We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alton Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alton Towers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Certificate of Excellence
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We enjoyed our second two nights break at the Alton Towers Hotel in April as my 6 year olds birthday treat. We travel down from Essex as it is well worth it.
Hotel facilities are excellent, clean rooms, friendly staff.Hotel info in room.Staff are friendly throughout the resort.
Theme Park great & kids didn't not want to leave water park.
Breakfast in Alton Towers is of a high standard, plenty of choice and most of all freshly cooked. So great start to the day.
We look forward to returning again soon as 3 year old wants to go to cbeebies land for his birthday in September.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Priti M,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your recent short break at the Alton Towers Hotel. We are glad that you found all of our staff members to be helpful and polite and felt that our Hotel facilities were excellent. It's great that you enjoyed your breakfast and visits to the Theme Park & Water Park too!

We look forward to seeing you again in September. Thanks again for your kind comments.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    779
    473
    192
    128
See reviews for
1,381
386
7
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We decided that we would arrive around lunchtime, so that we could spend the afternoon in Cbeebies Land, stay over that evening and then go to the waterpark the following day. Although we had booked a newly themed Postman Pat room, we were disappointed to arrive only to find our vip parking space wasn't empty. Although you couldn't check in till 3.00pm, the other guest should have left by 10.00am. Upon arrival I raised this with Reception, only to be advised to find another space as they would need to contact the previous guests (Who had obviously gone either into the theme park or waterpark for the day). As the majority of people appeared to have arrived first thing, this resulted in us having to park miles away - which with a three year old was not the best. We then spent the rest of the afternoon in Cbeeies, which was amazing! Queues are to be expected, although we didn't wait as long as we thought or advised on the ride timing board. The shop has loads of goodies, i.e t-shirts, backpacks, etc but thought you'd be able to buy these from the hotel shop (As it didn't state aware only available here), but this turned out not to be the case when we later arrived back at the hotel. When I asked the Reception if they would be able to assist me in getting one of the t-shirts, they advised to go back to the theme park and ask there. I didn't want to go back to the theme park incase they said no, as surely they weren't going to let me in without a ticket. Due to this I asked if Reception could speak to someone, to ensure this was ok before going back to the theme park, but again was advised that I would need to go to the theme park and speak to them. The room was decorated beautifully, the little surprises were a ver nice touch. We had dinner at Flambo's (Buffet style restaurant), which was great for choice. The food and service was second to none. I would strongly recommend booking in advance, as we left it till we arrived and the earliest time available was 8:15pm. When returning to our room, the key card wouldn't work. When I went down to Reception this was re-activated and I was advised that sometimes they de-activated when near mobiles. As we hadn't taken our mobiles down to the restaurant, I couldn't see the relevance. When we arrived at our room for a second time, the key card still didn't work which meant another trip down to Reception. This time I was advised it was probably the lock and the batteries would need changing, apparently this was something that happened on a daily basis. Eventually we did manage to get into our room. The beds are very comfortable, although the room was very hot. Although the air conditioning unit sorted this, it was very loud - so loud you couldn't actually hear the tv on maximum volume. The following day we had breakfast in the Secret Garden Restaurant, which again was lovely - lots of choice. Followed by a trip to the waterpark, which we all loved - apart from the food, which tasted like it had been sat there for days.

Overall we did enjoy ourselves, although a little disappointed at the expense we had paid for the room. These are not cheap rooms and although it is something different, I would have expected either theme park or waterpark tickets to be included. In addition there need to more amenities available in the room for kids, like drinks, chocolate or sweets, etc. There also need for an iron and ironing board, this is basic and is provided in main hotels as standard.

Room Tip: Rather than spending money on a themed room, book a standard room and stay two nights instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Lyndsey M,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate receiving feedback from all of our guests.

We are pleased to read that overall you and your family enjoyed your short break at the Alton Towers Hotel and visit to CBeebies Land. However due to the detailed nature of your review and points raised we would like to discuss this further with you. Please visit the 'Contact us' section of our website and complete the feedback form and a member of our Guest Relations Team will be in touch.

We hope to welcome you back to the Resort in the future.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend earlier this month and the hotel was great. Upon arrival we were greeted pleasantly by the hotel staff at reception. Access to the theme park was part of our package for the weekend, so as we couldn't get in to our room until 3 pm the hotel were happy to look after our luggage and transfer it to our room for us at 3 pm. The luggage was stored in a secure place and when we got to our room after our day at the theme park it was there waiting for us. One thing we noticed straight away was the high temperature in the room, it was like being abroad! The window didn't open very wide however there was a fully working fan in the room. The fan was very loud so it was not ideal to sleep with the fan on and with the room being so hot this made it very hard to sleep at all. Air conditioning would have been very ideal in the room. Room was extremely clean and so was the shower/bath and toilet. Bed clothes and sheets were very clean too. There was a missing part from the lampshade in our room but that didn't really affect us. We asked reception if we had to make a reservation for our tea and she asked where we were eating, we told her that we wanted to eat at the pizzeria in splash landings and she said that was the only place we didn't have to make a reservation for. However upon arrival at the pizzeria we asked for a table for 2 and the member of staff (waiter) told us that it was a 15 to 20 minute wait for a table and to leave him with a contact number so he could inform us when a table was ready. 45 minutes later is when we had a phone call. Obviously the pizzeria is popular so it maybe a good idea for the hotel to make it possible to reserve tables there. However the pizza was very very nice and we thoroughly enjoyed eating there. The hotel in general is pricey but it is only what can be expected. Next morning breakfast was also included in our package and the breakfast was very nice. There really is something for everyone even the fussiest of eaters. Cereal, toast, , full English everything right down to chocolate muffins. There was a wide selection of drinks available including hot chocolate tea coffee cappuccino latte orange juice apple juice and water to name but a few. The entertainment was also good, it was something different to what people are used to and not just aimed at children. The majority of it was child orientated but the entertainers did a good job of targeting adults too. The hotel also looked after our luggage after we had checked out our room on the second day and stored it until we had finished at the theme park. Overall we had a great stay at the alton towers hotel and given the opportunity we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ALPJ2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Mcmahon89,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent short break at the Alton Towers Hotel. We are glad that you found your room to be spotlessly clean, enjoyed your evening meal, breakfast and entertainment.

We will be sure to pass your feedback regarding the possibility of making Paradise Cove available for pre booking to the relevant department. It may be something that we look into for the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort soon.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with 2 friends just for one night but had a fab stay. We got a great deal with the price aswell which included breakfast plus 2 day park ticket. Hotel was very quirky! Theming and decor very good. Food was lovely and staff so helpful and friendly. Quite expensive though! Actually returning next week

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcmahon89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Mcmahon89,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate receiving feedback from all of our guests.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Alton Towers Hotel and felt that the package you booked offered good value for money as it included two days Theme Park access. It's great that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly too.

We look forward to seeing you again in the next couple of weeks!

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the alton towers hotel on the 2nd june for 2 nights. The hotel its self was amazing and the staff were so helpful n there customer service was excellant. Splash landing water park you could not fault that at all. I would lik to mention tony the luggage porter and steven on reception were very helpfull. Thank you to all the staff at alton towers hotel for making our stay excellant

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shaheen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Shaheen K,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate recieving feedback from all of our guests.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Alton Towers Hotel & visit to the Water Park. We are glad that all of the members of staff you encountered were friendly and helpful, we will be sure to pass your feedback onto the Reception Team.

Thanks again for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here with friends and visited the theme park. Whilst I didn't have a 'bad' experience, I was seriously disappointed. I had wanted to visit the hotel since I was a child and I was expecting it to be a real experience. The reality was not that far removed from average Travelodge accommodation. The most magical part was probably the first time I got in the lift and the lights flashed on and off and it made a noise.

We got a discount mid-week rate with a code and so the standard accommodation wasnt terrible value with being adjacent to the park, but there is no way I would pay the full whack. The whole place needs a refurb to bring it out of the 1990s. There was also no room service or mini bar which was inconvenient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireCrackers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate receiving feedback from all of our guests.

We are sorry to read that you left feeling disappointed with your recent short break at the Alton Towers Hotel.

We pride ourselves on all of the exciting extras that make us so different to a Travelodge. As well as the full cooked breakfast, free parking, great location and beautiful grounds, we also offer fabulous live evening entertainment, which always gets great guest feedback.

If you would like to discuss any aspect of your stay further, please visit the 'Contact us' section of our official website and complete the feedback form so that our Guest Relations Team can contact you. However please be assured that all of your comments will be passed onto the relevant departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the future.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I visited the Alton Towers Hotel with my family for two nights and three days. I had a fantastic time there, and I can't wait to go back.

The first thing I noticed was the staff. They were all so friendly and it made us feel welcome and happy. The theming inside the reception area was great and the atmosphere was really fun and exciting. I felt sorry for the young lady at the reception desk as she was the only one working, (as she said the others happened to be ill on such a lovely day!) however she was very friendly and the queue to check in went down very quickly.

Literally all of the staff at the Park, the Hotel and the Waterpark were fantastic. Probably the best customer service I've ever experienced at a Theme Park, and maybe even the best experience I've ever had anywhere! All of the staff were enthusiastic and funny, but not so much that it became annoying. Unlike some other theme parks, every staff member was polite and it just made the Hotel a happy place to be in.

As for the Hotel, it's very imaginative. It's kept very clean and tidy, too. The carpets weren't the prettiest, but it gave the place some character so it wasn't a problem. The room was a bit hot, however it was the hottest day of this year so far (from the 16th of May to the 18th of May), and we were above the restaurant. The gardens behind the hotel were very peaceful and it was lovely to wake up to such a nice view.

The food was very nice too. The breakfast area was very clean, and the evening meals at the Secret Garden Restaurant were delicious! I recommend the Chicken Caesar Salad! The staff here were very friendly too, really friendly.

I have so many more positive things to say, but I'll leave them out. Thank you Alton Towers for the incredible visit. We went thinking it would be... "fun", however we all loved it and it exceeded our expectations! The Hotel was pricey, however I didn't feel we got ripped off at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Ethan G,

Thank you for taking the time to complete such a lovely and detailed review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate receiving feedback from all of our guests.

We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your recent stay at the Alton Towers Hotel. It's great that you felt that you experienced the best customer service you have ever received and found all members of staff to be friendly and helpful. We are glad that you enjoyed both your evening meal and breakfast in the Secret Garden Restaurant too.

We will be sure to pass your comments onto the relevant departments, especially the Reception Team.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Splash Landings Hotel
1.9 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
13.0 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alton Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton Towers Hotel

Property: Alton Towers Hotel
Address: Farley Lane, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique hotel is themed around the incredible explorer Sir Algenon, who has made the Alton Towers Hotel his home. There are plenty of fun and quirky features to discover, including his amazing flying ship which has crash landed right in the middle of the Hotel. Wake up in our explorer-themed bedrooms, ready for your next adventure! Our Secret Garden restaurant offers a delicious brasserie style menu, and the evening entertainment is perfect for all ages.Whichever hotel you are staying in at the Alton Towers Resort, you can choose to eat in any of the restaurants and drink at any of the bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alton Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alton Hotel Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing