We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you”
Review of Alton Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alton Towers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Certificate of Excellence
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Thank you”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We have stayed in the splash landings hotel and now the alton towers hotel. I have a young family and have enjoyed both the hotels. The Alton towers one is definitely more "up market" but they are both great fun and have a wonderful holiday atmosphere! lots to do in the evenings for the children. I was so overwhelmed that upon arriving I asked if it were possible for a room upgrade and was delighted that we were offered the Peter Rabbit room! It was delightful and my children loved the special extras such as sweeties and balloons. Thanks for making our trip special. xx Recommend this trip the waterpark and theme parks are fantastic!

Room Tip: Splash landings hotel rooms not as special as alton towers hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    795
    478
    193
    130
See reviews for
1,408
391
7
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We have stayed in both Alton towers hotel and splash landings hotel before. Yes the rooms are dated and slightly shabby but I don't care. The hotels are very "alice and wonderland" I love the quirkiness of them. They are really like a story book brought to life. I love the hotels, the waterpark, the theme park...... Do I love the £300 all in price tag - hell no! But will I be going again?? Hell yes....lol lol.

My kids cried when it was time to leave!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxineperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Excellent Hotel, much better than the Splash Landings next door which is inevitably aimed at the young ones. The service in the Garden Restaurant was first rate and the portions very generous. All the staff (Restaurant and Hotel) were attentive and helpful. Nothing seemed too much trouble. We went while the park had just opened so there were very few ankle biters running round which suited us as a group of 4 adults. The only drawback was there was only the one restaurant open due to the time of year but it wasn't a problem. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and very clean. Excellent value and excellent service for a 3 star (Which should be a 4 star). Book online for excellent deals and park entry. Would definitely recommend this place but avoid the school holidays if, like us, you don't appreciate the little people running amok.

Room Tip: Book online for the best deals but watch the dates for park entry. If you get stuck there is a helpl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theboyz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The main reason i loved this hotel is because i had such a great time with my family. The rooms were not the most amazing rooms ever, but they were clean, well maintained and had everything we needed. The food (we ate in the all you can eat buffet) was expensive and not brilliant but we just made sure we all got our moneys worth and it was nice not to feel bad about having a tired toddler in tow so it suited us perfectly. Breakfast was amazing! Again they will never win awards with the quality (sausages a bit cheap) but it all tasted nice, loads to choose from and the staff were lovely. In fact the staff everywhere were really friendly. Lots of nice touches for the kids- the lift music, their height peep hole in the door, even the carpet my little girl found interesting!! We watched some of the entertainment before dinner and it was great. We felt like were abroad on a 'proper' holiday!!! Its the type of place I would have hated in the past to go to, but as a parent and seeing how much my 2 year old enjoyed it, we in turn enjoyed it too - we can't wait to go back!! Tips are to pre-book a table!! We didnt think we had too, but you did!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in a family room on 11th April 2013.
The room was ok nicely decorated and surface clean.
The lights had a lot of thick dust on them.
The room was so unbearably hot with no heating on so had to use the loud fan supplied and along with pillow shortage made a poor nights sleep.
On the plus side, great parking, quick check in/out cute bubble bath for the kids and plenty of tea and coffee in the room.
Entertainment in the main hotel was awful not family friendly at all the conference room was better for families but with huge tables seating 8-10 you have to mingle with other families so even if the children are amused you still can't really relax.
Food served anywhere in both hotels was extremely over priced so much so we ordered a delivery from local kebab/pizza place!
Check in was ok as stuff can be left but check out was 10am which is a bit early as breakfast is served until 10 also?
Breakfast was great value for money and not usually a 'Buffett' lover this one was ok maybe as was UK based.
The hot food was good and the pastries were as expected with especially tasty blueberry muffins. If like myself you like a good strong cup of tea take along a few tea bags! The only real negative was that all the fresh fruit was gone which would have been good for the younger ones.
Overall a good place to stay for the theme park but I feel the standard family room we had should have a price of £120-140 per night I was there on a deal so was good value but its full price for that night would if been £207.00 which I feel was too high.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harviebleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This hotel is very expensive for what you actually get...(we paid £300 for 2 adults 2 children for one night including park tickets)

Unfortunately there aren't many plus points, the reception and the grounds are well maintained and impressive but that's where it ends.

The rooms are dated grubby and in need of a lot of maintenance. The amenities are lacking ie no mini bar, limited towels (which were stained) not enough toiletries for 4 people etc
The doors to the rooms are old and have to be slammed hard to actually shut- which at 5pm isn't such a problem but at 2am is extremely annoying!
The corridors are constantly noisy with people running up and down them shouting (I'm not a kill joy but with 2 small children isn't the best situation) it would work better if they situated all the family rooms together and allocated adults only rooms in another part of the hotel.

The food is horrendous- we ate in the all you can eat buffet. It was a disaster from the start. The table was booked for 7:45 and had only been booked for 2 people?Not sure how or why as we had checked in as a family of 4! The service was appalling and the restaurant was completely under staffed. Having waited 20 minutes for our drinks to arrive we then were given the wrong drinks (2 VODKA SLUSH DRINKS FOR 2 CHILDREN REALLY ISN'T APPROPRIATE) these were immediately sent back and after another 2 attempts they finally got it correct- no apology given or explanation to why it took for us to send back the drinks order 3 times! The food can only be compared to that of a poor school canteen which is very disappointing for the price they charge (£20 per adult and £15 per child)

What had been a really enjoyable day in the theme park was unfortunately tarnished due to the over priced tatty hotel :(

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puddleduck69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

the theming of the hotel is absolutely lovely, can't fault it but I couldn't enjoy my day at the theme park the next day due to the severe backache I got from my attempts to sleep in the bed! worst bed i have ever ever slept in. So painful, really has put me off staying there again

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Splash Landings Hotel
1.9 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
13.0 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alton Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton Towers Hotel

Property: Alton Towers Hotel
Address: Farley Lane, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique hotel is themed around the incredible explorer Sir Algenon, who has made the Alton Towers Hotel his home. There are plenty of fun and quirky features to discover, including his amazing flying ship which has crash landed right in the middle of the Hotel. Wake up in our explorer-themed bedrooms, ready for your next adventure! Our Secret Garden restaurant offers a delicious brasserie style menu, and the evening entertainment is perfect for all ages.Whichever hotel you are staying in at the Alton Towers Resort, you can choose to eat in any of the restaurants and drink at any of the bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alton Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alton Hotel Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing