We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much better1”
Review of Alton Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alton Towers Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This was a re. My turn trip after a dodgy one last year....I had been promised a better stay and I wasn't disappointed. The reception staff were lovely and we were very happy with the themed sleepover room we had booked. "Awesome" said my 11 year old. The room was clean and spacious with some great touches to make this special for the children. We ate in the same restaurant we had last time - my recommendation would be to eat early when it isn't so busy- our food was so much better and the service great. Our trip to the waterpark was deafening and the outdoor pool opened at midday which was a little annoying given the fantastic weather. One gripe with it was that the water blaster ride was terrifying for me as my 6 year old didn't have the strength to hold on and so I had to grip him with my foot to stop him flying out- beware for small children!
Overall this was a much better experience and we left happy...
The older gentleman on the door to say goodbye was a delight- in fact the man on the door of the splash landings hotel had taken the same course in charm and service...a great example to the younger generation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ogas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersResort, Guest Relations Manager at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and even bigger thanks for the great comments you have made. I am so glad to hear that your return visit has reassured you what a wonderful place it is. You sound like you have had an awesome time experience quite a lot. The Master Blaster is a great ride and has safety rules in place to ensure our younger children are ok to go round.
Great comments regarding our Doorman, they are such a great touch and are the first and last of our team members our guests usually see so vitally important that they are the right people.
Thanks again for your comments and do hope to see you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,815 - 1,821 of 2,700 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

Billiant, the Hotel is set up for all, young, old, whatever...Themed room was good fun, plenty of bars and restaurants. The service was great. It was the little touches that made the difference, like, parking VIP bay had our name on it! the TV message had our name on it as did the welcome note, chocs in the room etc etc...The park itself was awesome, all rides running, had a special birthday...there is no way you can be upset with this hotel and package!!!

Room Tip: Stay in the Alton Towers hotel - the Splash Landing hotel was FULL of kids running around
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gandnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersResort, Guest Relations Manager at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and even bigger thanks for the great comments you have made. Really glad you had such a memorable experience for your birthday. Great to see that the little touches do mean so much to our guests we do like to make a difference.
Thanks again for your review and come back and visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stay three nights bed and breakfast in the Alton towers hotel.
Service staff was second to none very friendly and always ready to help , did however feel the bar could have worked a bit quicker but no major delays beer was always cold
Outside seating area was well laid out with ample seating and tables I jet wash was not be a good idear now and then
Now the park itself was fantastic the kids and me the big kid had an assume time , best ride simler , long que, but go to the ride late in the afternoon 17h30

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluezulu71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersResort, Guest Relations Manager at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and even bigger thanks for the great comments you have made. Great to hear you stayed with us three nights, the comments regarding our team are really good. As for The Smiler it is a great ride a lot of comments from others stating it’s better than Nemesis!!!!
We hope to welcome you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed at the hotel Sunday hotel room ok no better than a premier inn. The rooms are very hot and noisy. We chose the hotel for the hour priority to the theme park but this was a total waste off time, anybody was allowed in at 9 am and on the rides before 10 am. I confronted customer services on this matter and was told that everyone were asked to show their tickets at the front of the queue which was a load off rubbish. This needs to be addressed as surely there should be some benefit to staying at the hotel. Disney world would never operate this way.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank netball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Just back from a lovely stay at the Alton Towers Hotel. This was our second time staying here and again was amazing. We ate every evening at The Secret Garden restaurant, the food was lovely and the staff were very polite and helpful. The overall standard and cleanliness of the hotel was excellent. There were lots of families staying at the hotel so my girls made load of new friends and enjoyed the night time entertainment. The theme park was just a short shuttle ride from the hotel however, on one evening we enjoyed an lovely relaxing walk back to the hotel through a wooded area. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54Ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersResort, Guest Relations Manager at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and even bigger thanks for the great comments you have made.
We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed over at Alton Towers Hotel for Alton Towers Live, which was excellent and really enjoyable. As we were back late from the concert we did not spend too much time in the hotel, but have stayed many times before as a passholder.

The standard rooms are still nice and well presented, but there are a few small changes since we last stayed, for example the biscuits seem to have been downgraded to the ones you can buy at my son's school for 35p, whereas last time there were much nicer ones. I know that is petty, but the hotels aren't cheap. It was good that a fan was provided in the room, it definitely made the warm room a bit more manageable. The room was clean as usual and we all had a great night's sleep.

Breakfast was excellent and the guest areas are great. Some small theming touches have been added since we last stayed which was nice to see.

The only real let down was that once again the Woodland Walk is not open early! It seems crazy that hotel guests cannot use the private hotel entrance to the park for early ride time, a hotel guest benefit! Would it really be that much more of a hassle to open it from 9? We say this every time since it was cut and it would be great to have it back. It is a genuine perk that makes Alton Towers Hotel guests feel more special!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just had a three night stay at the Alton towers hotel and have to say I really enjoyed it and the room was clean and comfy. Bad points....... The secret garden restaurant was very very over priced in our opinion and the kids choice was very limited. We were presented with the bill before our dirty plates had even been removed from the table. We had the unlimited buffet at flambos on our 2nd night, the choice was much better but this was £19.95 per adult but included unlimited none alcoholic drinks (GREAT!). We re-booked flambos for our third night and once we were seated we were told the drinks were no longer included for adults so we paid for drinks but got less value than the night before. I did have words with the manager at the time and he said it was management decision. The restaurant was full and almost every one who pre booked had the same feeling as us, no one mentioned the removal of drinks from the inclusive price when re-booking. hmmmm For a family of 2 adults with teenagers that would add a considerable amount to the bill and to be honest that makes it not good value in our opinion. If I went again I would eat in the park at around 5;30 as they had the same on offer, pizza, pasta, burgers salad etc. All in all an enjoyable stay and it wouldn't put me off going back but I would consider my dining options more carefully.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovely77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Splash Landings Hotel
14.3 mi away
Days Inn Stafford
Days Inn Stafford
#3 of 5 in Stone
245 reviews
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
13.0 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
5.5 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alton Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton Towers Hotel

Address: Farley Lane, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Price Range: £98 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique hotel is themed around the incredible explorer Sir Algenon, who has made the Alton Towers Hotel his home. There are plenty of fun and quirky features to discover, including his amazing flying ship which has crash landed right in the middle of the Hotel. Wake up in our explorer-themed bedrooms, ready for your next adventure! Our Secret Garden restaurant offers a delicious brasserie style menu, and the evening entertainment is perfect for all ages.Whichever hotel you are staying in at the Alton Towers Resort, you can choose to eat in any of the restaurants and drink at any of the bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Alton Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alton Hotel Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing