We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids loved it - so it worked for us!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Splash Landings Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Kids loved it - so it worked for us!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We went with a 13 & 10 year old, and when the 10 year old says "that's been one of the best days of my life" you know it's been a worthwhile event combining this on site hotel (with Water park a must - but buy tickets for the Water park as well) with the Alton Towers thrills. Not cheap (what is?) but it delivered. We found the hotel staff to be very attentive and helpful - especially in the restaurant (we eat in Flambos) which did exactly what it said on the tin - it's good buffet style, expect that and you won't be disappointed. The basic rooms are nicely themed, although small, I'm sure the upgraded ones are better - but you're not there for the rooms. It's location location, and it works so well. Best thing is getting in to the Park 1 hour before the hoards - we got so much done in the time. Kids loved it and want to go back - that says it all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Steve W,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Splash Landings Hotel, and visit to the Theme Park and Water Park. We are glad that you enjoyed your evening meal in Flambos Restaurant too!

We really hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    836
    490
    239
    144
See reviews for
1,498
256
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights and it's not been our first time to stay on the resort. We've stayed at splash landings three times and the alton towers hotel once and I can honestly say this hotel is the best of the two.

On arrival there is no shortage of parking, and we had a very warm welcome from the hotel receptionists; the hotel lobby is fantastic the furniture is a bit worn but it reflects life in the Caribbean very well. The lobby has good views of the indoor water park which all adds to the excitement. The lobby is full of interesting things including a bar; which would be filled with people at nighttime so get there early to get a seat, alton towers resort gift shop and a restaurant which you would have to pay extra to use. Everything in the hotel is entertaining ,even the lifts; that blare out Caribbean music. The rooms we stay in are on the back of the hotel that overlooks the outside waterpark purely because your not looking at trees and the rooms are more spacious.

In our room we had a sofa bed, a bunk bed and one double bed. The rooms are dated and the price is expensive for the quality of the rooms. The bathrooms are pleasant but nothing special and you get a few toiletries and coffe/tea etc. we was happy with everything as the hotel had amazing facilities including waterpark and spa but for over £400 for 2 nights I expected a bit better. Never the less there are other positives about staying in the hotel for example early ride time before the park opens. The hotel is generally loud but it all seems to quotes down after 11:30 and it's quite in the accommodation part of the hotel.

As I say we love staying here and it gives us the full 100% alton towers experience, if you don't like children stay in the alton towers hotel as this side seems more relaxed and more like an adults hotel. We will be returning in the future 10/10!!!!!!'

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the outside water-park; the rooms are more spacious and the views are more interes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Robert L,

Thank you for taking the time to complete such a detailed review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you are a regular visitor to the Resort, and had a fantastic time staying at the Splash Landings Hotel recently. It's great that you enjoy the Caribbean theme, and we are sure that the advice you have given will be extremely useful to any future visitors.

We really look forward to seeing you again soon! You can save 25% by booking your next stay within 28 days of departure.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We visited has a group of 4 (3adults and 1 child)
The beds were comfy and the bath room was clean.
The room it's self was clean but one thing that let it down for me was the lighting was a little dull.
I loved all the little touches like the carpet which was made to look like the sea and sand.
We visited the all u can eat buffet for dinner.
Highly recommend it - roast was lovely.
We got up early and was the 1st at breakfast- it's worth getting down there for 7am because the q's.
All in all a good trip

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear victoria b,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Splash Landings Hotel, and found your room clean and comfortable.

We're pleased you enjoyed our little touches dotted around the hotel, and found your meals in Flambo's lovely.

We're sorry to hear you found our lighting a little dull in the bedrooms. These are in the process of being replaced with LED bulbs, however we shall pass your comments onto our development team to review.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to seeing you on Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My son had his 10th birthday party at Splash Landings on 17/8/14, it was clearly signposted to where we needed to be, the car park was quite full but not to difficult to find a place. On arrival at the reception we were greeted by the staff and they helped us get the children organised allowing us into the complex so that they could get ready then play, take note though you need money for the lockers and you have to take off your shoes for hygiene purposes to get to the pools. Once the children were ready, they went to play in the resort, the areas for changing and where parents could sit were clean, but there were not many seats, but the parents supervising did not seem to have to much problem finding somewhere to go; although it was extremely hot in the pool areas. The parents were able to either go to the bar, have a coffee and one set went to play golf with their younger son. All the facilities were good for purpose, they were clean and user friendly. Once the children had played we rounded them up and went to eat our meal, they gave them each a goodie bag which I was not expecting with a magnet and sweets in it, which was really nice. They had unlimited food and juice, parents had free teas and coffees, the table was large enough for the group and the children really enjoyed the food, it was a good standard with lots of choice of either hot or cold items, healthy or not dependent on what you wanted. All in all I found the day to be a big success and would recommend it to everyone, the children had the time of their lives, thanks so much to Alton Towers it was worth every penny.

Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Vicki V,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read that your son enjoyed all aspects of his birthday party at the Water Park. We really hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Codsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just returned after 2 night stay with daughter and grandchildren, which Charlotte booked. Food in international restaurant, is pricey but the selections and quality from starters to cheese board all wonderful. Something for everyone and also,whipped ice cream. Few problems with our room but all sorted by very efficient Manageress. Staff always pleasant and helpful in all parts of hotel, from Reception to Waterpark. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: This is a hotel that caters for children, children can be noisy so don't complain about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelawin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Angelawin,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Splash Landings Hotel, and that Charlotte helped with your booking.

We're sorry to hear you had a few issues with your room, however we're very pleased to hear that our team were able to resolve these to your satisfaction, and that you found our staff pleasant and helpful in all parts of our hotel.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to seeing you on Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night. Reception area is welcoming and staff helpful and friendly. We were given a disabled room, the bathroom was large, but the bedroom was small, but ok for two of us. The rooms seem dated and are better suited for families. Our room was clean with plenty of toiletries supplied. The downside is the noise and the restaurant. If you would like a meal here, you should book a table at the the time of booking your room, otherwise you will not get in. We went to a lovely pub (The Royal Oak, in Alton for a fabulous meal). We would have liked a drink in the bar in the hotel after our meal, but the noise was so loud we went to our room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOldiesNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear TheOldiesNsw,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Splash Landings Hotel and found our staff welcoming and friendly.

We're sorry to hear the noise affected your visit, and we shall pass your comments onto our development team to review.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to seeing you on Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked this hotel as we thought it would be nice for the kids to have the full Alton towers experience.
The kids were indeed excited and impressed at the sight of the water park as you can view it from the hotel reception.
However the adults all found the decor dated and worn. The double bed and bunk room we booked was an average size, but pretty small double bed. The bathroom was adequate. It was more than disappointing for the amount you have to pay to stay there (about £200 a night).
We were assigned a room on the ground floor right next to the entrance door to that floor. I should have asked to move at that point, as I was correct in thinking the door would be banging shut all night. We could also hear the loud music from the disco until the late hours.
To be fair we were so worn out from the park we all slept soundly. I would recommend you don't take a room near the main reception end of the hotel though.
The staff were all friendly and it is a lively fun ambience.
There were a number o fuseful things the staff did not inform us of.
-Only hotel guests have access to the pool all day, and therefore here is a slot at midday when only hotel guests are in there, thus making it very quiet.
-There is a family room with microwave facilities on the ground floor.

We ate at two restaurants. The secret garden- very nice in the alton towers hotel, good food selection, and friendly staff.
The pizzeria cove in splash landings was really good, the food was very tasty.

I would defintiely recommend that the alton towers hotel seemed much nicer than the splash landings, but I didn't see in the rooms.

The kids did love it, but I don't think I could stay there again.

Room Tip: not near the reception end, or near any entrance doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ems2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear ems2020,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Splash Landings Hotel, and that your children found our Hotel exciting.

We are a themed Caribbean experience with decor to suit this aspect, and we're sorry you interpreted this as worn.

Our entertainment runs until 10:30pm and beyond then is our party vibes atmosphere until the early hours however you should not hear this from the rooms themselves.

We do have a family room in both hotels, please do ask staff for directions to these facilities.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to seeing you on Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
1.8 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
13.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
12.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splash Landings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Landings Hotel

Property: Splash Landings Hotel
Address: Alton Towers, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a bright and tropical taste of the Caribbean, the sun shines every day in this crazy Caribbean themed hotel! After a busy day relax in Ma Garrita’s bar, with superb views overlooking the Waterpark and fabulous entertainment into the evening. Splash Landings Hotel offers the perfect Caribbean getaway without stepping onto a plane!All guests will be left with that "Caribbean feeling", and a 'must do' for your stay is a visit to our fantastic tropical Waterpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Splash Landings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Landings Alton
Splash Landing Hotel
Hotel Splash Landings
Hotel Landing Splash
Splash Landings Hotel Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing