We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Splash Landings Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed for two nights at this hotel to celebrate our daughters 10th birthday. Although the water park was great fun, our first complaint was that we thought that when we stayed at the hotel, we could get into the theme park an hour early to beat the queues on the popular rides. In fact only a selected amount of rides are open for the early hour, (rides that you don't normally have to queue too long for anyway).
During our stay, we don't think that we saw a smile on a single member of staff, although most were polite and reasonably helpful.
Our main complaint was with the state of the room. My husband took a shower on our first night there, and the water was coming back up into the bath. Obviously hadn't been cleaned properly or house keeping would of noticed this. There was dust all around the room, which we had to clean up ourselves as our daughter has asthma, and was getting wheezy after being in the room for a few hours. When we moved the bed at the end of our stay to check that we hadn't left anything behind, we found old sweet wrappers and leaflets and even more dust.
The rest of the room just looked grubby and I don' t even want to think about what all the stains on the carpet were.
Also every electrical appliance in the room had an out of date inspection test sticker on it.
Although, when we reported the bath problem to reception it was fixed quickly, when we filled out a complaint form on the touch screen 'how was your stay' computer, we weren't contacted for 4 days by their customer relations team. This was via email, when I went to reply the email address was undeliverable. So I phoned and left messages for a call back twice and have still not heard back from them.
We would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrissamlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,263 - 2,269 of 2,519 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2010

we stayed half term in febuary, my kids loved it here especially the theme in the lifts, the water park i would say is not worth the money the water is to cold and it is very small compared to other water parks such as butlins and blue lagoon bluestone wales which are alot better.
they didnt have a good que system for the water slides the same people were going down again and again without giving up there rubber rings and the pool was very crowded and over priced for what it was.
the benefits for being a guest at the hotel i thought wasnt very good and i thought it should of got que jump passes for being a guest.
and the evening entertainment was not very good or enough.
the prices for drink and food was extremely expensive but both was very nice.
i would recomend to go as long as you get a 50% discount code otherwise not worth the money.
the theme park was brilliant with lots to do for all ages the only downer was a huge group of travelling family's when we went and the majority was out of control and the police had to be called they were swearing, threatening every one and jumping ques and just being extremley rowdy.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel240183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

I took my girlfriend here for a couple of nights as the other hotel was full. Its a quirky place and seems fantastic for kids and all the stuff that is covered in the reviews is pretty much what its like. Unfortunately there are some downsides. We were woken before 7AM on both days by children whos parents had no concept of control over them. Children running screaming down the coridoors is very common. The rooms are ok but the double bed was on the small side. We ate in the alton towers hotel side on both nights as we preferred the menu and the restaurant is aimed less at families. Unfortunately theres no real dress code so be ready for the trackies and trainers brigade to be shouting drunkenly and following the great british tradition of beating their kids in public! Lastly theres quite a lot of young chavs knocking about and we ended up next door to a large group of them playing some sort of game at 3.30AM, wouldnt have been nice if we were a family!

On the positive side the food in the other hotel was very good, the staff friendly and splash landings would be great for the family in general. Just beware of the chavvy scumbags that lower the tone!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veebloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

we had free theme park tickets through the news paper so thought we would turn it into a mini break with a half price offer.
we paid £168 for 2 nights b and b and all i can say is never again.....with check in at 4 pm and 2 kids we thought we would stay in the hotel on the first night to eat BIG mistake the buffet(all you can eat if you really wanted to??!!!)is 17.00 a head for adults 8.99 for children and infants are £2.drinks are extra and very pricey at 2.99 for a small glass coke!!!we ate at 6 .30 and thanked our lucky stars it wasnt later as from being kept on the hot plate it was dry and very tough!!.
we can recommend the bull pub in the village where we ate the 2nd night for their food and hospitality!
the room was clean and tidy but beds were shockinly uncomfortable so much so my hubby chose the floor over it and my 2 girls ended up sharing a bunkbed as the top matteress was thred bare and springs poking through!
the ONLY bonus of this stay was getting to go into the park at 9 am where there were no waiting times for any of the main rides!!!
however the early morning entry was not enough to compensate for the poor food and awful nights sleep!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwalbyoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

After receiving free theme park tickets from a newspaper promotion, my boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel situated on the Alton Towers resort last September and went to the theme park the following day. We had such a fantastic weekend at the park and really enjoyed our stay at the hotel so we decided we needed to go again! We have just got back from a second stay at Splash Landings and I have nothing but praise for this hotel!
On arrival, the reception staff are incredibly helpful and welcoming and tell you everything you need to know to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. You can check in at any time, although you cannot enter your rooms until mid afternoon. We arrived at midday, but wanted to use the waterpark in the hotel in the afternoon, so the staff kindly locked our luggage away and then took our bags up to our room as soon as it was ready meaning we could start our visit care-free.
The rooms have quirky and comforting decor and has everything you need from a television, iron, shower/bath, towels and kettle. They are very very clean and immaculate and if you do need anything, you can phone down to reception at any time and they'll do everything to help you.
The last thing I will mention is the tea time buffet held in the Flambos restaurant downstairs in the hotel - absolutely delicious! It caters for all tastes including hot dogs/burgers/chips, Mexican, Indian and Chinese cuisine, traditional Roast dinners plus a range of gorgeous desserts.....And you can eat as much as you like! Very good value and really delicious food.
So to all theme park lovers, you must stay at Splash Landings if you're planning to visit the theme park as you'll have a fantastic stay PLUS you get let into the theme park an hour early as one of the perks of being a hotel guest!
If you have any questions about Splash Landings, feel free to email me :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlicePo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Splash Landings Hotel at Alton Towers provided a great overnight stay with our daughter and family. It’s not a 5* experience, but it’s a very pleasant one for families. The rooms are fairly well equipped with hairdryer, tea & coffee facilities, TV, good quality soap and shower gels. They're a reasonable size but it could be a bit squashed with a couple of children running around, however you probably won't be spending much time in them. People have mentioned hearing a lot of noise in the corridors, well after all it's a hotel catering for children, we didn't expect the Dorchester! We did hear some noise but once we went to bed it wasn't noisy at all and the beds and pillows were very comfortable.

The staff at the hotel were excellent. Friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. We were given lots of information on what to do, times and where we could eat, booking a table in the restaurants, maps of the park etc.

Breakfast was very good with lots of choice, cereals, nicely cooked eggs, bacon, beans etc as well as croissants and plenty of fresh fruit. We had an evening meal in The Secret Garden, the seafood pasta was very good but the fish and chips were disappointing.
.
We were only staying one night to visit the theme park as we didn't think we had the energy for the Water Park too! The Alton Towers theme park is only a short monorail trip away or you can take a lovely 15 minute walk through the forest if the queues for the monorail are big. They are massive at 10.00am when the park opens to the general public! As hotel guests you can get into the park from 9.00am which means you can get onto all the popular rides before everyone else arrives, just show your hotel room card. You can check in as soon as you get there, rooms aren’t available until 3.00pm but you can leave your luggage in the hotel. There is entertainment for children provided in both hotels and you can use facilities in either hotel.

If you carefully select your times to visit you can save a lot of money. We visited at the end of the summer school holidays and it was excellent value for money, for two people it cost us just over £100 for bed & breakfast, theme park tickets for two days and car parking. Keep an eye out for their special offers.

If you live a distance away from Alton Towers an overnight stay is a good way to extend it and give you plenty of time to see the theme park without cramming it all into one day.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddowasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

At £256 a night for a double bed with bunk beds for a small room is OTT. There is nothing special about the place and nothing really to moan about. But I know I can get a lot better for the money that this. Also we had to pay on top entrance into the park and swimming. So that was £256 for the hotel, 4 x £15 for swimming tickets, 4 x £19 (discounted rate) for park tickets and 4 x £52 for pink concert tickets. Totaling £600 for 4 people for a 2 day one night visit. They clearly take advantage of being the resorts hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannie-do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
1.8 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Enchanted Village Lodges, Alton Towers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splash Landings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Landings Hotel

Address: Alton Towers, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Price Range: £39 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a bright and tropical taste of the Caribbean, the sun shines every day in this crazy Caribbean themed hotel! After a busy day relax in Ma Garrita’s bar, with superb views overlooking the Waterpark and fabulous entertainment into the evening. Splash Landings Hotel offers the perfect Caribbean getaway without stepping onto a plane!All guests will be left with that "Caribbean feeling", and a 'must do' for your stay is a visit to our fantastic tropical Waterpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Splash Landings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Landings Alton
Splash Landing Hotel
Hotel Splash Landings
Hotel Landing Splash
Splash Landings Hotel Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing