We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peter Rabbit Room. Alton Towers”
Review of Alton Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alton Towers Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Just got back from Alton towers for my 21st Birthday, (4th visit this year!). we stayed in the Peter rabbit room which is the same size as a standard room but WOW is it beautiful! the decor makes it feel as though you are really in a burrow it is gorgeous! even the view is better than the more expensive suites (you get a view of the Fountain from the Peter Rabbit Room). Even though it is one of the oldest themed rooms it is still in really good condition, I would hate to think how long it took them to hand paint it! As standard you get some balloons with the room as well and if you are in a group of more than four you can book Peter Rabbit and Benjamin Bunny as they are next to each other and you can open the door in the middle to make it bigger. I would recommend this room to anyone who is still a kid at heart and if your looking for a bit of sparkle and magic whilst visiting Alton Towers

Room Tip: If you check in after 10 and before 3, you can ask to view the suites that are available if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZazzyGAltonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,127 - 2,133 of 2,701 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

After having read the reviews on trip advisor, my fiancé and I were expecting a fairly run down Travelodge experience...

I was very impressed with the size of the room, and comfort of the bed. The bathroom was great with a power shower (not a fan of shower curtains but expected for a three star). We deliberately avoided School holidays and thus there was not a great deal of corridor noise at all - infact, we had slept great. We paid £99 a night including breakfast for three nights and were very happy with both the room and breakfast. It's not a five star hotel, nor does it claim to be.

Reception were very helpful and efficient, ensuring they had the correct Theme and swim park tickets for us - fantastic service. The bars were also great - though of course expensive, but admittedly i've seen pricier! We enjoyed the buffet restaurant - it is quite expensive, and sometimes we did have to wait a fair while for drinks, but there is a wide choice to suit the fussiest of palates. I also noticed that a lady was enquiring about gluten free foods and the Chef couldn't have been more helpful to her. It's not gourmet cuisine, but this is a Theme Park hotel catering for kids so what do you expect... We also visited the Secret Garden restaurant which was good, but again nothing spectacular!

We found the monorail fantastic too - staying in the hotel allows you to go on some of the rides an hour earlier than those not staying in the hotel. In the morning (about half 8) we didn't have to queue for the monorail though it was quite busy. When we were there, Oblivion, Rita, Nemesis were definitely open early so keep an eye so you can head directly to a ride you can beat the queues on.

You can walk to the theme park from the hotel too. This is useful if, like us, you are taking a bus departing the park at 6.25 in the morning. This only takes about 20 minutes - it's not the Woodland Walk, it's basically just wandering through the car parks but is an option if need be.

Finally, we visited the spa for the Aqua Relaxation Rooms experience - £15 a head. Absolutely loved this and even enjoyed some champagne while in there - great way to end the trip.

All in all, I would say I was very pleasantly surprised. The rooms were a great size, service was fantastic and plenty of choices of food. Yes everything is fairly expensive but to be expected in a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobarooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Just got back from a weekend here on a hen party, our room was ok, nothing special but a comfy bed and was fairly spacious. There was a problem with one of the rooms on arrival which delayed our entry to the waterpark for several hours though we did get a free glass of champagne each for the whole party as compensation. We were one of several hen partys there for the weekend along with a couple of stag do's however despite the hotel offering special hen night offers they are really not set up for this, we were told there was a choice of 3 cabaret shows however we didnt see sign of any and all the bars exept one closed at 11pm and the only one left open was all set up for a kids disco, hardly ideal the have a kids disco and several hen partys all in one room. Our meal at Flambos was ok, much better food than most buffets you get, although you only get paper cups to drink from! Except for the lady on reception who checked us in the staff were terrible, no-one knew anything about the amenities they offer or where anything in the hotel or the park were - and there were no signs showing where anything was. The staff in the main bar on the Sunday afternoon were awful! Most were new starters and so didn't know where anything was or how the till system worked, surely it would make more sense to some experienced staff on with them. They didnt know where any of the food that had been ordered was for and instead of walking round the tables asking if anyone had ordered anything they simply stood next to the bar with it letting it go cold. They disappeared in the middle of taking an order and one of our party stood at the bar over 5 minutes waiting to be served despite there being 5 bar men behind the bar stood around talking before finally one of them aske if she was being served, and then it took another ten minutes of her standing there to get a coffee! All in all it is too expensive for what it is and it certainly not set up for hen partys so they shoud stop advertising those and stick with trying to attract families and should definately get some training for their staff!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma0622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of July 2012. My 3 year old daughter has Coeliac disease and has to have quite a specific diet, and particular preparation of her food. Before we were due to arrive, the customer services team got the head chef to call me, and he assured me that they cater well for her dietary needs, yet suggested that when we came in, to ask for him and he would come and chat with us, about what she liked to eat, so that they could make sure she was well looked after. We did that, met the other members of his team, who would be working over the course of the few days, and they made her some great meals. In addition, in the morning, we were able to phone down before we wanted breakfast, so they had prepared ready for her a selection of gluten free food, such as sausages, muffins, toast, some of which they had specifically bought in for her. I was so impressed. And the Emperor's Grill restaurant was particularly good. On top of that, the hotel was really nice, the rooms admittedly aren't luxury, but they are clean and comfortable and relatively spacious. But the childrens' entertainment was brilliant as was the band that my eldest daughter (8) just loved, that went through till about 10pm and the gardens were lovely too. We all had a really great time and will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoeKe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Sorry Alton Towers, you are letting yourselves down. I spent a night there for a hen do in August 2012.
The first room we were in was not ready until 2 hours after our check in time (admitedly they did offer our party of 17 a free round of drinks), due to the carpet needing cleaning!. When we got in the room, it STANK of vomit..and bleach, so they obviously had been trying to clean it. They did agree to swap our room then but this took until 6pm. After saying they were full we were given a new room, which was fine. Very clean. But a plug socket did not work and the bath did not drain properly. Four of us in a room, and only one hot shower that evening, the rest v. cold. Put this down to too many people using the shower at night, but the same happenend in the morning with four freezing showers. Again after a complaint the manager did offer us a few free q jump tickets to the park. There was no sign of any caberet that we were told was going to happen and the bars were not geared up at all for a group of adults, children in the bars until 1am in the morning. No one bothered to inform us that our park tickets could be used on two days, so only went one day, which poured with rain...okay not Altons fault but on return to the hotel to catch up with all our party and have a late lunch the hotel refused to lend or even hire me a towel, as i was dripping wet...i was told they don't have any! It was only the housekeeper later who happened to mention that we could use a tumbler for our clothes. Then had lunch in the dragon bar...food was terrible, service was ridiculasly appaling with the waiters going off to do other things and help out waitresses in the middle of taking our order, and when we complained to the manager about the the same food looking completly different ie. hardly any topping on a flat bread we were told "oh did it come like that?" as if i sat there picking the topping off and that they would speak to the chef...not even an apology.
NEVER AGAIN !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zoe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Spent a wonderful evening and 2 days at the Alton Towers Hotel with our two girls (7mths & 6 Yrs). The accommodation was very basic but pleasant and the surrounding grounds where great my daughters loved the ducks in the garden. I few choice of restaurants which where medium priced meal for 2 adults & 1 child without alcohol was £48.00. As hotel guest you get pass to stay in water park all day pending you purchase water park ticket. The staff are great my only main issues the hotel certainly needs a lick of paint which is clearly evident and I also noticed this around the park. A very expensive couple of days which was not the issue just what you get for your money was not really up to scratch. Kids enjoyed though, we would stay again but will most probably wait for renovation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevensons_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Friendly staff, clean room, but constant corridor noise and many rowdy guests including stag and hen parties. Expensive restaurant not really worth the money, but pretty, well-kept grounds nice for a walk or picnic in the sunshine.

Room Tip: Book out of season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Splash Landings Hotel
14.3 mi away
Days Inn Stafford
Days Inn Stafford
#3 of 5 in Stone
245 reviews
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
1.9 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Enchanted Village Lodges, Alton Towers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alton Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton Towers Hotel

Address: Farley Lane, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Price Range: £98 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique hotel is themed around the incredible explorer Sir Algenon, who has made the Alton Towers Hotel his home. There are plenty of fun and quirky features to discover, including his amazing flying ship which has crash landed right in the middle of the Hotel. Wake up in our explorer-themed bedrooms, ready for your next adventure! Our Secret Garden restaurant offers a delicious brasserie style menu, and the evening entertainment is perfect for all ages.Whichever hotel you are staying in at the Alton Towers Resort, you can choose to eat in any of the restaurants and drink at any of the bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Alton Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alton Hotel Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing