We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!”
Review of Alton Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alton Towers Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We came as a family of 5, two 12 year olds and a 2 yr old. Check in was fast and easy, the staff were really nice, friendly and polite. Our room was lovely, clean and bigger than I thought it would be. We had a double bed with a single and another single which pulled out underneath. The beds were all comfy, no complaints. We also had a cot in the room and there was plenty of space. There was plenty of entertainment and things to do for our oldest two. It was a bit loud for the youngest but we soon found the cbeebies party room for the little one. This room was a brilliant idea, it was a little quieter and cooler and had plenty to keep toddlers entertained. Unfortunately this room was only temporary to celebrate the opening of cbeebies land. Personally think it would be a great idea to keep this room permanently. We ate at Flambo's. restaurant - I pre-booked this a couple of weeks before. There was plenty of food to choose from and it was all delicious, the staff here were great too. It was a little expensive but there is a similar restaurant in Liverpool which charges about the same so it was what I expected to pay. The next morning we ate breakfast in the secret garden, again it was fab plenty of choice, full English and continental. All in all we had a great stay, all staff across the hotel, restaurants and theme park were great, can't fault the customer service at all. We would love to come back again! Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AaaDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear AaaDan,

Thank you for your 5 star review on Trip Advisor!

We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in the Alton Towers Hotel.

We're pleased you enjoyed our food offering through Flambo's Restaurant, and our entertainment offering in our hotels. It's great to hear the CBeebies Land party room was a great hit with your family, and we'll certainly pass on your recommendation for this to become a permanent feature.

We also take great pride in our staff at the Resort, who are very friendly and helpful. We're pleased they have helped improve your experience with us across the Resort.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,509 - 1,515 of 2,710 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We booked a two day visit to Alton towers resort with a night stay at the Alton towers hotel along with three other families.
We have stayed here before so were really looking forward to it.
Firstly the cost of the single nights stay at the hotel was way too high for this level of hotel !!
We had a family room which was comfortable enough expect for it being far too warm and very very noisy - the walls are paper thin so in the mornings you here all the early risers around you making a nice racket !!!
Having had a full day in the park my wife booked us into the secret garden restaurant (16 of us in total with 8 kids) and could only get a late table (our fault for not booking early enough). Due to the number of us we had to pre-order our food, again not really a problem. We arrived at 9:15 for our table, to find it wasn't ready which really set the tone, eventually we got sat down after explaining we had very hungry young children that needed feeding ASAP !!
We duly sat down and didn't get our starters for another hour - despite pre ordering !!!!
Having had these our children were getting very tired and our mains arrived - most of the kids had a simple pasta dish. Now you can't get tomato pasta wrong but they did, it was vile !!!
Anyway to cut along story short we left, kids hungry and tired - what a disaster !!!
The bar in the hotel had shocking service and limited staff on so queues formed - we'd already had enough of queuing in the park!!
In terms of the staff, you get the feeling they are simply waiting for you to complain - half of them walk around disinterested and the others don't seem to know what to do. There were a few exceptions to this to be fair, especially in the shops.
Finally the entertainment in the hotel was cringe worthy - even my son commented on how bad it was.

The only saving grace was the park itself, everyone enjoyed the rides etc. and the water park went down well also.
In summary the hotel is charging top end prices for an offering that falls well short on all aspects of its service, from food to facilities. I wouldn't even rate it as a 2 star.
I have to say that since the last time we stayed, over two years ago, their prices have rocketed and the service has plummeted - come on Alton towers get your act together please !!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forde.smiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear forde.smiths,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we thoroughly appreciate all comments from our guests.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in Alton Towers Hotel, and enjoyed our theme park and Waterpark offering.

We have a range of Entertainment in our hotels, and these receive overwhelmingly positive reviews from our guests, both on site and from other reviews posted on Trip Advisor, Facebook and other social media channels.

We're sorry to hear of your experience with Secret Garden Restaurant. We do strive to provide the best experiences for our hotel guests, with great quality food and service. If you have any issues with your meal we would advise speaking to a Duty Manager present who will be able to resolve these instantly without needing to affect the rest of your stay with us.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were a family of 4.upgraded from a standard room to a moon voyager room thinking it would be better. After a 4 hour drive we arrived to find there was no parking when asked at reception where to go we were told to park on the field which was a bit off as I paid over a £1000 for 3 nights and thinking as I upgraded to a themed room we would have a reserved space like the other themed rooms.surely parking could be improved as you have alot of green space that could be better used.checkin was quick and efficient, children given a map and compass to direct us to our room.surprised when going to room that the corridor to our rooms used a key card which was good.entered our space themed room and overall reaction was clean and tidy, kids bunk beds were lovely, our bed was comfy.lovely bath toiletries which the kids loved only thing I can say is a heated towel rail would be handy.the first night we ate at emperor which was lovely but a little expensive.the second night we went next door to the pizza place at 7pm service was very slow took over a hour for our drinks and food, avoid going at this time as everyone seemed to go at this time also disappointed with menu choices.on our last night we decided we would try flambos which we tried to book at 3pm after being at the theme park only to be told there was nothing available til 9.15pm at all anywhere so reluctantly had to go to pizza place again but we went at 5pm much quieter.we were very disappointed and disheartened that when passing flambos that there seemed to be lots of empty tables so why was people being told there was nothing til 9.15pm maybe get more staff in as when 3 out of 4 restaurants need to be booked and there is not enough staff we as paying customers that like me paid alot to stay there we could not go anywhere else as in the middle of nowhere.it put a big downer on what was supposed to be a special treat for my birthday. Could not fault breakfast at the secret garden restaurant.staff were friendly in hotel.overall we did enjoy our stay and theme park but it was just the above issues which let it down not very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the side.our moon voyager looked out over green space.very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pingu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear pingu2014,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in Alton Towers Hotel, and enjoyed the Moon Voyagers Room, as well as your meal in Emperor's Grill and your breakfast in Secret Garden Restaurant.

We thank you for your comments regarding your stay, and we will be passing on any recommendations to evaluate to allow us to continually improve our offering for our guests.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We spent in excess of £500 for a 1 night, 2 day visit for our family of 6 to Alton Towers - staying in a Chocolate Themed room in the Alton Towers hotel.

We arrived in the morning - well before check in time - and parked in our excellent VIP parking close to the hotel and were given our tickets and fast passes for the park - and off we went on the monorail to the park. The weather wasn't great - but we still had a good time. CBeebiesland was RAMMED - but it is the first thing you get to, and had only been open a few days - so we headed off around the rest of the park (we went there on the morning of day 2 - when hotel guests can get in at 9am - and whizzed round all of the rides before everyone else got in - perfect!)

After a tiring day in the park we got back to the monorail and there was a 30 minute queue to get back on - so we made the kids walk the 15 minutes back to the hotel (note, it isn't signed very well to the hotels - but just keep on walking!!)

We then picked up the keys for our room (301) - and it was GREAT! Themed to look like a railway carriage (including sound effects) and there was chocolate hidden EVERYWHERE! We literally couldn't have eaten it all (it's come back home with us!!) There was a large double bed in the main bit of the room, and then a sofa bed and bunk beds - which looked like a train carriage complete with curtains too. Obviously this caused a re-enactment of the Hunger Games between the 4 children as to who was going to have the top bunk!! The bathroom was a little shabby (cracking in the sink, and dirty grout in places) but this was more than offset by all of the chocolate!!!

Then things started to go wrong.........

We went down for a pre dinner drink and there was no tonic for a G&T. I had a mojito instead - and this was clearly made with lime cordial rather than fresh lime. (Admittedly at this stage I am sounding a bit 'Overheard in Waitrose' - but I like people to be warned!!)

We then went through to The Secret Garden for dinner. The wine list had a choice of 3 whites in total - but the Pinot Grigio wasn't too grim! The service was good - and they were really flexible with the kids menus (conjuring up chicken nuggets which weren't on the menu for my fussy youngest 2). The portion sizes were good and quality ok. It was also sensibly priced (particularly compared to outlets in the park).

As we planned to get up early to take advantage of the early access to the park we then retired to bed at about 9pm. However, it sounded as if the covers band performing downstairs in the bar were IN OUR ROOM!! They went on - and on. I am sure if you were watching downstairs with a drink in hand they were highly entertaining - but when you're trying to get 4 children to sleep, they definitely weren't! I called down at 10pm to ask what time they finished to be told about 10.30pm. When it got to 10.31pm, and they were still playing, I was tempted to go downstairs in my pyjamas - but thankfully (for everyone!) they finished soon afterwards. Given this is a family hotel - it seems ridiculous to put the family rooms (and most expensive ones at that) right next to this racket way after most children are (or should be!) in bed! After that I was kept awake by noisy revelers as the doors are so thin - and this room is right by the stairs / lift - but I guess there's not a lot the hotel can do about that (apart from improve soundproofing).

Breakfast the next morning was carnage. Thankfully we were seated quickly - but getting around was a free for all. There were machines to dispense fruit juice (not pleasant) and hot drinks (even worse) which we had to queue ages for - made all the worse by the fact that the drinks emitted were foul. The food itself was plentiful with lots of choice (see, I can be positive!!)

The stay had such promise - but just didn't really deliver. We've done similar hotels at Disney in Paris and the US and they just do it so much better. If we do Alton Towers again - we won't stay at this hotel.............

Room Tip: Check that the room you're booking is away from the central well where the noise of the entertai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LibPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear LibPrice,

Thank you for staying in the Alton Towers Hotel, and for writing your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed our Chocolate themed room and what we have to offer within this room. We're also pleased to hear you enjoyed our VIP Parking, the theme park and CBeebies Land.

We do aim to offer a fantastic memorable service to all our guests, and we're pleased we were able to cater for your children by providing items off menu, however we're sorry to hear you found your experience disappointing still. Our entertainment does run until 10:30pm and then goes into sleep mode, and we're sorry to hear this affected your family. Your comments have been noted for consideration to allow us to continually improve our offering for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here recently not as a park visitor but on a business trip. Nevertheless, the room was laid out just as though a family were staying, with kids activity packs and novelty cartoon shower gels (thats the kids souvenirs sorted then!). It's what you would expect from a theme park hotel, but very very quirky - even the lift acts as though its taking you on a trip through time. Great evening entertainment, but beer a tad on the pricy side, as is the food. All you can eat breakfast sets you up for the day though. Not cheap for one person, but would be more economical for a familty of four. Selected poor for location purely because Alton towers is a real pain to get to - whichever way you try its nasty windy lanes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Howard,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Alton Towers Hotel. It's great that you appreciated the quirky features, such as our lifts and décor and would recommend us as a great place for a family to stay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We applied for the free Alton Towers ticket offer through The Sun newspaper. We were going to just get the train there and back in one day, however upon receiving the tickets we also found a 50% off hotel discount code. We booked the hotel with ease, over the phone.

We were given a family room by default (it seemed to be the only room they allocate when using the discount code), although we only really needed a double. This wasn't a problem.

We arrived around 8pm on the Thursday before half term, and were checked in by the lovely receptionist. We got to the room, and my partner was disappointed to find that the surprise upgrade that he had ordered, which included a bottle of wine and beers, was not there. Cue him running around trying to sort it out. The upgrade included fastrack tickets which were printed for the wrong date. This was easily sorted at reception. They even included a free beer which was nice!

The rooms are fab - great decor. The beds are a little uncomfy, but the biggest problem we found was the noise. The people who had early entry tickets were up and about from 7.30ish, with children banging doors, running up and down the corridors and shouting. I'm aware that this is a hotel primarily aimed at families, which is fine, but parents should understand that there are people sleeping at this time.

Breakfast was nice, in the lovely Secret Garden restaurant. The food is help yourself, and is tasty and plentiful. It was quite busy, and we had to queue for 10 minutes before we were shown to our seats.

Overall, a great nights stay! We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Book a room away from the bar and games room to avoid music playing until 11pm/12am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsKStock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Kirsty J,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in the Alton Towers Hotel, and found us great value.

It's great to hear you had a pleasant experience with our Reception team and found our room decor great. We do strive to provide a fantastic experience for our guests, and we're happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast in Secret Garden Restaurant.

We're sorry to hear of the upgrade not arriving to your room in time, however we're pleased this was resolved to your satisfaction.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed for two nights 26-28th May. Hotel lovely; entertainment was great (although I would recommend splash landings entertainment more for younger children). I've stayed in both hotels, (Alton Towers 4 times, Splash landings 1) and overall prefer the AT one. We stayed in a Moon Voyage room, which are nice, my son loved the xbox 360 and the giant bear, The hotel was clean and tidy, and the staff were fantastic. My boys loved playing on the Pirate Ship and the lift. The bed was very uncomfortable though.
We had an issue with noise on our first night from a large party on our floor but this was sorted immediately and efficiently by Jo in Guest relations, who was fantastic; it was very much appreciated and prevented our stay being ruined.
We ate in both The Secret Garden, The Pizzeria and Flambo's during our stay (See other reviews) but briefly
The Secret Garden- AWFUL (Did a separate review so I didn't have to mark the hotel down after a lovely stay)
We had booked for 8.15, went at 8pm, got seated at 9.15pm. By the time our food came, the children were too tired to eat. Wrong starter brought, the other starters were cold, and we missed all the entertainment as we were in the restaurant for 3 hours from the start of the queue! Upon complaining, the manager did reduce our bill, but not enough considering we'd had terrible food that took 3 hours for two courses! Never again. The one good bit was our waitress, Lucy, who was fantastic and did her best in a bad situation.
Flambo's- GREAT
Highly recommend this with children. Lots of food, great variety, all hot, clean and our waiter, John, was lovely. Very reasonable. Would eat here on future visists.
Pizzeria-Good
Great food, but awful customer service. I asked for apple juice, the answer "We don't have any." Very abrupt. Then I found white bits (Like leftover milk) floating in my lemonade; No apology, they replaced it after I'd finished my pizza (I couldn't drink it as we were leaving) then charged me for it! The worst customer service that I encountered in my stay.
Waterpark was very dirty; The toilets smelled and the floors were dirty; Not enough lockers, showers or cubicles. This part of the resort, I would never return to, such a waste of money.
Extraordinary Golf; A Must Do. First time we'd experienced this, it was great and the man at reception was really great with the children.
Overall, Would definitely return to the hotel, it is fab for families, would just avoid certain areas!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twinmummy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Twinmummy23,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoy your stays with us in Alton Towers Hotel, and enjoy our Moon Voyager themed rooms!

It's great to hear you enjoyed your meal in Flambo's Restaurant and enjoyed playing golf. We're equally pleased to hear our Guest Relations team were able to resolve any issues in the hotel instantly.

We're sorry to hear from your experience in our other restaurants and inside the Waterpark. We have taken these on board for consideration and to improve our experiences going forward. If you'd like to speak to us regarding any of your visit, please use the online feedback form and we'll be happy to hear from you.

Thank you for visiting, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Splash Landings Hotel
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
14.3 mi away
Days Inn Stafford
Days Inn Stafford
#3 of 5 in Stone
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
5.5 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
13 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alton Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton Towers Hotel

Address: Farley Lane, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Price Range: £40 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique hotel is themed around the incredible explorer Sir Algenon, who has made the Alton Towers Hotel his home. There are plenty of fun and quirky features to discover, including his amazing flying ship which has crash landed right in the middle of the Hotel. Wake up in our explorer-themed bedrooms, ready for your next adventure! Our Secret Garden restaurant offers a delicious brasserie style menu, and the evening entertainment is perfect for all ages.Whichever hotel you are staying in at the Alton Towers Resort, you can choose to eat in any of the restaurants and drink at any of the bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Alton Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alton Hotel Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing