotel Landing Splash
Splash Landings Hotel Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing