We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time had by all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Splash Landings Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Alton
east sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time had by all”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed here with husband and 2 sons 14 and 11 for 2 nights, we had a great time and really enjoyed the waterpark, just enough slides and pools to keep us all happy.One suggestion for the changing room would be a costume dryer as we had to try and dry ours in the room which didnt really work and we had to put them on damp the next day.
The hotel itsself is good fun but does need abit of a spruz up as rooms were tired.Could have done with a thicker duvet or extra blankets.This hotel is very noisy in the restaurants and is geared to the younger age group so we found we visited the other hotel in the evenings and ate at the secret garden both evenings which was lovely with amazing food, it was nice that you could visit both hotels.You should definitely book a table for dinner as you maynot eat till 9.There always seemed to be a queue for breakfast but it did move along quickly.
All in all we had a great time but would stay in the alton towers hotel if we visited again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oshbay12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear oshbay12,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you had a fantastic short break at the Splash Landings Hotel, and enjoyed visiting the Water Park. We are pleased that you enjoyed your evening meal in the Secret Garden Restaurant too!

We do have a tumble dryer available in each of our Family Facilities Rooms, located in each of our Hotels. We are sorry that this information was not relayed to you during you stay, our Housekeeping Team will happily provide extra blankets or pillows if required. However, we will be sure to pass your feedback onto the relevant department.

Thanks again for your review. We really hope to welcome you back to the Resort again soon.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    823
    487
    236
    146
See reviews for
1,474
257
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed here a couple of years ago, but decided to write a review to tell people how great our meal at flambos was. I have been to a number of world buffets, but this has been the best due to the wide selection and decent quality. The carvery section was particularly great with all the trimmings and great yorkshire puddings. The fajita making station also yummy.

Woke up early to attend breakfast - again the best breakfast buffet ever, huge range of cooked food, cereals and toast

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Becky J,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your evening meal and breakfast in Flambos Restaurant, and that you were impressed with the food quality and choice available.

We really hope to welcome you back to the Resort again soon.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We got a great deal to stay here through a newspaper. Im not sure i would pay full price. Butfor what we paid we were happy.
The hotel is very child friendly, my 5 and 3 yr old loved it, esp the music in the elevators! Check in was quiet and easy. Our room was fine andclean. The fish soap went down well with the kids. The room was v hot tho and overnight the heat was unbearable. We struggled to sleep. There is a fan in the room but too noisy to put this on at night.
We did also experience noise from other guests letting their kids run up and down corridors but i guess theresnot much can do about that.
The monorail to the themepark is right outside so v handy.We ate in the alton towers hotel secret garden restaurant which was lovely. It looked like there wasgoing to be great entertainment in both hotels but our little ones needed bed so we didnt see this. All the staff are genuinely friendly and helpful. We went down for breakfast at 7.15 and im so glad we did as by 7.30 it was totally packed. God knows howchaotic it is later! Plentiful selection but hot food only lukewarm. One nice thing was a seperate kids buffet bit with small sausages and spagetti hoops, this pleased our two lots!
Its not 5 star luxury hotel but we found it great for the children and clean and thats the main things. I would definately stay again if i could find another reduced pricedeal.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank chrisi2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear chrisi2007,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you had a fantastic short break at the Splash Landings Hotel recently, and found our staff members to be helpful and polite. It's great that you enjoyed your evening meal in the Secret Garden Restaurant, and appreciated how child friendly the Hotel was.

We understand that the rooms can get warm and therefore we do provide a fan in every room for all guests but we're sorry if you found this to be too noisy to use. We do have restrictions on how far the lower window can open to ensure children’s safety, but if you pull down the top window this creates a lovely breeze, which should keep the rooms at a comfortable temperature. However, we will be sure to pass your feedback onto the relevant department to be reviewed.

Thanks again for your comments. We really hope to welcome you back to the Resort soon.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We went with a 13 & 10 year old, and when the 10 year old says "that's been one of the best days of my life" you know it's been a worthwhile event combining this on site hotel (with Water park a must - but buy tickets for the Water park as well) with the Alton Towers thrills. Not cheap (what is?) but it delivered. We found the hotel staff to be very attentive and helpful - especially in the restaurant (we eat in Flambos) which did exactly what it said on the tin - it's good buffet style, expect that and you won't be disappointed. The basic rooms are nicely themed, although small, I'm sure the upgraded ones are better - but you're not there for the rooms. It's location location, and it works so well. Best thing is getting in to the Park 1 hour before the hoards - we got so much done in the time. Kids loved it and want to go back - that says it all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Steve W,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Splash Landings Hotel, and visit to the Theme Park and Water Park. We are glad that you enjoyed your evening meal in Flambos Restaurant too!

We really hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights and it's not been our first time to stay on the resort. We've stayed at splash landings three times and the alton towers hotel once and I can honestly say this hotel is the best of the two.

On arrival there is no shortage of parking, and we had a very warm welcome from the hotel receptionists; the hotel lobby is fantastic the furniture is a bit worn but it reflects life in the Caribbean very well. The lobby has good views of the indoor water park which all adds to the excitement. The lobby is full of interesting things including a bar; which would be filled with people at nighttime so get there early to get a seat, alton towers resort gift shop and a restaurant which you would have to pay extra to use. Everything in the hotel is entertaining ,even the lifts; that blare out Caribbean music. The rooms we stay in are on the back of the hotel that overlooks the outside waterpark purely because your not looking at trees and the rooms are more spacious.

In our room we had a sofa bed, a bunk bed and one double bed. The rooms are dated and the price is expensive for the quality of the rooms. The bathrooms are pleasant but nothing special and you get a few toiletries and coffe/tea etc. we was happy with everything as the hotel had amazing facilities including waterpark and spa but for over £400 for 2 nights I expected a bit better. Never the less there are other positives about staying in the hotel for example early ride time before the park opens. The hotel is generally loud but it all seems to quotes down after 11:30 and it's quite in the accommodation part of the hotel.

As I say we love staying here and it gives us the full 100% alton towers experience, if you don't like children stay in the alton towers hotel as this side seems more relaxed and more like an adults hotel. We will be returning in the future 10/10!!!!!!'

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the outside water-park; the rooms are more spacious and the views are more interes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Robert L,

Thank you for taking the time to complete such a detailed review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you are a regular visitor to the Resort, and had a fantastic time staying at the Splash Landings Hotel recently. It's great that you enjoy the Caribbean theme, and we are sure that the advice you have given will be extremely useful to any future visitors.

We really look forward to seeing you again soon! You can save 25% by booking your next stay within 28 days of departure.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We visited has a group of 4 (3adults and 1 child)
The beds were comfy and the bath room was clean.
The room it's self was clean but one thing that let it down for me was the lighting was a little dull.
I loved all the little touches like the carpet which was made to look like the sea and sand.
We visited the all u can eat buffet for dinner.
Highly recommend it - roast was lovely.
We got up early and was the 1st at breakfast- it's worth getting down there for 7am because the q's.
All in all a good trip

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear victoria b,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Splash Landings Hotel, and found your room clean and comfortable.

We're pleased you enjoyed our little touches dotted around the hotel, and found your meals in Flambo's lovely.

We're sorry to hear you found our lighting a little dull in the bedrooms. These are in the process of being replaced with LED bulbs, however we shall pass your comments onto our development team to review.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to seeing you on Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My son had his 10th birthday party at Splash Landings on 17/8/14, it was clearly signposted to where we needed to be, the car park was quite full but not to difficult to find a place. On arrival at the reception we were greeted by the staff and they helped us get the children organised allowing us into the complex so that they could get ready then play, take note though you need money for the lockers and you have to take off your shoes for hygiene purposes to get to the pools. Once the children were ready, they went to play in the resort, the areas for changing and where parents could sit were clean, but there were not many seats, but the parents supervising did not seem to have to much problem finding somewhere to go; although it was extremely hot in the pool areas. The parents were able to either go to the bar, have a coffee and one set went to play golf with their younger son. All the facilities were good for purpose, they were clean and user friendly. Once the children had played we rounded them up and went to eat our meal, they gave them each a goodie bag which I was not expecting with a magnet and sweets in it, which was really nice. They had unlimited food and juice, parents had free teas and coffees, the table was large enough for the group and the children really enjoyed the food, it was a good standard with lots of choice of either hot or cold items, healthy or not dependent on what you wanted. All in all I found the day to be a big success and would recommend it to everyone, the children had the time of their lives, thanks so much to Alton Towers it was worth every penny.

Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Splash Landings Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Vicki V,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read that your son enjoyed all aspects of his birthday party at the Water Park. We really hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
13.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
1.8 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
365 reviews
12.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splash Landings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Landings Hotel

Property: Splash Landings Hotel
Address: Alton Towers, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a bright and tropical taste of the Caribbean, the sun shines every day in this crazy Caribbean themed hotel! After a busy day relax in Ma Garrita’s bar, with superb views overlooking the Waterpark and fabulous entertainment into the evening. Splash Landings Hotel offers the perfect Caribbean getaway without stepping onto a plane!All guests will be left with that "Caribbean feeling", and a 'must do' for your stay is a visit to our fantastic tropical Waterpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Splash Landings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Landings Alton
Splash Landing Hotel
Hotel Splash Landings
Hotel Landing Splash
Splash Landings Hotel Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing