We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again - sadly.........”
Review of Alton Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alton Towers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Never again - sadly.........”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We spent in excess of £500 for a 1 night, 2 day visit for our family of 6 to Alton Towers - staying in a Chocolate Themed room in the Alton Towers hotel.

We arrived in the morning - well before check in time - and parked in our excellent VIP parking close to the hotel and were given our tickets and fast passes for the park - and off we went on the monorail to the park. The weather wasn't great - but we still had a good time. CBeebiesland was RAMMED - but it is the first thing you get to, and had only been open a few days - so we headed off around the rest of the park (we went there on the morning of day 2 - when hotel guests can get in at 9am - and whizzed round all of the rides before everyone else got in - perfect!)

After a tiring day in the park we got back to the monorail and there was a 30 minute queue to get back on - so we made the kids walk the 15 minutes back to the hotel (note, it isn't signed very well to the hotels - but just keep on walking!!)

We then picked up the keys for our room (301) - and it was GREAT! Themed to look like a railway carriage (including sound effects) and there was chocolate hidden EVERYWHERE! We literally couldn't have eaten it all (it's come back home with us!!) There was a large double bed in the main bit of the room, and then a sofa bed and bunk beds - which looked like a train carriage complete with curtains too. Obviously this caused a re-enactment of the Hunger Games between the 4 children as to who was going to have the top bunk!! The bathroom was a little shabby (cracking in the sink, and dirty grout in places) but this was more than offset by all of the chocolate!!!

Then things started to go wrong.........

We went down for a pre dinner drink and there was no tonic for a G&T. I had a mojito instead - and this was clearly made with lime cordial rather than fresh lime. (Admittedly at this stage I am sounding a bit 'Overheard in Waitrose' - but I like people to be warned!!)

We then went through to The Secret Garden for dinner. The wine list had a choice of 3 whites in total - but the Pinot Grigio wasn't too grim! The service was good - and they were really flexible with the kids menus (conjuring up chicken nuggets which weren't on the menu for my fussy youngest 2). The portion sizes were good and quality ok. It was also sensibly priced (particularly compared to outlets in the park).

As we planned to get up early to take advantage of the early access to the park we then retired to bed at about 9pm. However, it sounded as if the covers band performing downstairs in the bar were IN OUR ROOM!! They went on - and on. I am sure if you were watching downstairs with a drink in hand they were highly entertaining - but when you're trying to get 4 children to sleep, they definitely weren't! I called down at 10pm to ask what time they finished to be told about 10.30pm. When it got to 10.31pm, and they were still playing, I was tempted to go downstairs in my pyjamas - but thankfully (for everyone!) they finished soon afterwards. Given this is a family hotel - it seems ridiculous to put the family rooms (and most expensive ones at that) right next to this racket way after most children are (or should be!) in bed! After that I was kept awake by noisy revelers as the doors are so thin - and this room is right by the stairs / lift - but I guess there's not a lot the hotel can do about that (apart from improve soundproofing).

Breakfast the next morning was carnage. Thankfully we were seated quickly - but getting around was a free for all. There were machines to dispense fruit juice (not pleasant) and hot drinks (even worse) which we had to queue ages for - made all the worse by the fact that the drinks emitted were foul. The food itself was plentiful with lots of choice (see, I can be positive!!)

The stay had such promise - but just didn't really deliver. We've done similar hotels at Disney in Paris and the US and they just do it so much better. If we do Alton Towers again - we won't stay at this hotel.............

Room Tip: Check that the room you're booking is away from the central well where the noise of the entertai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LibPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear LibPrice,

Thank you for staying in the Alton Towers Hotel, and for writing your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed our Chocolate themed room and what we have to offer within this room. We're also pleased to hear you enjoyed our VIP Parking, the theme park and CBeebies Land.

We do aim to offer a fantastic memorable service to all our guests, and we're pleased we were able to cater for your children by providing items off menu, however we're sorry to hear you found your experience disappointing still. Our entertainment does run until 10:30pm and then goes into sleep mode, and we're sorry to hear this affected your family. Your comments have been noted for consideration to allow us to continually improve our offering for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    806
    482
    197
    130
See reviews for
1,428
395
7
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here recently not as a park visitor but on a business trip. Nevertheless, the room was laid out just as though a family were staying, with kids activity packs and novelty cartoon shower gels (thats the kids souvenirs sorted then!). It's what you would expect from a theme park hotel, but very very quirky - even the lift acts as though its taking you on a trip through time. Great evening entertainment, but beer a tad on the pricy side, as is the food. All you can eat breakfast sets you up for the day though. Not cheap for one person, but would be more economical for a familty of four. Selected poor for location purely because Alton towers is a real pain to get to - whichever way you try its nasty windy lanes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Howard,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Alton Towers Hotel. It's great that you appreciated the quirky features, such as our lifts and décor and would recommend us as a great place for a family to stay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We applied for the free Alton Towers ticket offer through The Sun newspaper. We were going to just get the train there and back in one day, however upon receiving the tickets we also found a 50% off hotel discount code. We booked the hotel with ease, over the phone.

We were given a family room by default (it seemed to be the only room they allocate when using the discount code), although we only really needed a double. This wasn't a problem.

We arrived around 8pm on the Thursday before half term, and were checked in by the lovely receptionist. We got to the room, and my partner was disappointed to find that the surprise upgrade that he had ordered, which included a bottle of wine and beers, was not there. Cue him running around trying to sort it out. The upgrade included fastrack tickets which were printed for the wrong date. This was easily sorted at reception. They even included a free beer which was nice!

The rooms are fab - great decor. The beds are a little uncomfy, but the biggest problem we found was the noise. The people who had early entry tickets were up and about from 7.30ish, with children banging doors, running up and down the corridors and shouting. I'm aware that this is a hotel primarily aimed at families, which is fine, but parents should understand that there are people sleeping at this time.

Breakfast was nice, in the lovely Secret Garden restaurant. The food is help yourself, and is tasty and plentiful. It was quite busy, and we had to queue for 10 minutes before we were shown to our seats.

Overall, a great nights stay! We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Book a room away from the bar and games room to avoid music playing until 11pm/12am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsKStock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Kirsty J,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in the Alton Towers Hotel, and found us great value.

It's great to hear you had a pleasant experience with our Reception team and found our room decor great. We do strive to provide a fantastic experience for our guests, and we're happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast in Secret Garden Restaurant.

We're sorry to hear of the upgrade not arriving to your room in time, however we're pleased this was resolved to your satisfaction.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed for two nights 26-28th May. Hotel lovely; entertainment was great (although I would recommend splash landings entertainment more for younger children). I've stayed in both hotels, (Alton Towers 4 times, Splash landings 1) and overall prefer the AT one. We stayed in a Moon Voyage room, which are nice, my son loved the xbox 360 and the giant bear, The hotel was clean and tidy, and the staff were fantastic. My boys loved playing on the Pirate Ship and the lift. The bed was very uncomfortable though.
We had an issue with noise on our first night from a large party on our floor but this was sorted immediately and efficiently by Jo in Guest relations, who was fantastic; it was very much appreciated and prevented our stay being ruined.
We ate in both The Secret Garden, The Pizzeria and Flambo's during our stay (See other reviews) but briefly
The Secret Garden- AWFUL (Did a separate review so I didn't have to mark the hotel down after a lovely stay)
We had booked for 8.15, went at 8pm, got seated at 9.15pm. By the time our food came, the children were too tired to eat. Wrong starter brought, the other starters were cold, and we missed all the entertainment as we were in the restaurant for 3 hours from the start of the queue! Upon complaining, the manager did reduce our bill, but not enough considering we'd had terrible food that took 3 hours for two courses! Never again. The one good bit was our waitress, Lucy, who was fantastic and did her best in a bad situation.
Flambo's- GREAT
Highly recommend this with children. Lots of food, great variety, all hot, clean and our waiter, John, was lovely. Very reasonable. Would eat here on future visists.
Pizzeria-Good
Great food, but awful customer service. I asked for apple juice, the answer "We don't have any." Very abrupt. Then I found white bits (Like leftover milk) floating in my lemonade; No apology, they replaced it after I'd finished my pizza (I couldn't drink it as we were leaving) then charged me for it! The worst customer service that I encountered in my stay.
Waterpark was very dirty; The toilets smelled and the floors were dirty; Not enough lockers, showers or cubicles. This part of the resort, I would never return to, such a waste of money.
Extraordinary Golf; A Must Do. First time we'd experienced this, it was great and the man at reception was really great with the children.
Overall, Would definitely return to the hotel, it is fab for families, would just avoid certain areas!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twinmummy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Twinmummy23,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoy your stays with us in Alton Towers Hotel, and enjoy our Moon Voyager themed rooms!

It's great to hear you enjoyed your meal in Flambo's Restaurant and enjoyed playing golf. We're equally pleased to hear our Guest Relations team were able to resolve any issues in the hotel instantly.

We're sorry to hear from your experience in our other restaurants and inside the Waterpark. We have taken these on board for consideration and to improve our experiences going forward. If you'd like to speak to us regarding any of your visit, please use the online feedback form and we'll be happy to hear from you.

Thank you for visiting, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton
Level Contributor
350 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a lovely room which was done like a beach hut inside. Family room with wheelchair access, which was very well equipped. The toiletries were all complimentary and really good we got to go into the theme park an hour earlier than the non hotel guests as well. The breakfast had everything you could ask for (self service) Abut for 2 rooms for 2 nights it was very expensive. Will do it again when we can afford it....

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Scott F,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in Splash Landings Hotel, and enjoyed our beachcomber rooms!

As a hotel guest, purchasing theme park tickets as part of your package you do gain Early Ride Time which allows entry one hour before day guests onto the theme park! We're pleased you enjoyed the breakfast we have to offer too.

Thank you for visiting. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a fabulous time at Alton Towers. CBeebies Land had just opened so was very nice and new, queues were heavy but was very colourful and organised. We did go on the bank holiday so queues were quite bad, however we stayed in the hotel overnight and they werent as bad the next day. Was a bit disappointed that even though we get into the park early the next day the rides still dont start until 10 so you are queing for one ride untikl 10 o clock. Other than that park was lovely, staff very friendly and chatty and helpful in both park and hotel. Thought the chocolate room was great and hotel was lovely, clean and comfy.... breakfast was amazing and filled us up til way past lunchtime. This was for my grandsons birthday and we arrived at the hotel with baloons and a nice sign wishing him happy birthday. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LizandMark_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Liz & Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay in the Chocolate Room and visit to the Theme Park including CBeebies Land. Hotel Guests are entitled to Early Ride Time from 9am, a selection of rides are open early including Nemesis and Oblivion to name a few. We are pleased that all the members of staff you encountered were friendly and helpful and you really enjoyed your all you can eat buffet breakfast!

Thanks again for your kind comments. We are glad that you would recommend the Hotel to others and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the future.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The rooms could do with updating massively and the themed rooms are definitely not worth the price tag. However, my kids enjoyed staying so close to the theme park.
Unfortunately in recent years he food in flambos has gone downhill, so much so that we know eat off site, there are some lovely pubs nearby where you get good food at half the price.
Evening entertainment is good, spoiled though by the usual parents letting there kids run round tables knocking over drinks, parents to busy getting drunk to notice.

Hotel staff are all helpful and friendly but the hotel just needs a revamp, breakfast is a bit samey tbh and the amount of people touching the food and putting it back made me feel sick.

Going to try other hotels in the area next time we come for a visit, alton towers keep upping he price and I'm afraid it's not justified

Room Tip: Any room you stay in you will be disturbed by nosy families and hen nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Kelly W,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed our evening Entertainment, and that your children enjoy staying on site.

We're sorry to hear your opinions on our hotel. We do strive to offer a magical and memorable experience for all our guests, and we do refurbish our hotel to improve our offering. If you have any feedback from your visit or any suggestions, please do contact us using the online form on our website and we'll be pleased to hear from you.

We look forward to seeing you at the Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Splash Landings Hotel
1.9 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
14.3 mi away
Days Inn Stafford
Days Inn Stafford
#3 of 5 in Stone
213 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#6 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alton Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton Towers Hotel

Property: Alton Towers Hotel
Address: Farley Lane, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique hotel is themed around the incredible explorer Sir Algenon, who has made the Alton Towers Hotel his home. There are plenty of fun and quirky features to discover, including his amazing flying ship which has crash landed right in the middle of the Hotel. Wake up in our explorer-themed bedrooms, ready for your next adventure! Our Secret Garden restaurant offers a delicious brasserie style menu, and the evening entertainment is perfect for all ages.Whichever hotel you are staying in at the Alton Towers Resort, you can choose to eat in any of the restaurants and drink at any of the bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alton Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alton Hotel Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing